Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,812 classificações
565 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS
6 de Fev de 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 554 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Jean S

6 de Ago de 2017

Excellent course informative and entertaining. I especially enjoyed the film clips which illustrated the lectures

por Maria

31 de Mar de 2016

Great course, i really enjoyed it. The material is very interesting and very well presented. Great job Professor!

por Lisa M

26 de Jul de 2020

Very interesting course. I recommend it for an overall knowledge of the memory functioning. Thank you, Jackie ;)

por Janette F

6 de Out de 2017

This is an entertaining and challenging course. I learned a great deal about memory and enjoyed the movie clips.

por Angelina C

18 de Jul de 2020

It was fun to get a basic understanding of memory through movies, it made the lessons much more interesting.

por Kinga D

21 de Mar de 2019

The course was very informative. My only complaint is that the audio was very soft when the professor spoke.

por William A

26 de Ago de 2016

nice way of presenting materials. i enjoyed ever bit of them.

i will recommend this course to others for sure

por Alvaro P V

13 de Jan de 2018

Great way to learn about memory and the brain. This approach should be an example to follow by other moocs.

por Kaori M

27 de Jul de 2016

Informative and entertaining! Yes, in this course you can learn about memory and have fun watching movies.

por Marieta C

22 de Jan de 2021

Highly recommend the course! Charismatic knowledgeable lecturer and a very entertaining journey. Thank you

por Moses C

6 de Dez de 2020

Extremely informative, interesting and yet very educative. Its on the top of one of my edutaiment courses

por ALEXI G M C

21 de Ago de 2020

BUENA EXPLICACION, LOS TEMAS SON GENIALES Y AYUDAN MUCHA A ENTENDER MEJOR LOS FUNDAMENTOS EN CIERTOS TEMAS

por Sara S X

13 de Jun de 2020

Learnt a lot, especially with the visual aids and good explanations of the movie. Thank you for your time!

por K. J R

16 de Mai de 2020

Excellent engaging presentation. Memory explained scientifically and interestingly. Thanks to Prof.Seamon.

por Malathi J

30 de Ago de 2017

An engaging, gentle course on a fascinating subject. Loved the treatment and the approach of Prof. Seamon.

por Angela K

22 de Out de 2020

It was a really great way to incorporate my learning in AP Psychology with this course! I learned a lot!

por chalchitrart

1 de Ago de 2020

I loves this course. And I would recommend people to buy this book as well. It will definitely help you.

por Isabella F L

24 de Ago de 2020

Curso incrível! Muito conteúdo interessante dado de forma leve. Prendeu minha atenção do início ao fim.

por Susan W

4 de Dez de 2020

I loved this course! Such an experiential way to teach about memory. This professor is outstanding.

por Lydia V P

21 de Abr de 2020

A very engaging course . You will watch movies with a more educated eye, after finishing this course.

por savithri i

23 de Jul de 2018

Excellent content and great learning experience. The delivery by Professor Seamon was the best so far

por Likhitha B

30 de Jul de 2017

Prof. John Seamon makes this course an absolute joy! Do not forgo the pleasure of taking this course!

por Vijay R

30 de Jan de 2018

Extremely engaging and entertaining course that adds to my vocabulary and curiosity of human memory.

por Donna M J

12 de Abr de 2018

I enjoyed learning about Memory through movies. It was a fun and intesting way to learn. Thank you!

por Kravchenko O

2 de Out de 2020

Absolutely amazing course! Thank you, Professor for an amazing journey into the realm of Memory :)