Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,908 classificações
604 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS
6 de Fev de 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filtrar por:

476 — 500 de 593 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Angela T

14 de Jun de 2018

Thank you!

por B S

26 de Set de 2016

Excellent!

por TEDDU L 1

20 de Set de 2020

excellent

por Rebeca H

24 de Fev de 2020

VERY GOOD

por Rashad a

22 de Abr de 2019

I love it

por Carlos G R C

11 de Jul de 2017

muy bueno

por 周融

17 de Fev de 2016

wonderful

por ayllin m u t

18 de Set de 2020

good job

por Aurora G V

15 de Ago de 2017

Me gustó

por Roberto R

7 de Ago de 2016

excelent

por Aleksey D

15 de Jun de 2016

Awesome!

por Ashrak A A S

25 de Fev de 2021

perfect

por Aida B S H

15 de Ago de 2019

Lovely!

por Mr. P P

10 de Set de 2018

Great!

por Mónica A G G

3 de Fev de 2018

Great!

por Medhat A

9 de Jan de 2017

thanks

por Silvia H

9 de Fev de 2021

Great

por Aare H 1

1 de Jun de 2020

nice

por Monica J

17 de Mai de 2020

Nice

por Ko S

11 de Nov de 2018

GREA

por Wilma J

18 de Jun de 2017

P

por Yoo M

15 de Fev de 2017

T

por Danielle R

14 de Mar de 2017

I really enjoyed the course and in particular, the professor teaching it. I would have liked to spend more time in assimilating the information and to have some in video quizzes to help clarify and solidify the course content. One gets out of it what they put into it. For those who do not have a lot of time to spend on peer reviewed submissions, this was an excellent option. I am going to review all of the lectures again because I think it is important to retain new information and my 'working' memory is currently impaired. That said, I did not engage in the discussions and will have to do so after the fact. I absolutely loved the use of movies as a vehicle to learn about the course content and to better understand the differences in mild cognitive deficits versus the various stages of dementia. Overall, I really enjoyed the course and would gladly build on what I have taken away from it

por AISHWARYA A

27 de Out de 2019

Dear Prof. Seamon,

This course was a very concise and basic guide to understanding memory and I believe it is a good start for anyone, even without a scientific or biological background knowledge. I had a good learning experience and I also came across many interesting movies through this. I also realized how movies shape the common man's understanding of memory and the associated problems and sometimes it can be misleading. However, this was a good experience and i would like to thank you for the course.

Thank you, hope to learn more from you in future courses.

Best regards,

Aishwarya Aravamudhan

por L S

21 de Abr de 2021

Very good and informational course. I learned more about memory than I knew and have a different appreciation for the movies chosen to represent various topics within the course.

It would be nice if we could discuss various aspects of the course with the instructor and/or others especially in relation to experiences we have in our daily lives.

Also would be nice if the correct answers were available. I found some answers didn't work even though I thought I was taking them from course notes.

thank you for a very good course and well organized instructor