Chevron Left
Voltar para Love as a Force for Social Justice

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Love as a Force for Social Justice da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.7
estrelas
359 classificações

Sobre o curso

The objectives of this course are: -To introduce participants to different concepts of love, to empower them to be conscious of the power of love and the possibility of practicing it in everyday life, and to highlight in particular the idea of love as a force for social justice. -To communicate a sense of personal strength and empowerment by actively learning from each other and beginning to define how participants can apply their learning in service to society. This course will explore the concept of agape love (compassion/kindness) as a force for social justice and action and as the inspiration for service and the application of knowledge to positive social change. Biological, psychological, religious, and social perspectives of love will be discussed, drawing on the expertise of people from a variety of disciplines. During the six-week course, the following topics will be raised and discussed: kinds of love/defining love; non-violent communication; love and the biology of the brain; love as a basic concept of religious and ethical beliefs (e.g., Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Gandhian); love applied in action, and poetic expressions of love as a social force. This curriculum aims to foster a sense of the importance of love as a key phenomenon in creating community, connection, and functional societies among humans. Course materials will draw from a variety of sources. One of the goals of the class is to provide participants with some knowledge of the literature of love, and readings for the course are listed in the outline of the course on the pages that follow....

Melhores avaliações

AG

17 de jun de 2021

Excellent concepts, theoretical models and practical applications of social justice work in educational institutions, business and non-profit and health care settings. Anindita Ganguly, Ph.D.

KL

31 de out de 2019

I learned to find ways to look at how ordinary and mundane moments can be lived extraordinarily. This made me radically change my perspective on love and living life fully.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 126 Avaliações para o Love as a Force for Social Justice

por S. S H

18 de jul de 2022

This is one of the few serious academic studies on the topic of love, which is one of the most important topics we will practice during our lifetimes.

por Klaudia S

5 de set de 2021

It's an extremely interesting, informative and much needed course. I hope there'll be more similar courses in the future. Thank you very much!

por ELISABETH N

25 de ago de 2020

I truly enjoyed this course. It challenged me, touched me deeply, and taught me so much. I am grateful to all the professors and contributors.

por Robin I

23 de set de 2020

Wonderful course and great instructor. If everyone practiced what is taught her the world would be a wonderful place to live in general.

por Nigel K

4 de fev de 2018

I've learnt so much about life and myself through this course-- and it's not even done yet, I wish I could rate it higher than 5 stars.

por Andrealiz A

7 de jul de 2021

I​t's the class that EVERYONE should take! Truly a life-changing and mind-opening course. Highly recommend this class to any student!

por Kazi Z H

2 de out de 2020

I have learnt a lot about love and its force. It is very interesting course. The most interesting part is peer-graded assignments.

por Amin M a K a A M G

8 de mar de 2022

I really enjoyed this course and found that the instructor and the guest were very informative and kept me thoroughly engaged.

por Ava M N

19 de jun de 2020

Everyone should study this course to have a peaceful life and to affect their society , to experience justice and equality.

por Trisha L

2 de jan de 2018

Informative and amazing it is a perfect class for life period! i wish i could have everyone take this class so perfect

por J B

17 de fev de 2021

Dear Anne,

Thank you for sharing your desire for Love as a Force we can attain, in our environment and social justice.

por Jonathan W

28 de fev de 2018

Very much enjoyed this course. It was well done with great further reading and other resources. Glad I took it.

por LJ

21 de nov de 2021

I had a lot of fun taking this course. I enjoyed the videos, reflections and also reading my colleagues work.

por Dana H

2 de ago de 2021

I​t opened my eyes to a new definition of love and how I could enrich my life through simple acts of kindness.

por DeAnna

9 de jan de 2018

Great fun and supplement to all public health, gender, women's studies, men's studies, history courses

por Toktam T

19 de ago de 2020

I loved the whole process, it was very informative, simple but deep and very well done. Thank you!

por Jacqueline P

15 de jun de 2020

Wonderful course.Deep and thoughtul.Gave me a broad perspective on Agape Love and Love in general

por Ildeblete G M J

5 de jan de 2018

I'm like a lot this course, now I'm getting more learn for me and my thoughts. Thanks for all.

por Hua ( L

12 de ago de 2022

This course is helpful and useful, it is beneficial to each of us at all stages of our lives.

por Paula B

22 de jan de 2018

One of the most well prepared and relavant courses with direct application that I have taken.

por Peggy B

4 de nov de 2021

​i found the journey of this course rich, enlightening and heart-expanding. Thank you!

por Nora M

20 de mai de 2021

Really enjoyed this course and the professor seemed awesome in all of her videos!

por Frida G O C Z

10 de dez de 2020

A wonderful course to learn new ideas about how to make the world a better place.

por Morgan J

5 de out de 2020

Loved this course. I think it should be a required class as a general requisite.

por Sham S

1 de fev de 2022

Love is the most powerful tool to change this world for betterment of humanity.