Chevron Left
Voltar para A Magia na Idade Média

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A Magia na Idade Média da instituição Universidade de Barcelona

4.6
estrelas
1,436 classificações
466 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

Melhores avaliações

BW
23 de Mar de 2018

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

NM
14 de Jul de 2020

This course was really thorough and interesting. I liked how it covered a range of religions and regions and I think it's great how there are interactive assignments which judge out writing.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 463 Avaliações para o A Magia na Idade Média

por Kate S

11 de Dez de 2017

Excellent information and delivery--in fact, I went through it twice! One of the best courses on Coursera that I've taken!

por Deleted A

22 de Out de 2016

I love the instructors. They have so much information and teach in an enjoyable manner. I can't wait for the next course.

por Christian L

10 de Mai de 2020

A very interesting topic. I feel I have learned a lot from the relatively small time investment I put into the course.

por hatim h

22 de Dez de 2019

One of the most beautiful courses is the explanation is simple and easy, as the topics presented are very interesting

por Sarah H

12 de Set de 2019

An awesome, interesting course. I learned a lot, especially about what really happened with the Spanish Inquisition.

por Giuseppe C

29 de Jul de 2020

E' un Corso che riesce a delineare esaustivamente tutti gli aspetti fondamentali della Magia nell'Europa medievale.

por Sofia E

26 de Abr de 2020

Um curso bem estruturado, feito por profissionais excelentes... Fico feliz por ter escolhido ele, aprendi demais!!!

por Alyona S

12 de Mai de 2021

Great course! Its was a big pleasure to discover this rare topic on Coursera and dig into this world of old magic.

por Sandra C

16 de Abr de 2021

Very informative and exciting to learn about. The history component throughout many civilizations was impressive.

por Eren Y

7 de Jul de 2020

It's a very well informative course and really gives you an opportunity to look at today in a different window.

por Leandro A d S

13 de Mai de 2018

I loved it! Great course for someone that, like me, does not have a comprehensive understanding on the subject.

por Rena W

24 de Jan de 2017

This was an interesting course, not what I expected at all. I would recommend this class to anyone interested.

por Andrii K

20 de Ago de 2020

Very interisting course. I discovered a new knowledge about Middle Ages. Thanks authtors for this opportunity.

por Nathalie

11 de Abr de 2020

Super Interesting and full of information. Allows you to do the work at your own pace. Would highly recommend.

por Ricardo R

24 de Nov de 2016

I really liked it, an interesting subject with an easy way to learn.

I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons.

por Emily M

26 de Jun de 2017

Very well done course, very thought-provoking. I'd love to see follow ups with more in-depth information!

por Vladislav K

7 de Jun de 2017

Excellent course! Very interesting and completely scientific, what is most important. Thanks for teachers!

por Nevey B

5 de Fev de 2018

This is such a perfect course and exactly what I was looking for to add to my knowledge.

Thank you for it.

por Simone E G

12 de Dez de 2017

Excellent course. The professors do help us question our rigid mentality often guided by religious views.

por Linda R

30 de Set de 2021

E​xcellent topics and videos. It was so much fun to see the beautiful buildings in Barcelona. Thank you!

por Helen R

19 de Fev de 2018

Great course, very enjoyable. would be good to see more specialisation options available within courser.

por Myra B

31 de Jan de 2017

very well presented course, I leaned a lot of information about magic witchcraft and the inquisition.

por Marty D

8 de Dez de 2020

This was an interesting course. Well presented and very helpful in understanding history in context.

por Irene M

5 de Dez de 2020

Excellent course, it is packed with data and information that makes the course satisfying experience.

por Luca M

26 de Ago de 2019

Extremely interesting course. The topic is well explained and the material and lessons are excellent.