Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.7
estrelas
2,383 classificações
615 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

SV

May 25, 2020

Greatly explained everything. Good blend of practical and theory for all kind of learners. Not get bored at any instant, in fact wants to complete course in single seating. Really amazing experience.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 610 Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por Hamed K

Apr 16, 2020

A good and straightforward course giving enough fundamental knowledge for engineering students of any track. The professor also explains the topics quite clearly.

por Zainul

Dec 10, 2015

Nice, this is by far my most exciting course, i am only 17 and in my country i don't learn a wide range of science in my syllabus. This helps me understood a lot.

por Manivel

Apr 04, 2020

The course was taught with practical applications and some illustrations to understand easily. I thank the course Instructor a lot for his effort in this regard.

por Nishant C

Jul 23, 2017

The entire course is very well planned and advances very systematically. It has been of very help in strengthening my practical as well as theoretical knowledge.

por Aditya P B

Sep 09, 2017

A very useful and informative starting course for practicing engineer like myself. I would really like to thank Dr. James Shackelford and UC Davis course team.

por SUBHA

Jun 14, 2020

Clear study Stress- strain curve, Arrhenius law, Defects, fatigues, Dislocations, phase diagrams, Semiconductors are clearly & graphically explained. Thank you

por Raguraman K

Feb 22, 2019

A very concise course covering the essential concepts of materials science beautifully explained. I like the way Professor James negotiates through the topics.

por Hanan A

Jan 04, 2017

I loved this course, it was light and educational. The instructor makes complex ideas simple, interesting, and relevant. I highly recommend this to engineers

por Beatriz S

Jun 05, 2019

great course!!! the professor is very good explaining concepts and extrapolating this information into practical applications in the laboratory experiments

por Juan T

Nov 14, 2016

Exceptionally beneficial to the fundamental principles of engineering. I highly recommend taking this course as it is informative and simple to understand.

por Meetkumar J P

Apr 04, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on material science.It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of California,Davis and coursera.

por Lavanya S

Jun 06, 2020

The short lectures are very crisp yet give the complete picture of the concepts. This course stands as a "must take refresher" for Material Science area.

por Shantanu D D

Oct 22, 2019

It was best to learn from other professors and their teaching techniques are also best. Like to learn more. This was my first online course. Keep it up.

por Prathamesh P K

Apr 25, 2020

The course was really good. Instructor James Shackelford ellaborated the course content really well. The videos were short, self-explanatory and nice.

por JACOB O O

Aug 08, 2018

This is one of the best course I have taken on Material Science! Down to earth explanatory, indeed every Engineer should know these basics. Thank you.

por Fabian P

Mar 05, 2018

Excellent introductory course! Full of interesting topics that would lead you to investigate further into this topic. Thanks Professor Shackelford!

por Musharraf R S

May 10, 2020

A very good course to take up there are many things to learn.

Most importantly remember:

"Structure leads to properties"

by our Great Professor James

por Luis N H G

Dec 01, 2018

Es un gran curso, con saberes teóricos prácticos, de gran contenido y fácil apreciación para las aspiraciones de un futuro ingeniero enhorabuena!

por Cyril J

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course to remember the basic things that a engineer should remember especially mechanical engineers. Thank you for making this course.

por Azahar T P

May 11, 2020

It was wonderful and very well explained about each and every crux of material science. and got practical understanding of material engineering

por Swapnil N

Jun 22, 2020

Very good course and personally I am looking forward for more deeper metallurgy courses from same speaker..He is too good..Thank you Coursera.

por YEKAMBARAM

Feb 04, 2020

This gives all the information required for understanding material science course for mechanical engineers. Thank you for offering the course.

por Dean A A

Jun 23, 2017

Professor Shackelford has good and clear explanation about this course. Outstanding in presentation delivery. Please keep posting new course.

por Md. I M

Jun 16, 2020

Wonderful course ever for me including all over the engineering students to know these engineering materials to apply their future prospect.

por Harshit S

Mar 18, 2019

The course emphasizes on the basic principles of Material Sciences. Explains with great real-life examples which are very thought-provoking.