Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.7
estrelas
3,621 classificações
893 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

DK
23 de Set de 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM
17 de Jul de 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 880 Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por Fabian P

5 de Mar de 2018

Excellent introductory course! Full of interesting topics that would lead you to investigate further into this topic. Thanks Professor Shackelford!

por Musharraf R S

10 de Mai de 2020

A very good course to take up there are many things to learn.

Most importantly remember:

"Structure leads to properties"

by our Great Professor James

por Luis N H G

1 de Dez de 2018

Es un gran curso, con saberes teóricos prácticos, de gran contenido y fácil apreciación para las aspiraciones de un futuro ingeniero enhorabuena!

por Cyril J

19 de Abr de 2020

Excellent course to remember the basic things that a engineer should remember especially mechanical engineers. Thank you for making this course.

por Cliff J

21 de Out de 2020

This course presented the most intuitive explanation of material properties that I have come across in fourteen years as a practicing engineer.

por AZAHAR P

11 de Mai de 2020

It was wonderful and very well explained about each and every crux of material science. and got practical understanding of material engineering

por Swapnil N

22 de Jun de 2020

Very good course and personally I am looking forward for more deeper metallurgy courses from same speaker..He is too good..Thank you Coursera.

por Yekambaram R

4 de Fev de 2020

This gives all the information required for understanding material science course for mechanical engineers. Thank you for offering the course.

por Dean A A

22 de Jun de 2017

Professor Shackelford has good and clear explanation about this course. Outstanding in presentation delivery. Please keep posting new course.

por Md. I M

16 de Jun de 2020

Wonderful course ever for me including all over the engineering students to know these engineering materials to apply their future prospect.

por Harshit S

18 de Mar de 2019

The course emphasizes on the basic principles of Material Sciences. Explains with great real-life examples which are very thought-provoking.

por Maria E X d S

26 de Out de 2018

Is a great course to review topics related to materials engineering. I recommend for new graduates or for those who want to start college.

por Gao R

17 de Jan de 2016

Very concentrative! The teacher demonstrates the basic concept and acknowledge that every engineer should know. Very impressive. Thanks!

por Maria E X d S

23 de Ago de 2020

I am very grateful to have participated in this course and to have strengthened my knowledge in materials engineering after graduating!

por Ahmed T A

21 de Mar de 2021

I'm really grateful. This course has made a seemingly complex concept easy for me. Now I can say I know for sure what materials are.

por RUSHIKESH D

22 de Abr de 2020

Amazing experience of knowledge.But I would like to suggest one thing please change the format of video lectures,as screen is small.

por OMAR A G N

17 de Set de 2020

El curso en general es muy bueno, videos cortos, bien explicados y no te preocupes por las evaluaciones, te pregunta lo que enseña.

por Kasuntha M

31 de Jan de 2021

Great course to learn about Materials Science. I highly recommend this course. Thank you for offering this valuable course to me.

por MANIVELMURALIDARAN V

23 de Jul de 2020

Excellent lecture with informative sessions along with practical applications which helped to understand the concepts clearly.

por Skanda R

19 de Mai de 2020

One of the best courses on Material Science for Practicing Engineers and Engineering Students. I highly recommend this course.

por Eashwar S

20 de Set de 2020

The course material was very useful for engineers without materials background and helps understand failure mechanism better.

por BHRUGESH S H

24 de Mai de 2020

I had a great time learning this course. It is very helpful and basic knowledge for any engineer who are dealing with metals.

por Hans D K

3 de Set de 2019

Excellent overview of primarily mechanical properties in metals which I found very useful to understand metal's value in use.

por Seong E ( S

8 de Ago de 2019

it is very practically good lectures for engineers to understand fundamental and practical concept in material engineering.