Chevron Left
Voltar para Approaching Music Theory: Melodic Forms and Simple Harmony

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Approaching Music Theory: Melodic Forms and Simple Harmony da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.7
estrelas
106 classificações
62 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is about how music works. It is about the relationship between the technical and aesthetic details of music. It is also about how developing a meaningful theoretical vocabulary can help you think and talk about musical style, and how learning that vocabulary can expand your appreciation for music. In this course you will learn music theory not by looking at theory itself, but by listening to, looking at, and—yes!—writing your own musical examples. By hearing, seeing, and writing yourself, you will learn about classical, modern, ancient, pop, jazz, and folk styles. Through lectures, relevant examples, and numerous practice assignments, we will examine fundamental aspects of melody. We will move into working with two voices and counterpoint, and finally to three voices and the beginnings of harmonic function. This is an intermediate-level course for musicians and composers who already have some understanding of music theory through previous study. If you are a musician or composer looking to build a deeper understanding of music theory for composing, performing, or improvisation, you have come to the right place. If you are an amateur lover of music or, perhaps, play a musical instrument and want to develop a deeper sense of appreciation for music theory, aesthetics, and history, you are also in the right place!...

Melhores avaliações

AW
4 de Jul de 2020

Great survey of Western music. I found it more of an appreciation of listening to music rather than a formal music theory course. There's lots of opportunity to learn different styles of composition.

PG
12 de Mar de 2021

Excellent, challenging course which opens your eyes and ears to many genres of music. Wonderfully presented with humour and concise descriptive explanation. Thank you

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 62 Avaliações para o Approaching Music Theory: Melodic Forms and Simple Harmony

por Maria D A M

3 de Set de 2020

I loved this course, so challenging, I learned a lot, differents things, I have many years playing piano, today I played it with a new goal, and seeing concepts that I didnt see before. I am form Mexico, so I know, do re mi fa sol la si do. Is too different to think in C D E F, G A, B. Have to think different. Thankyou!

por veronica h

9 de Abr de 2020

I loved this course because it is packed with very clearly explained lessons and I really enjoyed every video. The assignments gave me lots of opportunity to practice but they did take me more than 30 minutes to do each one. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in getting into music theory.

por Michael O

14 de Mar de 2021

Not for complete beginners. If you have some basic knowledge of music I think you'll find this course very inspiring and enjoyable to do. It's music history with theory and the instructor makes its fun. I'm very impressed and will go over and refer to this course materials for years to come. It's a great course!

por Daniel D

24 de Mar de 2021

Top course! A wide panoramic of (mostly) Western music from the last 10 centuries. Not just classical: you'll go from the Middle Ages to New Age! It could seriously change the way you look at music, especially "strange" music, like XXth century avant-garde. Great stuff to be learned here.

por Amir.M B

8 de Mar de 2021

A beautiful and pleasant flight over the sky of music theory and harmony with lots of colorful points from different forms and genres, this path is also much more pleasant with an awesome instructor such as Marc.

Take this course even if you know music theory very well, trust me.

por Zack

8 de Ago de 2020

What's truly special about this course is that it helps you understand music as a whole; not just roman numerals and harmonic function, but how, throughout the ages, musicians had formed these common practice rules and used them to their advantage.

Also, wombat.

por Ben N

30 de Jun de 2019

ALL THE STARS!

Shout to Sam L. for the hookup with this class. Learned a lot! I really feel primed for my education and then some! A lot more than I bargained for. And of course I want to get to CalArts even more.. you lovely jerks!

Thanks!

por Paul B

11 de Abr de 2021

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course with a high quality tutor presenting in an interesting style which kept the interest. Although I’m specifically studying jazz piano I found it was highly productive on many fronts - thank you very much !

por Éric T

12 de Jun de 2020

Super interesting course, quite challenging but very rewarding. Marc is a fantastic lecturer! He brilliantly manages to convey his excitement for the topic. I wish there were more courses offered by him on Coursera!!

por Dennis T R

24 de Fev de 2020

Clear and informative. A little background in music theory will make the content easier to understand and apply. The focus is unique and generates thought. Music theory can be fun for everyone. Thanks.

por Joao P N

17 de Jan de 2021

Professor Marc Lowenstein made me learn music theory and music forms analysis in a very rich and enjoyable way! Marc is a fantastic teacher, I look forward to enroll into another course he may offer.

por Paul G

13 de Mar de 2021

Excellent, challenging course which opens your eyes and ears to many genres of music. Wonderfully presented with humour and concise descriptive explanation. Thank you

por Philip R

28 de Mar de 2020

A very useful and interesting overview to melody and harmony. I loved Marc's sense of humour. It has motivated me to study the subject in more depth.

por Kris S

18 de Fev de 2021

Terrific - many thanks to Marc and the Calarts team for sharing their passion. Have new found music appreciation, knowledge, ideas and inspiration!

por Wang S

17 de Set de 2019

I'm Chinese, and not good at English. But with a dict in my hand, I enjoyed a lot in this course. Thanks the teacher very much.

por Octave H

12 de Out de 2020

Extraordinary course, with great lessons, even tho english isn't my native language. Really helpful and well made

por Lori S

10 de Jan de 2021

This was a very interesting and enjoyable course. I definitely know more about music know than when I started.

por Mary B

23 de Fev de 2021

A lot of work required in a fairly short time, definitely helped to make me observe music much more.

por Nestor G P

23 de Ago de 2020

A wonderful course with content that provides knowledge and allows you to experiment and discover.

por Joy S

8 de Jun de 2020

lecturer is very skilled in his lecture delivering. thank you sir for teaching such a nice course

por Juan N

25 de Jul de 2020

Great course! You will learn a lot of stuff on music theory and will have fun by doing it!

por Karen L

8 de Fev de 2021

Great instructor. Material built on previous lessons. Assignments reinforced lectures.

por Sally P

24 de Mai de 2020

Hilarious and ingenious! All I miss is another course by Mr Lowenstein. Encore, Encore!

por Mary C d C P J

17 de Jul de 2019

If you want to learn about melody this is the perfect course. I totakky recommend it.