Chevron Left
Voltar para Medical Applications of Particle Accelerators (NPAP MOOC)

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Medical Applications of Particle Accelerators (NPAP MOOC) da instituição Universidade de Lund

4.6
estrelas
123 classificações
41 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Hello and welcome to this course! The NPAP - Medical Applications of Accelerators is one out of three courses in the Nordic Particle Accelerator Program (NPAP). Here you will be taken on a tour focusing on the medical applications of particle accelerators. You will see that there are two very important, but different, applications of accelerators in hospitals. The first application concerns radiotherapy of tumours and the other concerns the production of medical nuclides for diagnosis and treatment. Both will be included in this course and described through four modules. The first module offers the basic principles of radiotherapy from a medical and physics point of view. You there learn about the main components of the machines used for radiotherapy and get to know why radiotherapy is important for cancer treatments. The second module guides you through the different types of linear accelerators used in the machines for radiotherapy. It also describes the design of the treatment head. The design is important because it is the settings of the treatment head that determines the dose and the radiated region. It is also in the treatment head where the dose given to the patient is measured. In the third module you are introduced to proton therapy. In this type of therapy protons are first accelerated and then guided down to the tumour by magnets. The machines are considerably larger and more expensive than machines used for radio therapy. The module also offers a description and comparison between different types of accelerators, and explains how the protons interact with tissue. Also ions that are heavier than protons can be used in cancer therapy. This is described in the fourth module, where we also introduce you to the production of medical nuclides. You learn how the nuclides are produces in proton and ion accelerators and how the nuclides come into play at different places in hospitals. Medical nuclides are for instance used in Positron Electron Tomography, PET. Enjoy!...

Melhores avaliações

CB

May 19, 2020

The course content is good, nicely explained by video tutorials and notes. Good for beginner and learned about medical physics and its clinical application.

MD

Jun 27, 2020

This course is very useful to everyone. I have to learn some different techniques, like homiao therapy, chemotherapy ect....

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 40 Avaliações para o Medical Applications of Particle Accelerators (NPAP MOOC)

por RAEES C

May 16, 2020

I got very well knowledge about particles accelerators ,thank you coursera

por Esther J G

Apr 26, 2020

Very useful to learn some more about how radiotherapy works and a good reminder of radionuclides and their use in medicine

por Wilmer M

Aug 31, 2020

I am very grateful to be able to do this course with you. There are really few places where they teach and you can learn about a subject as exceptional as the medical application of particle accelerators. As a medical physicist, it has been a great help to me to strengthen already acquired knowledge and to learn new things. The videos and articles you have been exceptional. The way they teach is very good and Professor Lars Hjorth Præstegaard explains excellent, he is a great physicist. Once again thank you very much. Totally recommended.

por Mohamed S A

Jun 14, 2020

This course is an excellent introductory to accelerator-based radiotherapy techniques used in cancer treatment. I am looking forward to involving an additional technique that is related to this category of cancer cures, which is the accelerator-based Boron Neutron Capture Therapy (BNCT).

por Geraldyne U D

May 26, 2020

This course helped me a lot as I am goingo to study a master in medical physcis. Now I have gain habilities that I can put into practise in the master. Thank you to the professor and to coursera for sharing the knowledge

por yasin a

May 21, 2020

I strongly recommend the course for many different professionals , students who work in Medical Physics field or have intention to work in this field. Also for the fellow colleagues who need replenish their knowledge.

por Sridharbabu Y

May 05, 2020

Very detailed course on Medical Applications of Particle Accelerators. I am highly grateful to Prof. Lars Hjorth for his continued support. I have thoroughly understood the concepts pertained to particle accelerators.

por Wendy K R

Apr 21, 2020

Thank you for this introductory overview. It has been a great tool to revise my existing knowledge ( diagnostic imaging) and to learn something about the hardware, physics and radiopharmacy of radiation oncology.

por Juan E D M

Jun 14, 2020

I really enjoyed so much! Im now more passionate about medical physics and how with particle accelerators we can transform and contribute to the patient's lifes. Thanks a lot!

por Lucas A G G

Jun 10, 2020

The course is a great introduction for the aplication of ionizin radiation and how it is made. The only aspect worth improving are the subtitles. Best regards!

por CHANDI P B

May 19, 2020

The course content is good, nicely explained by video tutorials and notes. Good for beginner and learned about medical physics and its clinical application.

por Ricardo A H R

Jun 10, 2020

Es un curso muy completo. Ofrece una visión global y detallada sobre los aspectos fundamentales. Con explicaciones claras y preguntas interesantes.

por Ms.K.Maheswari D

Jun 27, 2020

This course is very useful to everyone. I have to learn some different techniques, like homiao therapy, chemotherapy ect....

por Pablo Z B

Apr 11, 2020

thanks very much for sharing your knowledge. It has been a great course, I am very pleasant to have done it

por Bernard K

Aug 25, 2020

Amazing experience for my first course.Would definitely purchase certificate soon.Thanks Coursera.

por Paolo B

Sep 20, 2019

Very nice course. It give me a clean overview of such interesting and challenging topic. Paolo

por Md. M R

Feb 27, 2020

Is it possible to send me the certificate. I already completed this course.

Thanks

Motiur

por Mirta D

Mar 15, 2020

Thank you for the course! I appreciate that it is thorough in physics and medicine.

por Md. J S

Jun 21, 2020

I have enjoy this course because it is very useful course for human beings.

por Shene M

Aug 16, 2020

It is very useful to me thanks alot for you,i hope you will be continue

por Guthikonda K K

Jun 14, 2020

I had a great time learning regarding various treatment methods.

por Fernanda G B

May 29, 2019

Adorei, ótimo curso, os vídeos são bem fáceis e didáticos.

por Peter N

Jul 12, 2020

Great course content - very well laid out

por JOEL B

May 29, 2020

Inspiring ...Interesting...Exploring...

por jenny M C

Aug 22, 2020

It was a very enriching course