Chevron Left
Voltar para Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Preparing to Manage Human Resources da instituição Universidade de MinnesotaUniversidade de Minnesota

4.8
estrelas
2,551 classificações
661 avaliações

Sobre o curso

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Melhores avaliações

MG

Mar 21, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

MV

Jan 15, 2019

This course has an outstanding wealth of information for new people entering the Human Resources arena. I also recommend it to others that want to brush up on knowledge and skills of the HR industry.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Preparing to Manage Human Resources

por Reginald N N

Oct 28, 2017

I really enjoyed this foundation class. It provide me with a deeper understand of human resources beyond just transactional duties. Human Resources is a key component in the life of an organization.

por woody l

Feb 06, 2019

I learned a lot from professor Budd! An excellent instructor and the whole team covering the HR Management Specialization really!! I love the fact that you can go at your own pace. They managed to get all the goods in the 5 courses. I'm starting course #4 now and I get more excited as I go because the info provided is so useful.

por Kristine R

Feb 18, 2019

The course was really useful, entertaining and very well made course. Easy to learn and understand. Thank you Mr. Budd, I did enjoy it!

por Pavla H

Feb 15, 2019

I enjoyed the format as well as well as content. Thank you.

por Vikramjeet S

Feb 09, 2019

Excellent Course

por Ahmed A S

Feb 07, 2019

Great course

por PALAVALA A

Feb 15, 2019

Good course

por SONI T

Feb 10, 2019

Nice course

por LM

Oct 28, 2019

This is an excellent course!

I had no prior knowledge on, nor experience in HR. So, this course served to eradicate my previous misconceptions. I learned more than I expected to; the lessons are packed with extensive information, and the videos are interesting, clear, and sometimes interactive. I will recommend this course to anyone.

You won't regret taking it!

por Gloribeth S

Oct 09, 2018

So far this course has been very informative and is exactly what I need to get my mind ready for a new career in human resources and understanding what human resource really means in the workplace.

por Mario L V

Jan 15, 2019

This course has an outstanding wealth of information for new people entering the Human Resources arena. I also recommend it to others that want to brush up on knowledge and skills of the HR industry.

por Muhammad W K

Nov 07, 2018

Good for people who want to start their career as a manager. This course will give you basics of human resource management.

por omnia i m

Feb 03, 2019

Thanks a lot for your effort with us

por Carla D

Jun 07, 2017

It's a good introduction to managing Human Resources. I think it covers enough material for you to really learn more about what it takes to manage, the different perspectives and approaches related to management, a bit of history of where all these thoughts came from. One thing, though, that I believe can be improved on is having the professor be a little bit more interactive in the videos. In some of them, it seemed like he was just reading off a prompt and I found it a little difficult to internalize what he was saying and ended up just reading and taking notes from the transcript. But aside from that, this was a course I thoroughly enjoyed and would advise anyone interested in HR management to take.

por lupo

Aug 27, 2017

Very useful to step into the HR management practice. It provides a foundation to understanding the complexity of HR management strategies and managerial styles. The lessons are quite short but dense and challenging. While a transcript of the videos is always available, I found extremely useful to take my own notes while listening to the videos, stopping and restarting the video as required. and even revisiting previous lectures to establish the necessary connections among notions, where necessary. Some lectures are indeed quite dense and content intricate, but that challenges your learning process.

por Ananya L

Sep 18, 2017

The course helped me gain the basic understanding of Human Resources. I did have a course in my undergraduate studies in India but this online course was a different experience. Prof. John Budd explained concepts in a simple and easy-to-understand way.

The video sessions of HR executive managers talking gave a real-world exposure. If the course has at least one session where students can interact with the professor John Budd would be good.

por MIAWAWANA G F

Mar 24, 2018

super ce cours avec des exemples concrêts et surtout adaptés aux besoins actuels des enteprises.

Partout, les entreprises souffrent d’une pénurie de main-d’œuvre compétente et qualifiée. Dans ce contexte, tous parlent de la nécessité de trouver le talent, de l’acquérir, de le développer, de le retenir et de le gérer, multipliant les stratégies pour garder ces effectifs précieux.

