Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,819 classificações
569 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS
6 de Fev de 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filtrar por:

501 — 525 de 556 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Nancy B

25 de Out de 2017

I enjoyed the subject matter, however, the presenter is very monotone and makes it hard to pay attention.

por Sukran C

6 de Ago de 2017

It was very well prepared lessons. I have found all lessons very usefull indeed. Thank you sharing with us

por Stephen B

17 de Ago de 2017

Excellent incorporation of these two disciplines! It has been said that movies make memories!

por Boules N L

12 de Ago de 2017

Beneficial to those who want to learn how memory works and how to save it even in old age!

por Prasanthee

16 de Ago de 2016

Enjoyed the course. Explained how memory works and memory loss occurs in simple terms.

por nagarajan

22 de Mai de 2020

Well, the course helped me view memory and cognition through a cinematic experience.

por Unmesh R

19 de Set de 2017

Articulated well how memory works through the medium of different move clips.

por Dimple Y

25 de Abr de 2019

A good way to understand complex structure of memory. Enjoyed thoroughly.

por Georges E A

4 de Dez de 2016

I liked the way that course go... it was nice to know how our memory work

por Rich I

15 de Mar de 2019

An entertaining way of learning more about this neuro-biologic process.

por Jorge A D F G

29 de Jun de 2017

An overview of memory and its problems, using movies to reflect on them

por Hemanth V

9 de Set de 2016

This course has improved my understanding of how human brain works.

por Linda

25 de Out de 2020

Very interesting course! Kind professor. Lovely film episodes.

por Berenice J

6 de Jul de 2018

It was an exceptional course. I have learned a lot. Thanks!

por Isil M B

12 de Nov de 2017

Un curso excelente y muy práctico. Totalmente recomendable.

por Sharon D

26 de Jun de 2016

Very interesting course. Easy to follow and well presented.

por Weronika B

16 de Nov de 2016

Nice comparisons, presenter might have talk a bit louder

por Katherine M K

4 de Jul de 2017

I found this course interesting all the way through.

por Madelyn S

1 de Out de 2016

Enjoyed the content and examples through the movies

por Saisree M P

27 de Mai de 2020

It makes "memory" a lot more interesting chapter

por Jouhans H G

27 de Mai de 2019

Muy bueno, interesante, práctico e interesante.

por Mansi K

4 de Jul de 2016

Liked the course, subject, content and faculty.

por John C

11 de Mar de 2019

Awesome course. Loved the use of movie clips.

por Kousay a

18 de Mai de 2016

Memory is an important topic to learn about.

por elisa G d R

17 de Set de 2016

Was very Interesting! I learned a lot!! Tks