Chevron Left
Voltar para A Magia na Idade Média

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A Magia na Idade Média da instituição Universidade de Barcelona

4.6
estrelas
1,425 classificações
464 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

Melhores avaliações

BW
23 de Mar de 2018

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

NM
14 de Jul de 2020

This course was really thorough and interesting. I liked how it covered a range of religions and regions and I think it's great how there are interactive assignments which judge out writing.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 461 Avaliações para o A Magia na Idade Média

por Anant G

9 de Abr de 2020

A very different course ( from the usual technical development courses ) and I thank Coursera and Barcelona University to present it to the world

por Sasa K

14 de Jul de 2020

Very well prepared and organized course, this was education that is fun, I truthfully have enjoyed this course and am glad that I have taken it.

por Макс Т

30 de Nov de 2016

Absolutely great course! I like the system of work, the submissions, the wideos and the information. It helped me to understand all much better.

por Deleted A

29 de Nov de 2016

Great lecturers, interesting material, easy to understand. Good course! But some background in history is desirable for students, in my opinion.

por Emmanuel A S P

3 de Out de 2016

Excelente curso. Interesante y emocionante. Una experiencia invaluable. Algo para mejorar son las evaluaciones porque en ocasiones son confusas.

por teresa p c

30 de Nov de 2016

Un curso muy interesante sobre un tema que abre las puertas a conocimientos que no suelen fluir por la red con nivel académico.

Muchas gracias!

por Jessica R

15 de Mar de 2021

the course is quite interesting! for putting a punch... it's all in English and for non-practitioners it's more jaleous. I'll give you a 10!!!

por juan c b m

30 de Out de 2020

Una gran experiència que espero tornar a repetir amb algun altre curs de la Universitat de Barcelona, gràcies i espero estar aviat a Coursera

por Emma S

14 de Nov de 2019

So informative and fun to learn about how magic influenced and was incorporated into other religions and cultures. I truly loved this course!

por André M F

2 de Ago de 2020

Realmente gostei muito do curso. Tudo foi feito com muita seriedade e dedicação, e aprendi muitas coisas interessantes. Recomendo altamente!

por Thomas L

22 de Jul de 2017

Loved this introduction to the topic. No previous knowledge required. The MOOC necessarily only scratches the surface of this broad topic.

por Penelope R H

14 de Jun de 2018

This course was absolutely fascinating! I loved it and it was very interesting and enlightening ... I would love if you punch a part 2.

por Ekaterina G

29 de Mai de 2020

Extremely interesting course on a very unusual and specific subject! The instructors are wonderful and organized the course very well.

por Gustavo C J

26 de Jan de 2018

Very interesting and well done !!! What surprised me the most is the neutral point of view (something rare in this sort of matter) !!!

por Tara D

8 de Jul de 2020

I very much enjoyed this course it was very interesting and made you think about a lot of things that you may or may not have known.

por Haleigh B

5 de Fev de 2018

I had a wonderful time taking this course. I learned all kinds of interesting facts. The professors were engaging and knowledgeable.

por Martha H

15 de Mai de 2020

I absolutely loved this class! I'm a retired FBI agent and wanted to start taking classes to occupy my brain and I'm so glad I did!

por Jennifer N

10 de Jul de 2018

This course was fun, informative and much more challenging then I anticipated. I really enjoyed the curriculum and the professors.

por Kamilya S

31 de Mai de 2020

Excellent course, very engaging presentation - excellent mix of authors, sources, presenters! Very enjoyable & nicely structured.

por Faris K

12 de Nov de 2017

Really interesting course indeed. I'm also pleased to have gained a certificate from the University of Barcelona. Well done all!

por Adriana O

17 de Mar de 2021

Very interesting course; the facilitators were very knowledgeable and explained the content very clearly. Loved the music, too!

por Warren P

5 de Mar de 2019

Really interesting and colourful course. I particularly enjoyed the part about the influence of middle eastern magic on Europe.

por Angelina W

21 de Dez de 2016

An excellent class with great historical references. The written assignments really coalesce the information in the lectures.

por ZAMORA M M S

28 de Jun de 2020

Es un curso que me pareció sumamente interesante. Los docentes con gran conocimiento y expertis en los temas que presentaron.

por Kate S

11 de Dez de 2017

Excellent information and delivery--in fact, I went through it twice! One of the best courses on Coursera that I've taken!