Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,878 classificações
591 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
2 de Jun de 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrar por:

301 — 325 de 577 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por ΧΡΥΣΟΥΛΑ Π

17 de Jan de 2021

perfect!i am so exciting to listen this man!!!the best mooc i ve ever have

por Srivathsan P

1 de Nov de 2020

Very good compilation of key factors on memory. Thank you for this course.

por Irene U L

13 de Mai de 2020

Very interesting course for the ones who like both psychology and movies.

por Jan A H K

25 de Abr de 2020

Thanks for the time together John, it was really good and enlightening :)

por Li-Fu C

9 de Mai de 2017

這是我第一堂上與電影相關但與電影製作無關的課,研究電影是我很大的興趣,這堂課也是我第一次特別抓出一個類別來做賞析。

很開心能有這個機會閱覽這個課程。

por Margaret S C

1 de Out de 2016

Loved this course. Very well presented, organized and illustrated. A gem.

por Myles S

22 de Fev de 2021

Clear and interesting presentation of complex material. Very well done.

por Stefanny M

3 de Ago de 2020

it was good and easy to understand, all good movies and very practical!

por Renna Z

16 de Jun de 2020

Very interesting and informative. I loved the course and the insructor.

por Mansi Y

20 de Mai de 2020

amazing course, must for psychology lovers...learnt a lot of new things

por Sachin K

10 de Set de 2018

Perfect Course and detailed knowledge for each and every part of memory

por Ajaan R K

15 de Jul de 2016

Easily Understandable... VERY Interesting... Thoroughly Entertaining...

por Moza S

21 de Dez de 2019

Thank you all for this wonderful course. It was extremely informative.

por Silvia F

11 de Mar de 2019

Nice course to explain and understand memory with movies as examples.

por Md. I H

29 de Ago de 2020

this course gave me a clear concept about memory that I hadn't before

por PARESH P

25 de Jul de 2020

An In depth Understanding of how memory Works, Beautifully explained

por Andreia D

30 de Mai de 2017

It was very interesting and helpful. Thank you for the great classes!

por jinxiu

7 de Nov de 2016

特别喜欢这个课程,让我了解很多原来不知道的知识,也让我知道一些大脑的运作规则,我向很多身边的朋友,同事推荐了这个课程,值得认真的学一学。

por HELLEN D S S

6 de Ago de 2020

IIt is an instructive and inspiring course. It is very worth doing!

por Amelia O

28 de Abr de 2021

The course was simply stunning! So interesting and well explained.

por ZACHAROULA L

10 de Jan de 2021

Thorough! Brilliant! Both professional yet stimulating! Well done!

por Olivia d L Q R

28 de Set de 2020

I Love this course and really like Mr Seamon. Thank you very much.

por Adilah S

14 de Jun de 2020

One of the best courses that I have taken. I highly recommend it!

por Purva B S

16 de Abr de 2021

It really helped me to look at movies with different perspective.

por Cristina P A

25 de Fev de 2021

Great course, easy to undersatand and the examples are marvelous!