Chevron Left
Voltar para First Step Korean

Comentários e feedback de alunos de First Step Korean da instituição Universidade Yonsei

4.9
estrelas
19,551 classificações
5,132 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Melhores avaliações

AT

Jun 08, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

AN

May 18, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 5,119 Avaliações para o First Step Korean

por Shannon S R

May 11, 2020

This was a very educated course for me as I am a beginner in Korean. I still have to continue practicing writing Korean, I am pretty comfortable with understanding it orally. My only recommendation was that there be phonetic pronunciations next to the Korean writing (in subtitles) as I went to Google translate to get the pronunciation right or tried to make the best of what Seonsaengnim said. But overall an awesome course, I did this course via free to enroll but I will be paying for the certificate and continuing to practice to say and write Korean as I wish the course was longer (I downloaded the videos to look back on in the future)

por Alan W H

Aug 29, 2016

This course provides a well-paced introduction to learning the Korean language. It is well-suited to students who have little or no knowledge of Korean language to begin with. The course videos and the conversations of the players in the instructive videos helps us to get a feel for how the language operates in a real situation. The course lecturer provides detailed explanations of the origins of Korean vowels and consonants, the way the language is constructed, correct pronunciation, and much more. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn the Korean language. Many thanks to our lecturer for this great course.

por TRIPTI P D

Jul 18, 2020

Completely worth it! The teacher is very good at explaining the basics along with grammar and reason for as to why the language is the way it is! It really helps remember the language logically! The teacher also had good control over the course and its material and its flow. I really wish it was released as series from basic to advanced so that we could achieve higher understanding and fluency in the subject. Highly recommend.

Suggestion for Coursera- With the K-Wave around the world, I really hope you add more Korean courses online.

Thank you so much Teacher Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University. Also, thank you Coursera.

por Kathryn H

Jun 01, 2020

I enjoyed this course immensely. This is my third attempt at starting to learn Korean in the last two years. I tried by downloading worksheets off the internet and using Duolingo. However, I got much more out of this course. Even though this is just an introductory course, I have a much better foundation that will better serve me as I continue in my journey to learn Korean. Duolingo is now less frustrating because I have a little more understanding. Professor Seung explained the "why" which makes it easier to process and then replicate. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn Korean!

por Giselle J

Jul 11, 2020

This was the first course that I took from Coursera and it helped me to be able to read, write, and converse in the Korean language. The structure of the course was effective for me, the quizzes served as checkpoints to make sure that I am understanding the lessons well. The instructor was really good, too. The forum posts and interactions from other learners were of big help too. Overall, I liked this course very much, and I would recommend this to those who also want to learn the language. I hope that I would be able to take more language courses from Yonsei university in the future. Thank you very much!

por Shimi T

Mar 27, 2018

This course is really easy to follow and understand, and the quizzes are not that hard. The teacher draws parallels with English in her explanations, which is helpful if you are confident enough in your English comprehension (if you are not a native speaker). The lessons are both long and short enough at the same time to not overburden a beginner learner and since they are freely available online you can re-watch them at will to practice. The content is also on point, vocabulary and grammar provided are just enough to really kick-start your journey into the depths of learning the Korean language.

por Tsui S L

Jan 10, 2018

Thank you so much. That's help me a lot. I learned more about the daily life terms and sentences. But the speed will be a little bit fast for a brand new learner which don't know the alphabet. Learner have to replay few times to remember and practice. Too many message to their brain. I'll suggest learners to learn some pronounce first, and back to this course to check is the pronounce right. Then learn something new in this course. It will be easier to follow the lectures. (You know there has a deadline of those lectures). By the way, the course is really helpful, I'll recommend learners to join.

por Antonio S

Jul 15, 2020

Este curso es muy completo, he aprendido cosas básicas pero estoy seguro que con más práctica seré capaz de mantener una conversación en coreano. Puedes aprender vocabulario, expresiones, recomiendo este curso para todo principante, empiezas desde 0. ¡Muchas gracias! Saludos desde México, amigos. (:

This course is very complete, I have learned basic things but I'm sure with more practice I'll be able to hold a conversation in Korean. You can learn vocabulary, expressions, I recommend this course for all beginners, your start since 0. Thanks a lot!

