Chevron Left
Voltar para Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Preparing to Manage Human Resources da instituição Universidade de MinnesotaUniversidade de Minnesota

4.8
estrelas
5,802 classificações
1,615 avaliações

Sobre o curso

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Melhores avaliações

SH
31 de Ago de 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

MG
20 de Mar de 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 1,597 Avaliações para o Preparing to Manage Human Resources

por Pimchat P

28 de Out de 2020

This course is really useful for any managers who would like to know how to efficiently manage their teams or employees. It’s also useful for the one who would like to know the meaning of HR, how HR people work, the process behind the scene, and other things that one needs to know about HR.

After I finished this course, I realized that HR is a lot more than I thought and it’s really interesting. I can also extent my knowledge and continue searching for more resources and studying by myself easier since I’ve got all the basic knowledge from this course.

por Melissa P

28 de Out de 2020

This course was harder than I had anticipated. I learned a lot and definitely could have benefitted from a vocabulary outline/key.

por Yue P

9 de Mar de 2020

First of all, I am so sorry I have to give a one-star review for this Human Resources lesson. Those lecturers are experts in the HR field, their lectures are clear and helpful. It is such a pleasure to learn from their lectures.

The reason why I give a one-star rate is I believe Coursera's "peer review" assignment procedure is really problematic. "Discussion section" is supposed to be a place that all student share their ideas and experiences, however, it is filled with "Please review my assignment and I will review back with the highest marks" now. I totally understand why this happened now, due to the "peer review" procedure.

For me, I have an assignment requires a minimum of 80% to pass the whole specialization. My first attempt got 77% and I thought "Sure, there is definitely some improvement I can make". My second attempt got 79% and guess what? I canceled the subscription and find a real book and some videos from youtube. I believe I can learn from CPHR's NKE materials as well. I just don't understand why I need my classmate's review, especially some of them don't give a shit about assignment quality, to pass the course.

Overall, the one-star review is targeted to the problematic "peer review" assignment rather than those respectful lectures.

por W A A I M M S N L

31 de Out de 2020

It is a good learning ...what I did to have a beter comprehension I rewrite all the subject matter on papers sothat they may help me oneday to remind my lectures at works. I got to know about the people managing in addition, people are the most valuble thing on earth to deal with. All the things take place between humanbeings throughout this human living circle so therefore this coirse values not only for when we deal with workers in a organisation but in our lives also this can be applicable. At last I want to thank for your encoragous teaching and for the cultivation you as a teacher who plant a tree ( specific knowledge) in me. So now it is my turn to harvest it. Thank you very much.

por Apurva H N

24 de Ago de 2020

This is a best course for someone who wants to learn what HR is about or explore the field. The course gives flavor of all the different areas in HR in a very easy to understand way. There are frequent quiz and assignments which actually helps to check our understanding a lot. The best part was indeed the peer graded assignments, which encourages to think creatively and helps to connect the theory into practical application. Plus, it allows to read responses by other students, which gives so many new perspectives.

por K V

23 de Nov de 2020

Professor Budd is definitely a fun teacher. Everything is explained in detail without that much nonsense talk. Being someone who likes taking down notes, I actually filled up a whole notebook with all the awesome information he has taught. I definitely have a better understanding of what HR does now. I took his course so I can manage people better, and will definitely finish and do all the other courses under HR for People Managers Specialization, so I will be a better leader and manager.

por Sucheta C

7 de Ago de 2019

I feel that this course is an absolute commendable course as an basics to know what HR is all about. It can basically give an bird's eye view on how things work in an organization both from the worker's and the HR manager's side. By going through this course you'll realize how vast and dynamic this field is. I would definitely recommend this course to all the beginners like me who aspire to become HR as this would act as an introductory foundation class for your higher studies.

por ONI, T O

16 de Set de 2020

I am ONI, Thomas Olatunde a Nigerian and a Postgraduate Degree holder working in one Private University in Nigeria. The course Preparing to Manage Human Resources is a course that is loaded and contribute an educative impact to the live of learners. I really benefited from the course as it exposes me to many things which I dont know from onset. The facilitators of the course really did an impactful knowledge and I am grateful to them all.

