Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,878 classificações
591 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS
6 de Fev de 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filtrar por:

501 — 525 de 577 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Raquel H

8 de Jun de 2016

I haven't finished the course yet, so far so good!

I would love to see more variety of films from other countries too.

I'm convinced this course will evolve as further research on memory

continues making the huge 'memory and aging' issue much more accesible.

Thank you!

por Cecile D

10 de Jul de 2016

I thought it was an excellent class for discovering how our memory works. Thanks to the movie examples it provided great insights into our brains, and importantly the professor was there to explain the differences between fiction and actual scientific knowledge !

por laura h

5 de Jul de 2020

Graduates as an anthropologist with a profound interest in the workings of social memory, I found this course to be interesting from a different perspective. Perfect for those who have an interest in the basics of memory through the cinematic eye.

por carlos h b

9 de Abr de 2017

Muy buen curso, se ilustra de manera amplia y concreta lo relacionado con la memoria. Además, la metodología de asociarlo con el cine tiene efectos benéficos como los de mantener los recuerdos muy activos. Muchas gracias.

por Lucy D

3 de Jan de 2019

I liked the content though felt the delivery lacked diversity when there were many opportunities to learn things by trying them out - the couple of exercises designed for this were really great - they could be many more.

por Michele R

15 de Abr de 2016

I really enjoyed this class - it gave me some insight to how the mind works. The lectures were easy to understand, no full of jargon, and the quizzes helped clarify what I needed to focus on

por Gjoans

12 de Jun de 2016

It's a very good course discovering the function of memory and how we maintain good memory, while principle and mechanism of memory's formation did not be revealed were the leaving regrets.

por Ellen W

5 de Mai de 2016

Interesting course. I liked that each session was short so I could fit them into breaks in my day. I also liked that the professor used movies to demonstrate concepts he was discussing.

por Diana B F (

10 de Fev de 2017

I wonderful foundation course with the splendid added filmography. Great combination that explains false myths behind memory lapses, episodes of forgetfulness and concussion.

por Narayan M

6 de Jun de 2017

INTERESTING CORRELATION INDEED OF HOW NUANCES OF MEMORY CAN BE BETTER COMPREHENDED BY MOVIES. ACTUALLY ENHANCES THE ENTERTAINMENT VALUE OF THE MOVIE BESIDES THE INSIGHT

por Micheal N

14 de Jul de 2018

It was a very interesting way to describe human memory, but I'm not giving it 5 stars because I feel it could have contained more scientific information.

por Juan E

22 de Fev de 2020

Muy claro y práctico. Las imagenes y guiones de las películas ayudan a fijar mucho mas los conceptos. Felicitaciones. Altamente recomendable.

por Stacy K

15 de Mai de 2016

Great content and movies. Would have been even better if the professor spoke a little more loudly and perhaps there were guest experts.

por Gayathri G

12 de Ago de 2017

This course was really interesting since it incorporated the fun of watching movies along with understanding the psychology of mind.

por Raya D

28 de Nov de 2020

It was a light course on how memory functions, which helped me structure my knowledge and encompass new information in that field.

por Vivian L

25 de Nov de 2017

Interesting and easy to learn. I like the setting by coursera that I can watch the video and do the quiz whenever in my free time.

por Cesar O

13 de Jun de 2016

Si amas el maravilloso mundo del cine y también la psicología, entonces este curso es para tí. Ampliamente recomendable.

por Juan D S M

6 de Jan de 2017

Es un curso realmente agradable para aquellos que se interesan por la condición humana y se apasionan por el cine !!!

por nelly a

10 de Jul de 2016

Very interesting and amuzing way of learning about something so important as memory is. I have enjoyed every lesson.

por Haydee A

9 de Dez de 2018

It was a very interesting course. Thank you! I am also reading the book. I highly recommend it!

Thank you!!!!

por Nancy B

25 de Out de 2017

I enjoyed the subject matter, however, the presenter is very monotone and makes it hard to pay attention.

por Sukran C

6 de Ago de 2017

It was very well prepared lessons. I have found all lessons very usefull indeed. Thank you sharing with us

por Stephen B

17 de Ago de 2017

Excellent incorporation of these two disciplines! It has been said that movies make memories!

por Boules N L

12 de Ago de 2017

Beneficial to those who want to learn how memory works and how to save it even in old age!

por Prasanthee

16 de Ago de 2016

Enjoyed the course. Explained how memory works and memory loss occurs in simple terms.