La situation globale peut s’avérer paradoxale : d’un côté, du chômage à grande échelle, de l’autre, une abondance d’opportunités d’emploi. Comment expliquer une telle situation? Parce que plusieurs de ces emplois exigent des compétences particulières, et que l’inadéquation entre le travail disponible et le travail spécialisé s’accroît. Comment alors conserver ses acquis en matière de ressources humaines? telles sont les questions traitées et comprises dans ce cours !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

por NGUESSAN A L H

Apr 21, 2019

Je suis très heureux d'avoir pris part à cette formation qui a apporté un éclaircissement à la notion de gestion des ressources humaines que que j'appréhendais difficilement et que je limitais au recrutement, à l'encadrement et aux mutations. Je croyais même qu'un bon manager des ressources humaines était celui qui parvenait à aider la direction générale à réduire la masse salariale et étouffer toute éventualité de revendications syndicales avec des primes circonstancielles. Je comprends aujourd'hui que savoir motiver les employés de façon intrinsèque peut être plus bénéfique que juste négocier les primes et autres motivations pécuniaires.

Je comprends aussi l'impact ambivalent des normes sociales qui régissent l'emploi.

Thanks a lot, Dear Professor.

por Isabel M

Apr 06, 2016

A very enjoyable course: not as easy as the subject would let you think. It is a real preparation in the sense that you get an intensive crash course on basics of HR philosophy/history/trends and what's to be expected from a manager.

The instructor really made an effort to render the course into a MOOC format. Each course is well documented, his speeches are clear and each sentence has been carefully selected. He summarizes a lot and makes an extra effort to make us understand how each subject is connected to the other. I found him a great pedagog.

As for quizzes, you need to understand the subject and not just memorize.

Very entertaining. I sure will watch it again!

por Saikat G

Aug 14, 2019

A very point to point discussion on the concept of work, why do people basically feel the need to work, assumptions and insights involved, need to manage human resources and alternative mechanisms involved in the management of those vital resources so as to achieve organisational goals in a strategic and effective manner.

A big thank you and heartfelt gratitude to Prof John W Budd for his invaluable teachings in this course especially his excellent insight on the thought of work and its various dimensions involved.

por Nguyen T T N

Sep 14, 2017

The course is well structure and easy to understand. Each lesson is solid and straight to the important points which learners should know. Besides, it helps to remind the knowledge through connecting the previous with the current video. Its questions are also reasonable and helpful.

To make the lesson more realistic, it connects with HR professional and create chances for students to listen to their view.

In the end, I would like to recommend this course to anyone who has interests in HR.

por Sucheta C

Aug 08, 2019

I feel that this course is an absolute commendable course as an basics to know what HR is all about. It can basically give an bird's eye view on how things work in an organization both from the worker's and the HR manager's side. By going through this course you'll realize how vast and dynamic this field is. I would definitely recommend this course to all the beginners like me who aspire to become HR as this would act as an introductory foundation class for your higher studies.

por Shivam C

Oct 27, 2017

Dear Professor John Budd, thank you very much for this excellent course indeed! It is really interesting and very helpful. It helps me to improve my knowledge. Basically I am from mathematics background. This course contains all basics of HRM which is good for those students who are from different backgrounds This course provide interesting overview in very practical way . I would recommend this course to my colleagues who are interested in HRM.

por Luis R R

Jun 20, 2017

Always good to have a nice and professional training before climbing the ladder of success. I consider myself very lucky having the opportunity of learning from the rename Carson School of Management. The content of the course is generally focused on the daily grind of the Human Resources department. If you're thinking to change your career or perhaps to improve your skills as a manager this is where you should start

por IsmaelTahirou

Sep 09, 2016

I found this course very interested since it covers some important tools for managing people through quiz, and some external HR people are being interviewed during the course session, where we can learn from them what they experienced as HR managers, one more thing is, regarding the peer assignment which helped me too, I would probably advise my friends to take this course, reason why I gave you 5 stars...