Thank you.

por Shivam C

26 de Out de 2017

Dear Professor John Budd, thank you very much for this excellent course indeed! It is really interesting and very helpful. It helps me to improve my knowledge. Basically I am from mathematics background. This course contains all basics of HRM which is good for those students who are from different backgrounds This course provide interesting overview in very practical way . I would recommend this course to my colleagues who are interested in HRM.

por Win W S

9 de Nov de 2020

I am not native speaker , so to learn with English I need more time. And would like to request to get the hand out and video what I have learnt because some lesson I forgot to download and I need to study again and read again. It will be great if I could get this. Thank you so much Coursera team for your course and teacher Mr.... . I really appreciate. Hope I could join next course with discount price.

por Sandra V P

30 de Out de 2019

Sandra Viviana Paiz Argentina

Es un curso de mucha importancia, que brinda una excelente preparación y despierta un gran interés para seguir incursionando en nuevas experiencias. Hubo mucho respeto entre compañeros, sus opiniones fueron muy valiosas, para poder llegar al final. Me siento muy feliz y agradecida a Coursera por haberme dado esta posibilidad.

por Anton M

1 de Nov de 2018

Great material. Detailed videos. The tests and reading really reflect on the materials given to us thru out the lessons. And the peer graded assignments felt great because there are actual others that are also interested in the same activities as this course and helped me understand more about their views as much as a more in dept understanding of mine.

por Daniel R

6 de Jun de 2020

I thought this was a very informative, well-organized and useful course. I liked the way outside learning options were suggested as well. As a newbie to HR and Business in general, this was a perfect starting place for me. I was able to get the lay of the land and start to think about how my own experience could transfer into this realm.

por KAMMARI P

28 de Jul de 2020

I've learnt many new skills from this course

1.Understanding alternative approaches to managing human resources and appreciating the diversity of factors that motivate workers.

2.Applying best practices for hiring and rewarding employees, and for managing employee performance

3. Avoiding key mistakes in (mis)managing human resources

por Donna M C

2 de Set de 2017

This course provide a comprehensive introductory overview on the basics of HRM. I very informative and started to apply the lessons learned right away. As a non-HR manager the course helped to be better understand the driving principals of HR and various theories upon which the discipline is built. I highly recommend this course.

por Suman B

2 de Ago de 2017

Loved the course. It kept me engaged every week with so many things to take away. Highly informative and interactive. The practice quiz and the peer assignment was one of my favorite thing about this course. Helped to understand better. Thanks again sir. It was great. Looking forward to the other courses. cannot wait to enroll.

por Joyce C T

26 de Jun de 2020

Me encanto el curso, muy detallada la información, muy buena la didáctica del profesor John Budd, excelente los consejos prácticos y los casos de testimonios de profesionales del área. Sus explicaciones te invitan a reflexionar y hacer lo correcto al gestionar los HR. Muchas gracias por sus enseñanzas profesor John! Un abrazo!

por Kelemedi K L

27 de Mai de 2017

This is a course that will take you to the next level in the area of managing human resourse. You will be so glad to have done this course like me. It gave me a sence of complition understanding what MHR is all about. I can now boldly manage others well, undertanding worker's needs and how to help them work as great employees.

por SOWMYA M R

27 de Jul de 2020

Excellent and very insightful course .Strtuctred very thoughtfully for freshers & experienced professional too. The university with Prof. John W.Budd has done a awesome team work !!!! Hats off for the indepth knowledge Professor and his love /affection towards the community of HR Professional is really admiring. Thank you ,

por Obi G J

1 de Jul de 2020

The Professor in-charge of this course blended perfectly, in a summary pattern, all aspects of Human Resource Management. Basically, I learnt that a great business is nothing without highly managed humans and vis-versa. It was a revealing session, I must say, all throughout the course. I'm happy to be part of this journey.

por KHAREN L V A

21 de Mar de 2018

You won't regret investing your time in preparing to manage human resources (even if you are already in senior post in HR field). It is very helpful and informative. I really appreciate Mr. John Budd, it was a very good, interactive, reflective class. The assignments and projects are challenging and everyone can relate.

por Sourav G

24 de Jun de 2020

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, Learnt a lot about HR strategies, all the modules are very helpful. John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos which makes the learning more interesting.

por Manuel O H L

20 de Nov de 2020

This was a wonderful course, the knowledge imparted brought a broader view of the HR management that wasn´t taught in my career. The way John explained each topic was really clear and direct, and the information given by the managers who were interviewed, the recommendations and advises are really valuable.

por Hayley K

10 de Jun de 2020

Top notch learning experience with super in-depth videos on HR management... really liked the professor and his easy to follow style. I learned so much and am grateful to start my HR journey here at Coursera with University of Minnesota! Can’t wait to get stuck into the next course in this specialization.

por Felis H

9 de Mar de 2020

This is absolutely a great and useful course,I learn so much from this course, and it did guide you the right way of thinking and managing situation and courses are so fun, it is not only about the academic lessons but also with experience sharing from the experts from HR filed.I would recommend it.