Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,922 classificações
606 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
2 de Jun de 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 595 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Vassia D

24 de Mai de 2016

A very useful course, and not just for psychologists. I have a mother that has memory problems, and this course helped me identify her illness and help her in any way I can.

Also, as a movie fanatic, it was so much easier to understand the complex ways our mind works through all the great movies our instructor used. Thank you so much for this course!!!

por Kezia S

5 de Abr de 2019

As a movie enthusiast who likes to study basic psychology, this course truly feels like a remarkable combination. It's personally not difficult for me to get engaged with the materials, very exciting, makes myself really have productive time learning. Thank you for the Professor Seamon. I have learned a lot from this course. Have many good memories!

por C M

4 de Abr de 2019

Thank you very much for this opportunity to learn and expand our understanding of memory. I love films and any excuse to watch films residing with important concepts is a wonderful approach. Thank you Prof Seamon and coursera for this chance. I bought the book and it is one that I’ll treasure.

A room without books is a room without a soul.

Cicero

por Susan H

15 de Jun de 2017

I learned so much from this course. I now know how to take care of myself. And not to worry about my 80 year old parents so much. The use of movies to illustrate memory was fantastic in that the subject was entertaining. I liked the professor and subject so much I bought the book. What a nice combination to teach a subject. Movies and memory.

por Muazzam R

20 de Nov de 2020

Excellent course, it is informative and enchanting ! I've learned a lot about memory, amnesia and Alzheimer's disease. The professor John Seamon is so sophisticated and insightful.

I would recommend this course to my friends and colleagues, as I think everyone should know how fascinating our memory is.

Thank you for creating this course!

por rosana p d m

26 de Nov de 2016

Excelente curso. Dados muito interessantes sobre os processos que envolvem a memória e o funcionamento cerebral. Professor muito envolvente e claramente apaixonado pelo que faz. Sua maneira de ensinar usando os filmes deixa o curso leve e atraente. Fiquei com vontade de assistir mais. Estou aguardando novos cursos da Universidade.

por Maria-Anastasia A

14 de Jan de 2017

The course was very interesting and easy most of the times to follow. The idea to use films in order to show some facts about memory is unique and makes the course very attractive. I would highly recommend this course. I learned a lot and i did it in a very pleasant way. Thank you for the opportunity to follow this course.

por Subbalakshmi K

26 de Nov de 2017

It was a brilliant experience! Not only the content of the course but the way in which the movies were used to highlight so many facts and explanations in the course. Being a teacher myself, I was blown away both by the content and the way in which it was delivered. Liked the soft-spoken way of Prof John Seamon. Thanks.

por Jekaterina C

8 de Mai de 2021

Really enjoyed the course! The topics were presented in an easy and understandable way, as well as comparison between real cases and how it is portrayed in the movies- helped not only to understand, but also to remember it better. Overall, pretty easy and nice lections about memory, illnesses and their impact on life.

por Carlos L M V

30 de Jan de 2020

El curso presenta y expone un tema tal como la memoria memoria de manera apasionada, atractiva y clara. Aborda la importancia de indagar sobre esta temática. La aborda desde una perspectiva clínica y científica, donde se destaca la importancia de la investigación de la memoria y su importancia en la salud publica.

por Serena G

23 de Out de 2020

Very glad to chance upon this fascinating course whilst browsing through the catalog. It gives me a greater understanding of our memory systems. Thank you Prof Seamon for making the lectures so interesting and engaging through clips from a no. of movies. The summary at the end of each lecture is most useful.

por Raymonde B

19 de Set de 2019

Professor Seamon,Thank you so much for a most interesting course. Having no background inpsychology, I now am determined to study more in this field- so I boughtyour book!I enjoy taking these courses for my own interest as I am a semi- retiredlanguage instructor and have more free time now.

Raymonde Burke

por Anabela C

14 de Nov de 2019

John Seamon es un excelente profesor y disfrute tanto del curso, que me apeno terminarlo. Aprendi mucho en el curso y esta hecho con tanto amor que realmente siento que las lecciones quedaron en los huesos. Mi mayor agradecimiento hacia John Seamon y todo el equipo de Coursera que hizo posible el curso.

por Minh N

27 de Jun de 2021

If youre someone that loves film and Cog Psych, this course combines the best of both worlds together! It's a fantastic course to pick up if you're interested in learning the basis of Cognition and how we think, all through the intertwined connection of film and media. A course I highly recommend!

por Louise J

17 de Set de 2020

This course should appeal to everyone. The instructor explains complex psychological concepts using clips from movies to illustrate. If you expect to age, if you are interested in how and why we remember what we do, or if you want to understand how the brain works, this is a great class to take.

por Leung P C

10 de Jun de 2018

Changes in memory can occur as we get older, so I think everyone should know more about it. This course give me the chance to learn more about memory through the Psychology way and the interesting movies. It give me the idea to develop my personality and improve (inspiring) my life, thank you!!

por Diane F

25 de Out de 2020

I've taken several Coursera courses but this was by far the very best! The professor was wonderful. The approach was great for people who have little or no background in the study of psychology. What a creative idea using movies! Now I have a whole list of movies I can't wait to watch.

por Claire P

4 de Set de 2020

Excellent presentation of subject matter on this important topic for all of us.

Understanding of material was enhanced by the segments of the films which perfectly fit with the topics to help us visually and viscerally grasp the material.

Thank you "Jackie" for this incredible class.

por Alexis M

1 de Mai de 2020

Excellent course! Very interesting paired with very relatable film clips. I have an interest in the concept of memory, so in taking this course, I learned both basic and more advanced nuances of memory. Also, I really liked how summaries were provided at the end of each lecture.

por Milenne S d L

17 de Jun de 2018

I thank Professor Seamon for this valuable course! This is no simple task to teach about such complex subject, yet you made it very accessible to understand through movie clip examples, in a very accurate and easy way to identify the material covered. I appreciated it very much.

por Delora S

17 de Jun de 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. As I love movies, it was perfect to learn about memory using movies as illustration, examples. It has also helped me understand memory problems which has helped me understand myself and others better. I highly recommend this course to anyone!

por Ambika

29 de Mar de 2021

I feel privileged to be a part of this course. Sir explained classes very well. The combination of telling concept by using clipings from movie is a great idea which help us to understand the concept very well. Thanks alot from Wesleyan University for this great opportunity.

por Anoosha S Z

2 de Out de 2020

Interesting, challenging and comprehensive! I've had a wonderful experience learing and understanding the psychology of memory. The instructor is engaging and truly exceptional. If you like movies as much as I do and are interested in psychology, this is the course for you.

por Jiel D

24 de Fev de 2018

This course is well designed and easy to follow. It has very relevant examples through movies. The movies really help understand the point and provide clarity. Being intrigued on the topic of movie and with a love for movies, I found this course to be a great blend.

por Katie S

10 de Jun de 2020

This was a fantastically interesting course for someone of 56 who experiences senior moments already! And for someone who works as a Dementia Support Worker and also loves film..... The lecturer was very watchable and made it easy to enjoy learning. Big thank you.