Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,653 classificações
528 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
2 de Jun de 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 516 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Carlos L M V

30 de Jan de 2020

El curso presenta y expone un tema tal como la memoria memoria de manera apasionada, atractiva y clara. Aborda la importancia de indagar sobre esta temática. La aborda desde una perspectiva clínica y científica, donde se destaca la importancia de la investigación de la memoria y su importancia en la salud publica.

por Serena G

23 de Out de 2020

Very glad to chance upon this fascinating course whilst browsing through the catalog. It gives me a greater understanding of our memory systems. Thank you Prof Seamon for making the lectures so interesting and engaging through clips from a no. of movies. The summary at the end of each lecture is most useful.

por Raymonde B

19 de Set de 2019

Professor Seamon,Thank you so much for a most interesting course. Having no background inpsychology, I now am determined to study more in this field- so I boughtyour book!I enjoy taking these courses for my own interest as I am a semi- retiredlanguage instructor and have more free time now.

Raymonde Burke

por Anabela C

14 de Nov de 2019

John Seamon es un excelente profesor y disfrute tanto del curso, que me apeno terminarlo. Aprendi mucho en el curso y esta hecho con tanto amor que realmente siento que las lecciones quedaron en los huesos. Mi mayor agradecimiento hacia John Seamon y todo el equipo de Coursera que hizo posible el curso.

por Louise J

17 de Set de 2020

This course should appeal to everyone. The instructor explains complex psychological concepts using clips from movies to illustrate. If you expect to age, if you are interested in how and why we remember what we do, or if you want to understand how the brain works, this is a great class to take.

por Leung P C

10 de Jun de 2018

Changes in memory can occur as we get older, so I think everyone should know more about it. This course give me the chance to learn more about memory through the Psychology way and the interesting movies. It give me the idea to develop my personality and improve (inspiring) my life, thank you!!

por Diane F

25 de Out de 2020

I've taken several Coursera courses but this was by far the very best! The professor was wonderful. The approach was great for people who have little or no background in the study of psychology. What a creative idea using movies! Now I have a whole list of movies I can't wait to watch.

por Claire P

4 de Set de 2020

Excellent presentation of subject matter on this important topic for all of us.

Understanding of material was enhanced by the segments of the films which perfectly fit with the topics to help us visually and viscerally grasp the material.

Thank you "Jackie" for this incredible class.

por Alexis M

1 de Mai de 2020

Excellent course! Very interesting paired with very relatable film clips. I have an interest in the concept of memory, so in taking this course, I learned both basic and more advanced nuances of memory. Also, I really liked how summaries were provided at the end of each lecture.

por Milenne S d L

17 de Jun de 2018

I thank Professor Seamon for this valuable course! This is no simple task to teach about such complex subject, yet you made it very accessible to understand through movie clip examples, in a very accurate and easy way to identify the material covered. I appreciated it very much.

por Delora S

17 de Jun de 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. As I love movies, it was perfect to learn about memory using movies as illustration, examples. It has also helped me understand memory problems which has helped me understand myself and others better. I highly recommend this course to anyone!

por Anoosha S Z

2 de Out de 2020

Interesting, challenging and comprehensive! I've had a wonderful experience learing and understanding the psychology of memory. The instructor is engaging and truly exceptional. If you like movies as much as I do and are interested in psychology, this is the course for you.

por Jiel D

24 de Fev de 2018

This course is well designed and easy to follow. It has very relevant examples through movies. The movies really help understand the point and provide clarity. Being intrigued on the topic of movie and with a love for movies, I found this course to be a great blend.

por Katie S

10 de Jun de 2020

This was a fantastically interesting course for someone of 56 who experiences senior moments already! And for someone who works as a Dementia Support Worker and also loves film..... The lecturer was very watchable and made it easy to enjoy learning. Big thank you.

por Angie V Z V

14 de Abr de 2017

It is a beautiful subject. The way in which you can learn about memory is just amazing. The professor uses a simple language that allows everyone to learn about this beautiful topic: the memory and the movies he uses are also excellent in quality and sensitiveness.

por Manuel d J Z B

20 de Fev de 2020

Memory Movies is an amazing, interesting and funny course. I enjoyed each movie's short video, but I watched late the complete movie. My view es that in this course you can learn to understand from the psychology the process of the memory and to know how it works.

por Viridiana M A

24 de Jun de 2020

Excelent!!!!!! I´m so excited and so happy because I learned so well, although I'm from Mexico and it is a little hard to learn something in another language. Thanks Professor John Seamon, you are an excellent person and I hope to learn more from you. Blessings

por Anthony A S

27 de Dez de 2017

This was a very enjoyable course that was well paced and always interesting. I have not seen most of the movies used for illustrating the issues of the course, but I have a better appreciation on how to watch for the issues of memory in the movies I have seen.

por James A H

7 de Mai de 2020

An excellent course! Thought I'd sign up to this due to my love of films and to get me through lockdown madness...but got so much more. Found the section on Senior Moments, Forgetfulness and Dementia actually quite moving. Now off to purchase John's book....

por Edith R M

9 de Jan de 2020

It was the most entertaining course i've taken in coursera. The use of movies to explain memory and psychological issues helped me to understand better difficult terms and matters that are related to this subject. I wish there were more courses like this...

por Patricia M

24 de Out de 2016

Short course with well prepared and presented information. I would highly recommend this course for those interested in memory and aging. The use of film is very helpful with illustrating concepts and providing insightful examples to accompany instruction.

por Md. T h a

7 de Mai de 2020

I loved the course with John Seamon . The course made me learn some important things of mine which i can use through out my upcoming life.Those movies gave me a new understanding of my own life. I wanna thank my professor and his associate for this course.

por Stephanie A

18 de Fev de 2018

I found this course very delightful. Every concept carefully and simply explained for one to understand it. with or without medical background and of course, always accompanied with a movie example to better portrait what the topic was. I truly enjoyed it!

por Viktoria T

11 de Set de 2019

I think this course covers good basics of understanding memory and the fact that all the information is depicted in various movies and those movies are shown in the course, makes it easier to understand the matter.

Thank you for the course, I enjoyed it :)

por Julian B

30 de Jan de 2017

I enjoyed this course. I signed up because I like movies, but really this course is about the psychology of memory. It uses movies to demonstrate its key points.

It's not a difficult course to complete. The content is manageable on a week by week basis