Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,649 classificações
528 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
2 de Jun de 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 515 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Shenlu W

12 de Jun de 2017

Great in providing helpful general understanding of those concepts regarding memory.

por Jing Y

7 de Abr de 2016

Very interestingly designed with theories about memory and films with related topics.

por Marina A

11 de Jul de 2020

that's the best online course i had so long during the lock-down, highly recommended

por Aliucha R

25 de Jun de 2017

Great content transmitted in a fun way that makes it easy to pay attention and learn

por Peter F

29 de Mar de 2017

Interesting on the study of how we remember and when our memories play tricks on us.

por María T A C

22 de Dez de 2016

Increíble y entretenido curso para aprender lo que implica recordad y tener memoria.

por Shaina K R

11 de Out de 2020

I really loved this course! I enjoyed learning and the movies were all exceptional!

por Linda C

29 de Ago de 2020

Fantastic overview of memory nicely illustrated through films. I really enjoyed it!

por Pritika G

3 de Mar de 2017

excellent course, the topics are taught in a creative and memorable way. Thank you!

por Ave K

21 de Jun de 2020

The concepts of memory were easy to learn thanks to the examples of great movies.

por 許家安

25 de Fev de 2018

Excellent course with interesting materials to cover some ground about memories.

por Maria - I M

16 de Out de 2017

Even though i knew about memory, it made me comprehend it better!! Thank you!!!

por Ondina F P

9 de Ago de 2016

Es un curso muy interesante, sencillo y entretenido. Ideal para principiantes.

por Stacey W

24 de Mar de 2019

Best course on memory! And the use of movies reinforced learnings. Recommend!

por MAR�A G

18 de Ago de 2020

Muchas gracias, por ese genial curso.

Gracias por la dedicación del profesor.

por Priscila L

15 de Nov de 2017

such a complex topic, explained calmly and dynamically. Congrats, professor!

por Krishna K

18 de Mai de 2019

Very useful course. I thoroughly enjoyed the lectures. Thank you Professor.

por Sowmya K B

18 de Out de 2016

I really liked the way in which movies are used for explaining the concept.

por Srivathsan P

1 de Nov de 2020

Very good compilation of key factors on memory. Thank you for this course.

por Irene U L

13 de Mai de 2020

Very interesting course for the ones who like both psychology and movies.

por Jan A H K

25 de Abr de 2020

Thanks for the time together John, it was really good and enlightening :)

por Li-Fu C

9 de Mai de 2017

這是我第一堂上與電影相關但與電影製作無關的課,研究電影是我很大的興趣,這堂課也是我第一次特別抓出一個類別來做賞析。

很開心能有這個機會閱覽這個課程。

por Margaret S C

1 de Out de 2016

Loved this course. Very well presented, organized and illustrated. A gem.

por Marieta C

26 de Set de 2020

Great content, a very charismatic and knowledgeable lecturer. Thank you!

por Stefanny M

3 de Ago de 2020

it was good and easy to understand, all good movies and very practical!