Chevron Left
Voltar para Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.8
estrelas
1,372 classificações
433 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

Melhores avaliações

HP

Jun 16, 2020

During this time where the whole world is going trough a very rough time,it is very imp for the people to take care of their mental health and thanks to this course!It has taught me lot many things.

MC

Jul 02, 2020

The course is very helpful and I learned a lot! Professor Joordens explained each topic very well and relates it to simple scenarios that helped me understand the context more. Thank you very much!

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 461 Avaliações para o Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

por Yuva P J

Jun 11, 2020

Thank you sir, for your humbleness of feeling for teach us in good way. I have learned about how to control my mind or any distraction. Thank for giving this great platform to us !!!

por Alexandros Z

Apr 21, 2020

Very informative course. I found the guidance really helpful, and I suggest this course to everyone who is trying to maintain balance in his life during this adverse time.

por Bill P

May 06, 2020

Dr. Joordens takes a relaxed approach to presenting some fundamental background on anxiety and taking control, particularly during these stressful times of COVID-19.

por MALEEWAN T

Jun 03, 2020

This course is very help me and show how can I manage my mind during this hard time. I really love the way that Prof. show us how easy to be relax! Thank you very much for this amazing course.

por Dr T K K

Jun 27, 2020

This course is very interesting and informative one. Any body can take this course within short duration. Surely this course is very useful to everyone.

Thank you cordinator and instrucor

por Anupama R

Jun 17, 2020

the professor successfully conveyed his point accross .and frankly speaking i didnt expect the class to be so fun,but i was surprised to find myself enjoy learning with the professor .

por Abigail G

May 26, 2020

The Course is timely and useful. Lessons are direct, understandable and relevant.

However, i have already completed the course since yesterday but the status remains “in progress”

por MANAN S

Jun 11, 2020

NIcely done sir. It was addictive. I have learnt a lot of theory but this was more like theroy into practical, how can we practically deal with things, which I loved the most.

por Rhea J V

Jun 09, 2020

Very informative and helpful now that we are facing this pandemic.. It helps in our emotional outlook and learned that social interaction is important at this time of crisis

por Sundar B P

Jun 26, 2020

This really is a great course, guides you subtly through societal demographics, factors that influence you, overthinking, holding on to singular thoughts which negatively increase anxiousness due to over consumption of information and how to deal with these things by counter acting, balancing and teaching ourselves to practice mental and physical relaxation techniques also by distracting thoughts are the key features and the main aim of this course, it doesn't only help you through times like these but also in regular day to day life post the current scenario (physical isolation from social beings due to Corona Virus).

por Aakansha S

Jun 23, 2020

During this pandemic, most of the people are suffering from the psychological issues or may be some kind of depression. This lecture on "Mind Control: Managing your mental health during COVID-19" can help a lot to identify your actual issues and there are many ways which are described here so that we can also find some kind of escape to deal with this. There are so many interesting ways such as painting, singing, dancing and many more to indulge your mind into different kind of activities so that we can take care of our mental health because mind is also the art of our body and also needed to treat well.

por Barbara J

Jul 03, 2020

Excellent course! From this course I am taking away a lot of helpful information and points how to better deal with the anxiety COVUD-19 has brought into my life and the life of everyone around me. It made me understand better why I/others feel so extremely stressed and what options there are to deal with the situation in order to stay healthy. Steve even opened my eyes that I/everyone can get something positive out of this extrem situation. Thank you! What an excellent class and teacher! I can definitely recommend this course and will continue using COURSERA for my personal growth. Thank you!

por Mimi G

Jun 14, 2020

I found this course to be very helpful with respect to acknowledging what one may to feeling during this pandemic, to the whys one may be feeling the way they are to how one can can gain some feelings of control through simple specific daily actions. As the parent of a teenager heading off to university studies this September, I really appreciated the concise delivery of relevant material that is easily explained to others (ie. that teenager). I found this course, the manner it was delivered and the take aways very positive, helpful and comforting. Thank you Professor!

por SAIMA E

Jun 28, 2020

This course is really very informative and practical in nature. I am really impressed by Professor Steve Joordens style of teaching. The course is very beneficial in all respects, For me as well for my family and others related to me. Please send me more list of professor Steves Joordens courses in Coursera. I want to learn more from him and practice it in life.