고맙습니다! 제 이름은 안토니오 예요 저는 22실 이에요, 멕시코 사람이 에요.

por Archana K

Feb 07, 2018

안녕하세요!

When I started this course, I had no idea on how to read or write in Korean. It was an entirely new language and I was very excited but a little scared. However, by the end of this course I could read and write in Korean with ease. The course material was very easy to understand and learn from. I do have to build on my vocabulary but that I am sure is a longer process. I am very glad I enrolled in this course. Overall it was a brilliant experience and I would love to continue studying Korean. I would also like to thank Professor Seung Hae Kang and the mentors for this course.

감사합니다!

por Felicia H

Oct 27, 2016

This is a very good beginner course that requires the student to practice, practice, practice. If the student does the work, then the lectures, and quizzes will support them in a substantial way. The quiz is well designed to measure what the student learned in that module. There were some audio issues in the beginning where the audio was wrong, but if you studied hard, you can still choose the correct answer.

This is not a course that can be casually studied, in order to do well, practice is necessary. I appreciate this course and look forward to the next level.

por Heydi V

Jul 20, 2020

Personalmente me gusto mucho la dinámica y organización de este curso, aprendí y adquirí mucho vocabulario, presentarme y adquirir herramientas para hablar por primera vez con un coreano, aunque no pude acceder al certificado por el costo, es sin duda una gran ayuda para aprender el idioma y aprovechar el tiempo durante esta cuarentena..de verdad quisiera haber aplicado a una beca pero no me enteré al iniciar por eso, aprovecha y averigua antes de entrar a este curso para obtener tu certificado, gracias y espero volver aquí, en un próximo curso.

por Siri T

Jun 27, 2020

I think this was a good introductory course to be sure. Since I've studied Japanese before, I knew how crucial it is to memorize the alphabet in this kind of course, so I did not have much trouble in the following weeks. Given the format of teaching, word pronunciation was slightly difficult to follow, but I tried my best to try and emulate what the instructor is saying. I did use the notes provided but found it much more beneficial to write my own notes to practice spelling. Overall, an excellent course for anyone interested in learning Korean.

por Phatcharaphon D

May 18, 2020

As a Thai student who interested in the Korean language. This course helps me that learning Korean is not that hard. At first, I must say that I am worried maybe I can't understand these languages. Both English and Korean but actually It's clear and easy to understand. I recommend this course to whoever interested in the Korean language. It's fun and sometimes maybe it's difficult but if you usually practice it, finally you can understand it for sure. Thank you so much for making this course and made me understand the Korean language even more.

por Kristine

Jun 17, 2020

This course has helped me a lot in learning to read Hangeul. The course is very easy to take and the design of each module is really student-friendly. For non-Korean speakers like me, the materials given like videos and worksheets are a great help. I can review them anytime. The professor is very amiable, composed, and fluent which I think is a great factor to the overall success of the course. This course has truly inspired me that I can't wait to fully learn Korean Language and visit the country in the near future. Jeongmal gomabseubnida!

por Allison M

Jun 01, 2020

I absolutely enjoyed this course because the mentor explained every little bit of the Korean language which made it easier to learn. Although I did not pay for my certificate which may probably limit my assignments, I definitely thought that the assignments were helpful because they provided notes and examples about the lesson. Besides having recorded audio and video of students speaking Korean made it easier to learn rather than just listening to it from a robot. I would absolutely sign up for a further advanced lesson on learning Korean.

