Chevron Left
Voltar para Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Preparing to Manage Human Resources da instituição Universidade de MinnesotaUniversidade de Minnesota

4.8
estrelas
5,185 classificações
1,435 avaliações

Sobre o curso

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Melhores avaliações

SH

Sep 01, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

MG

Mar 21, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

Filtrar por:

1251 — 1275 de 1,421 Avaliações para o Preparing to Manage Human Resources

por Jean A

Feb 07, 2020

Great course, with a lot of information packed into a short course. Well worth it and the time spent on the course kept me active and engaged. Professor Budd is great, with his humour, videos, illustrations and readings from his blog all adding to a great learning opportunity.

por Alyssa T

May 12, 2020

I found this to be a very helpful course. At times, it was a bit cut and dry, but that might be the nature of the material. Dr. Budd is hilarious and clearly passionate about HR! I appreciated how he brought in HR leaders from the private sector to speak to their experiences.

por Erika S

Feb 24, 2019

A great foundational course to set you up for more specific topics. A lot of interaction through discussion prompts and peer-review assignments. Videos have moments of disjointedness, but easily to look past (sorry Mr Budd!). Very excited for this specialization program!

por Amina B

Sep 22, 2020

The lecturer was very detailed and seemed to have a broad knowledge of the topic, he was able to merge the past and present to offer excellent and meaningful examples to the subject matter. I definitely recommend the course for managers or aspiring managers.

por Frank

Aug 19, 2019

A well structured course which lays the foundation for further study. The insight provided and the presentation style were appropriate and well delivered.

However while understandable the excessive focus on the USA perspective this was not a helpful aspect.

por SUMIT B

Jul 10, 2020

this course is very helpful.I learned about what drives the employees at work and how to motivate them as people managers.this caught how to be become good people managers.i am very thankful to faculty and others who made this course possible.

por sanchita

Jul 08, 2020

A great course that developed my understanding of HR .The role of Hr in any organization and their responsibilities. Loved the way taught with so much fun and humor. This course is very beneficial for people thinking to pursue a career in HR

por Muhammad M H

Jun 16, 2020

I've learned so many fundamental HR-related things from this course. Its kinda recall type course for those who completed their graduation concentration in HRM. Thanks, Coursera and the University of Minnesota.

por Alexey S

Jan 08, 2018

Everything was just excellent!! I would be looking forward to have more additional reading tasks that that help see plactical applications of theoretical material. Thank you very much for a great course!

por Nagaraj V

Jun 05, 2020

Great course. I found it to have an excellent pedagogical structure with well researched material and relevant, detailed examples for each concept! The pace of the course could have been tightened a bit.

por Николай Б

Jul 01, 2017

Interesting but very academic and generalistic course. You should have it before the other courses of specialization but keep going becouse it's very hard to apply this course at work by it self.

por Zara-Asham A D

Jul 10, 2020

Il manque juste une vision du management des ressources humaines basée sur un style plus global voire mondial. Par exemple par continent, pourquoi pas ou par système (francophone vs anglophone).

por Alexander J

Aug 25, 2020

Overall, it's good. A little piece of advice from me, please set some standards for people who review the assignment to put their comments so then it could be a good review for the reviewer.

por Victoria S

Feb 20, 2017

A lot of very useful skills to be applied in the workplace. A wide scope of HR responsibilities and examples to achieve them.

Only issue I had was the inconsistency of grading from peers.

por Shukla A N

Aug 16, 2018

Course is good. Gives nice theoretical insights. Giving 4 star as I was expecting to learn some corporate / consultant framework and dashboards and actual applicability of the concepts.

por Kayla F

Nov 05, 2019

I personally struggled with the U.S Laws because it didn't include my country so I didn't find it relevant but either way it's good to have insight on what happens in other countries

por Hagar H

May 17, 2020

this course helps me a lot in knowing about peoples management , i thought HR is only about hiring and recruiting employees but in this course i learned that it more more than that

por Konstantina T

Jun 02, 2018

very helpful course and the teacher was very clear. if I can find a drawback, this will be the fact that most of the course is related with the US laws and regulatuions.

por Keith E

Aug 06, 2020

Overall the course is informative. I understand that this is an online course, but the videos can be a little overwhelming at times. I would recommend this course.

por abiodun o

Jul 18, 2017

very very informative and the facilitator really made it look simple. i appreciate this opportunity to learn something new, it is of great value to my knowledge base

por Sandy s f D b

Sep 04, 2020

i really recommend this course for any one who want to know about the basics of human resources management ..Dr. john really have a good way in teaching ..go on !!

por Ricardo J O

Feb 18, 2016

Overall good course. I would appreciate if the slides could've been provided. Also some external resources to further study of the topics covered would add value.

por AlexU

Oct 15, 2017

Very good introduction to the topic. During the line drawing descriptions, it might have been good to incorporate even more discussion on each specific topic.

por Shaghayegh S

May 01, 2020

It was an eye-opening course to determine whether I like to consider HR as my own career or learn the basics so that I become good at managing people.

por Sakshi M

Jun 17, 2020

Great Course for understanding context. The very basics of what work is and why people work helps you t get perspective to different sets of member