He is an excellent teacher.

Thank you professor Steves for sharing your knowledge with us.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards

Saima Ehsan

por Lerato M

Jun 27, 2020

this was a very helpful and skill asserting course that assisted me in being able to deal with the anxiety and depression caused by the pandemic , it really opened up ways to ensure i be able to manage isolation as well as helping those who are lonely and not social connected ..the idea is to connect, re-invest and re connect with people socially dispite physical distancing we are facing and making better things of the free time we have in hand and also keeping healthier and better .

por Dr M K

Jun 29, 2020

I enjoyed the course. Really involved in watching the videos and clearly understood each and every point. I always use the word physical distance from the beginning of COVID19 problem in India. This was emphasized by the speaker continuously. I was completely elated. I am insisting on my friends and students use the words physical distance and social connectivity. I also follow it. Simply fantastic course, I have taken.

por Melwin M M

Jul 04, 2020

Managing your mental health is a relevant and apt course at this time of Covid pandemic. The relaxation techniques and the right understanding of physical isolation with social connectivity is beautifully explained. Reaching out to the vulnerable and learning new things will give a sense of fulfilment and purpose at this time of crisis. The disease will pass and we will be stronger together as humanity.

por ARYAMAN K

Jun 13, 2020

I undertook this course because I have always prioritized 'Mental Health' as an individual and in times like these where we are clueless on how to deal with our anxiety and vulnerability this course has been a blessing in disguise. Special thanks to Steve Joordens for making and curating this course in a simple and crisp manner!

por Naema I

Jun 21, 2020

Honestly, after sitting at home for two months in lockdown, I finally got myself to do something productive. This course was so helpful! I've been struggling with anxiety for years now and COVID just made things harder, but this definitely helps me cope. I'll be sure to pass on the information to family and friends. Thank you.

por JACEL C - R

Jun 14, 2020

Thank you Sir Dr.Steve for your humbleness of feeling for teach us in good way. Your expertise and casual way of approach that makes us very comfortable. Its like we have known you before.I have learned about how to control my mind or any distraction. This course is too good. Thank for giving this great platform to us!!

por MD F A

Jun 22, 2020

I believe the course is a perfect guide towards fighting with anxiety during this uncertain time. Well, we have always lived in a uncertain environment, so this is absolutely a perfect course for beginners to understand about the aspects of human psychology during uncertainty. Highly recommended to all age groups.

por Krista K

May 27, 2020

A great course with much take-away and useful tips and information. This (Covid) is unknown territory for everyone and I feel that the more we can put our minds and bodies at ease, the better we will be able to manage the stressors that are presented due to everything that is going on around us. Thank you!

por Haritha S

Jun 10, 2020

It was an awesome learning experience.I learnt a lot about anxiety management and time management during this period of isolation.Really helped me cope up with this crisis. I also realized the importance of social connections and learning new things and also carpe diem..thanks to the course instructor!!

por Kazi M H

Jun 24, 2020

A very nice way to gather some knowledge on The machinery underlying anxiety and how to control it, Managing anxiety by managing my environment and Understanding and managing the effects of isolation will help to manage our mental health during COVID-19. So i will recommend everyone to do this course.

por Heidi M

Jun 19, 2020

Thank you Professor Joordens! I've learned a lot, I definitely enjoyed the whole course. You kinda hit all those points especially the Isolation part (I live alone in an apartment away from my family so I can be close to work). Much appreciation and virtual hugs from the Philippines. Keep safe!