por Liane D

Feb 09, 2016

Very informative but I think that, if I hadn't already had a basic knowledge of the Korean alphabet and grammar structure, I'd have found the grammar explanations to be a bit too brief. Excellent for beginner level refresher though. Some glitches in the tests (e.g. the correct answer being something not taught until the next lesson) and the videos (one lesson unable to be downloaded on any of the computers to which I have access). Would be good if this course had some social /cultural lessons (like how to drink in front of a superior

por Bethwyn M

Feb 24, 2020

This course is an excellent introduction to reading, writing, and speaking Korean. At times I felt like it was going a little fast for me, but I appreciated the challenge. The course teacher is good and does her best to show you how to pronounce certain things, though a few things sounded so similar to something else that I was sometimes really thrown. Learning a language is quite hard, this made it a lot of fun. Oh! I also really appreciated the little skits included - they helped me to practice my listening and pronunciation!

por Preeti R

May 19, 2020

It is a helpful course for people who wish to learn the Korean language. The well-planned structure ensures that the students not only learn the vocabulary and grammar but also understand the correct pronunciation of the words, and how and when the same are to be used. The small conversations at the start, focus on pronunciation, detailed explanation of the concepts, additional vocabularies, and worksheets followed by a quiz at the end of every chapter ensure that the students have a holistic understanding of the concept.

por Abeywardena, H

Aug 05, 2020

I wanted to learn Korean language for some time but I had no idea where to go. Fortunately I found this course conducted by Yonsei University on Coursera. This course was really great and helpful. The way the Lecturer conducts the lesson and the course material are very easy to understand even for someone like me who does not had any basic knowledge about Korean language at the beginning. I would like to thank Yonsei University's staff specially Associate Professor Seung Hae Kang and Coursera for this wonderful course.

por Emmanuela

Sep 22, 2019

I started studying Korean by myself with some books, but I know I was going very slow because one thing is studying on books by yourself, an other thing is when someone explains you things and why to do something one way or another. This course is well structured, it allows the learner to improve its written and speaking skills too - along with listening. I would say it helped me so much to understand the basis of this language. Now I can only continue and study hoping one day I will become fluent in Korean. Thank you!

por Emmanuel C

Jul 02, 2020

This was a superb course. The material is logically organized and the explanations are very clear. The practice exercises and the quizzes were great ways to reinforce the learning. Even though the course is short, there is a good amount of vocabulary taught, as well as important grammar points. I had previously taken a beginner Korean course, so some of the material was not new to me, but the way that things were explained actually helped me to better understand some of the things that I had learned previously.

por Kayla P

May 22, 2020

Going into this course, I've already learned how to write and understand Hangul but after days of learning properly what was the origin and how to use it proficiently. It was so easy to understand and the professor was really good at explaining things even though it could be confusing to people like me who are in a different culture. I've always loved learning different languages but I'm excited to finally use this Korean language and put it to the test! Thank you so much for this course. It was very helpful!

por Alexia M

Aug 04, 2020

안녕하세요! I really enjoyed this class, and I found it extremely useful as a beginner with very little prior knowledge. Ms. Kang is a very good teacher, and her explanations of the pronunciation were very helpful when a word was quite confusing to pronounce. I liked the way the topics were divided and made sense. It was also nice to hear it in a conversation, which would be an example at the beginning of every lecture. Overall, I'd recommend this course to anyone looking to understand the basics of the language!

por Saniya K

Nov 19, 2017

I think this is an excellent course for anyone who wants to learn the basics of Korean. I would and have easily recommended this course to a bunch of my friends who wanted to learn Korean but couldn't join classes the way I could! It was a great way for me to revise and I learnt a few things (particularly about pronunciation) which I hadn't known before! Thank you for this course and I really hope that more courses (for higher levels) are added! Best of luck to anyone who is about to start this course :)

por Dawn N

Jun 08, 2020

The course was easy to understand and application is easy. Just need to remember to practise on pronunciation as often the tone of answering and asking is slightly different as compare to speaking English where there is no tone in differentiation in asking and answering a question. Difficulty when the pronunciation of the earlier word to pass on to the next syllable with non sounding words thus written and spoken words might different.. Overall, the learning of the language is fun and easy to catch on.