Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
1,087 classificações
272 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por Ishita B

Mar 09, 2016

Great course for refreshing your Materials Science knowledge and also for people trying to know if this is the right path of study for them....

por Víctor P V

Dec 07, 2016

The course is agood review for engineers, I'll recomend you strongly

por Jan K

Feb 12, 2017

Very good overview of material science - lecturer did not get too deep inside each of the issues but he gave us an overview with hints for future studies.

por mostafa M M S

Sep 13, 2016

i did not like the subject at college and i enrolled in this course hoping to understands any thing

this course makes me love the subject really i liked it now but i did not like the last week and i still have trouble with phase diagram

this course is introductory to concept

it is not detailed course so i think it is perfect course for people like me

por HENRIQUE G R

Jan 28, 2018

The course was really good, but I think the last subject was a little bit confused.

por Abhishek T

Mar 16, 2016

Very Helpful Course

por Roy M

Mar 14, 2017

I took this course as a review. I took Intro. to Materials Science 26-years ago. We used Dr. Shackelford's textbook for that class. Mat

por Christopher S

Feb 28, 2017

A short course, but I did come away with a better understanding of how materials behave at a molecular/atomic level. I already had some experience with semiconductor physics and some of the basic chemistry ideas. The deformation curve helped me cement how/why torque specs are developed and used. The eutectic and eutectoid explanations were also very helpful.

por K S S d S

Mar 27, 2018

Good review on material science for anyone with interest.

por Paolo S

Dec 18, 2015

Easy introduction to material science.

por Kanishk B

Mar 13, 2017

Great Course to get an understanding of the basics of materials science

por Amin S

Mar 06, 2016

Good course. As the name says, covers the stuff every engineer should know about.

por Viswanathan U

Jun 22, 2017

Very good for engineers trying to diversify and learn from the basics of material science like me. This course might not be great for people already invested in material science through bachelors or masters courses.

por Rishi M

Jun 03, 2017

Good course

por ANANT R

Jun 02, 2017

it was a nice and interactive course

por Sriram

Jun 11, 2017

PLZ READ IT ..IT'S NOT JUST A TEXT..MORE THAN THAT...

Hi madam,I'm Sriram from small township called Srivilliputtur have population of nearly 76,000 in Tamilnadu,India.I'm from middle class family having 3 elder sisters.Since my father got low wages which only fits for that day as tomorrow becomes big ?.I have dream or ambition of being a doctor but which is just a morning dream for my status.As i grew,my father got good respected position in our township and some what wealthy than before.I was so excited of being doctor.

But i got low cut-off for presuming doctor.So its impossible to come in scholarship and through management or private institution,the price for single seat without any recommendation is around 90 lakhs which is just for seat,where study materials and hostel fee are separate which is main reason for un-development of my nation in large scale.So i was pushed to join in engineering college.

At institution,i got knowledge but not in amount i excepted.At that time,i come to know about COURSEA and their free cost education of all streams.Then i enrolled in our community and Since i was longed to be doctor i liked to choose biological study and that's the way i got to you..

Proverb says that "THOUSAND MILES OF JOURNEY STARTS WITH SINGLE STEPS" .If the first step becomes wrong,the journey is impossible.I'm lucky in that way as i got my first step as massive one.you made my day madam.you gave me knowledge and interest of being a wanter. Now i can proudly says , I got 3 certificate through COURSEA only due to you.

It's not just for thanks giving ,i just like to share my feelings and says that like there are more than you excepted.

Again "THANKS FOR EVERYTHING YOU GAVE AND MAKING ME WORTHY" .

por Kamakhya P M

Dec 14, 2017

good

por Mohammed S P

Aug 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. I suggest everyone to have prerequisite knowledge in material science and metallurgy. It will be difficult to understand the lecture without prior knowledge.

por ErcanTURK

Jan 29, 2017

The course was amazing, and fruitful.

por Abdo H

Mar 14, 2017

It Has a lot of useful info but you can get bored quickly so you must love MS and stick with it

por Nivedan A

Nov 24, 2016

It is a really good course. I would recommend it to everyone interested in materials or engineering. This course helped me get a better understanding of some fundamental concepts of engineering.

por rasik m

Sep 26, 2016

It was good experience to enhance my knowledge.

por Syed R R

May 31, 2016

The course goes through all of the required topics within material science and gives proper information.

Professor's explanation and his description makes it easy to understand.

Thank You

por Soheil M

May 08, 2018

I wish you could've covered material in deeps. The course is still amazing for a good start for colleague students, but not enough to pass this subject in any university.

Apart from what have been said this course very good.

por Robert Z

Jan 27, 2018

A good introduction course about 10 things of material science. Good to know.