Chevron Left
Voltar para Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Preparing to Manage Human Resources da instituição Universidade de MinnesotaUniversidade de Minnesota

4.8
estrelas
4,161 classificações
1,150 avaliações

Sobre o curso

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Melhores avaliações

MG

Mar 21, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

MV

Jan 15, 2019

This course has an outstanding wealth of information for new people entering the Human Resources arena. I also recommend it to others that want to brush up on knowledge and skills of the HR industry.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 1,142 Avaliações para o Preparing to Manage Human Resources

por Hayley K

Jun 11, 2020

Top notch learning experience with super in-depth videos on HR management... really liked the professor and his easy to follow style. I learned so much and am grateful to start my HR journey here at Coursera with University of Minnesota! Can’t wait to get stuck into the next course in this specialization.

por Felis H

Mar 10, 2020

This is absolutely a great and useful course,I learn so much from this course, and it did guide you the right way of thinking and managing situation and courses are so fun, it is not only about the academic lessons but also with experience sharing from the experts from HR filed.I would recommend it.

por ADEWARA B O

Feb 08, 2018

Indeed, this is an interesting programme and I must confess that I really enjoy my time in studying these courses.

I want to thank you so much the Management of this Institution for this great opportunity to be part of this programme. Again, thank you and I want to say that Coursera is the best!

por Andy Y

Aug 02, 2017

I have worked in HR technology for the last 4 years and found this course to be really helpful in understanding the challenges and opportunities around HR. I'm able to apply what I learned in this course to better understand HR professionals and what their day-to-day responsibilities are.

por Meenakshi T

Jul 07, 2019

This course has helped me in various forms. I would like to thank professor Budd and Coursera for giving us so much of knowledge with seamless efforts. I would recommend this course to all those who are aiming to have a career in HR or want to have the right knowledge about this domain.

por ABED A K

Nov 07, 2019

It had given me clear guidance of how and different styles of leader ship, and many aspects. Almost 80 % of the portions that I learned are very new to me and helped to gain vast practical knowledge.Thanks to all who made me get reached to this course get reached and get completed.

por Ihab M

Jan 09, 2019

The content is well written and the videos are very engaging. I did enjoy the time spent while grasping the knowledge at the same time. The Mad Lid exercise was hilarious i am going to use if in all my coming training sessions. I enjoyed the reading assignments from Dr. John blog.

por Kristina T

Apr 19, 2020

Great course! Everything is well explained even for not native language speakers. However would be great to have some written notes which not native language speakers could download and make their translation on them. Sometimes I felt like I'm learning English :) but its great!

por Rasajna S

Oct 18, 2019

From this course I really learned how to manage people strategically.This course showed me different ways of managing and controlling things. Mentors helped me to think out of the box.And thanks to my peers who reviewed my assignment. Will meet in next course.

Thanks a lot

por Christopher K

Oct 18, 2017

This was a very thorough and insightful introduction to the world of HR. The professor does a good job of explaining ideas and concepts in detail. He also does a good job of keeping things fresh with the use of useful examples drawn from art, business examples and charts.

por Odette M A

Jun 10, 2020

It's quite hard but when they explain from the module, they explain clearly so that I can easily understand it, I've learned a lot of here in this course, especially when it comes how to manage people, how to be a good leader to your followers, and be mindful HR manager.

por Kaanchi D

Apr 11, 2020

It is a well-curated course that gives you the gist of HR management. I loved how Professor had intense knowledge of HR history, Norms and related it with real-life examples. I enjoyed all Lessons and videos thoroughly and recommend it for anyone who is interested in HR.

por Melissa J M

Sep 21, 2019

I have learned a lot during this class. However, what i wanted the most is to have better knowledge of the technical part of professional in Human Resources Office. Hope i will get more information related to what i expected in the next 4 courses. Best Regards, mjm

por Josh G

Mar 06, 2019

So far I have to say it's very informative, very interesting and best of all it's actually useful. I am currently in a position where I am looking to move further into HR from a more recruitment based role and this course is fantastic in setting the foundations for me.

por Abubakar S

Jun 27, 2020

Amazing. Learnt a lot of new things especially the role of psychology and sociology other than economics in the dealing with human relations. Also, for any role in HR, you must understand business first; like how does your organisation make money and all. Great stuff!

por Ravaughn C

Feb 14, 2020

The course was absolutely exceptional. I am so happy I got a chance to take part in this awesome program. I was able to relate to the material and identify areas within my professional life where the different managerial styles came out either by myself or my managers

por Xudong C

Apr 29, 2020

Very good course. I've been working in HR specific field for many years. This course helps me recalled fundamental requirement to be a people manager is real understanding their employees' needs. And then you can use the different kinds of HR tools to motivate them.

por Ruvan R

May 18, 2020

The course is well designed and focused. I enjoyed the material presented in the form of videos as well as tests. Many thanks for the opportunity to journey with you to explore aspects of dealing with people in a professional way with who I interact on daily basis.

por Ingrid C

Jul 08, 2019

Great Content. I learned a lot. Instructor was knowledgeable and used humor which was awesome. Kept me engaged. Feel I gained a nice foundation to move forward with rest of Specialization and feel confident this education will support me in my career transition.

por Nevena A

Dec 17, 2019

Professor Budd's course is very relevant, adjusted for complete beginners in this field, however, showing some good practices and giving valuable information for professionals as well. It has definitely been a great incentive to continue with this specialization.

por Malika Y

Jun 19, 2020

This course was really helpful to understand that I didn't have enough knowladge of managing hr. But the course help me to gain better understanding of the process and encouraged me to study more to become the best hr manager in the future. Thank you so much!

por Vijaya L A

Jun 02, 2020

This course has been well designed to understand the concepts of HR and the reading exercises are good sync with the current scenarios. Peer rated assignments give you the opportunity to get different perspectives across different industries across the globe.

por Daniel C

Jun 19, 2020

Professor Budd was fantastic, I hope the other professors in this specialization are as great as he was at explaining subjects while keeping a great pace for the course which is very important in online courses. I'm looking forward to continuing this course.

por A. M R

May 09, 2020

This online course has taught me many things about hr management. It was very beneficial and interesting. This course has taught me about hr management, the real motive behind every person and goal of the person and how to become a perfect hr manager.

por Shams S

May 07, 2020

It was a great opportunity for me to take this course! The Professor encouraged me to learn more about the HRM field. I wish there would more courses with this Professor related to human resources sphere. Thank you so much for excellent learning way!