Chevron Left
Voltar para Linear Regression in R for Public Health

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Linear Regression in R for Public Health da instituição Imperial College London

4.8
73 classificações
14 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Linear Regression in R for Public Health! Public Health has been defined as “the art and science of preventing disease, prolonging life and promoting health through the organized efforts of society”. Knowing what causes disease and what makes it worse are clearly vital parts of this. This requires the development of statistical models that describe how patient and environmental factors affect our chances of getting ill. This course will show you how to create such models from scratch, beginning with introducing you to the concept of correlation and linear regression before walking you through importing and examining your data, and then showing you how to fit models. Using the example of respiratory disease, these models will describe how patient and other factors affect outcomes such as lung function. Linear regression is one of a family of regression models, and the other courses in this series will cover two further members. Regression models have many things in common with each other, though the mathematical details differ. This course will show you how to prepare the data, assess how well the model fits the data, and test its underlying assumptions – vital tasks with any type of regression. You will use the free and versatile software package R, used by statisticians and data scientists in academia, governments and industry worldwide....

Melhores avaliações

MW

Oct 04, 2019

The course was really great. The instructor explained the things in a lucid manner. Also the reading materials were great. Thank you so much for this course

RM

Sep 22, 2019

Excellent course. We get a lot of hands on training in building regression models and crystal clear concepts.

Filtrar por:

1 — 14 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Linear Regression in R for Public Health

por William E

Jul 12, 2019

This course is excellent- if you want a solid understanding of the basics, this is as good as it gets. I would say it is most suited for somebody who wants a more conceptual rather than mathematical understanding of the subject, but its still has a good balance between the both approaches. The videos are very well presented, the lecturer is very professional and has clear and engaging style [not like most stats teachers ;) ]. My only difficulty was that I am already quite an experienced R user and the coding methods were quite different to my style, that's not a criticism really as there are numerous ways to remove the outer layer of a feline, as they say. There a decent number of typos and I was a little frustrated with some of the answers to the questions being wrong (I was convinced on a couple of occasions that I had it right and they didn't). I'm not the expert so they were almost certainly right it's just the explanation to the answer didn't really help me understand. Also for extra browny points it would great if the R code was formatted in a codey way in the reading lesson- like in stackoverflow. It kind of gets lost in the text. In summary if you are reading this chances are you want to know whether or not to do this course. DO IT The end

por Rashidul H

May 30, 2019

An excellent Coursera content provided from such a renowned faculty with so much organized and systematic instructions. I truly enjoyed the whole course to learn the concept and had ample opportunity with tasks to practice analysis skills with the provided example data. I would really recommend anyone to participate on this course. Best wishes to Imperial faculty for offering such a great course.

por Henrique A d S

Apr 13, 2019

Excelente

por Thomas J H

Mar 31, 2019

Excellent. Clear, succinct. Good examples.

por Anderson S

Jun 07, 2019

Excellent course

por Vivekananda D

Jun 21, 2019

Perhaps, the best linear regression course available online! Great job!

por Nimmi P

Jul 30, 2019

good one for model building in any stream

por Tommys J G G

Aug 15, 2019

Excellent course! Very hard in some aspects but very engaging and it provides students with deep knowledge of linear regression, epidemiology with R usage, and biostatistics skills which I consider essential for every Public Health Practitioner today.

por Enrique D O

May 20, 2019

HIghly recommended

por Rahim H

May 22, 2019

Amazing course, it has been great revision for me with OLS

por Rodolfo I C S

Aug 27, 2019

Great Course. For a person wanting to learn coding from scratch it is very friendly and easy to understand.

por Sergio P

Sep 20, 2019

Excellent course, with great classes and a large data set for you to test your computational skills.

por Rashmi M

Sep 22, 2019

Excellent course. We get a lot of hands on training in building regression models and crystal clear concepts.

por MOHAMMAD R W

Oct 04, 2019

The course was really great. The instructor explained the things in a lucid manner. Also the reading materials were great. Thank you so much for this course