Chevron Left
Voltar para First Step Korean

Comentários e feedback de alunos de First Step Korean da instituição Universidade Yonsei

4.9
estrelas
22,685 classificações
6,000 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Melhores avaliações

AN

May 18, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

CS

Jan 07, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 5,971 Avaliações para o First Step Korean

por Patricia

Dec 01, 2018

¡Muy chévere el curso! Me motivó a continuar estudiando el idioma coreano. ¡Gracias!

por Thilini H

Jul 26, 2020

Really good caurse for beginners like me.

por Pinyarat T

May 04, 2020

너무 감사합니다. 지금 처는 한국어를 알겠습니다. 열심히하겠습니다. ^_^

por 横山纯一

Jan 24, 2020

非常喜欢学习语言,这是我学习韩语的第一步!有时间将会继续学习!谢谢延世大学!

por Andrea L

Dec 05, 2018

Un curso muy completo y que recomiendo

por Henry

Jul 26, 2020

Great for learning basic Korean!

por Mehar K

Dec 18, 2018

it is awesome

por Carolain G

Dec 11, 2018

Excelente!!

por Victoria O

May 03, 2018

This course is nice, because you can learn a lot. And it's really nice. If you finish this course, and you study it, i'm sure you will speak very well.

But i would like to say something. This course could be boring, and a little tired. I finished it, but i feel i didn't learn so i'm repeating it again, okay if i didn't learn it's my fault, but i don't feel motivated with this course. I think Suzi is a little boring. She's good. But you can feel tired. Depends the person. Regards! :D

por Sundet K

Jul 26, 2020

Above all, I would like to thank Yonsei University and Professor Kang for the opportunity to get acquainted with the Korean language precisely in the way we did through the course. This course is very useful for absolute beginners as I was. I did not know even a letter in Korean and used to think that Korean alphabet was extremely difficult which, by the way, prevented me from studying it. However, this course helped me to realize that “Devil is not black as he is painted” and it is not that hard providing one will make enough effort. Regarding the course itself, video materials were very informative even though they normally lasted 10-12 minutes. I liked the way professor explained themes during all 5 weeks and of course additional materials attached after each lesson. Learning any foreign language requires A LOT OF practice and all quizzes, short dialogues and vocabulary in this course help me to do so. I keep studying Korean via different social networks and I feel deliriously happy when I encounter there some words, grammar rules that I’ve learnt thanks to this course. I highly recommend it for people who want to start studying this beautiful language from the very beginning and considering any free course available. It is definitely the best option! Good luck everyone!!!

por Deniece T

Feb 27, 2016

First Step Korean is a really good beginner course to start learning Korean. The lectures are structured in a clear manner that gives the learner ample examples to understand the usage of the language and allows the learner to practice along very naturally with Prof. Kang.

Personally, when I learnt basic Korean through Korean TV shows and classes in a community club, it was hard for me to grasp the grammar as it was pretty confusing. This basic course allowed me to understand the usage of grammar, such as 이, 가, 은, 는 and transforming basic form verbs.

The lectures are delivered in a way that allows you to learn in a gradual manner and frequently review what you have learnt in previous lectures. The subtitles and notes make the lessons really easy to understand and follow.

Through Coursera's online platform, the video lectures allows easy review of the lecture without having to physically sit through a class. I'm glad and grateful that First Step Korean is offered on Coursera and I hope there's a Second Step Korean in the near future for us to carry on with intermediate learning.

por Lauren R

Jun 24, 2019

I have been self-teaching myself Korean for about 6 months and have found it extremely difficult. This course offered me the ability to listen to a native speaker and to communicate and practice real time. I love it so much, my only complaint is that it did not go into depth on the honorifics. I am advanced enough that I have a good grasp on basic speech and I have a large vocabulary, I just lack the ability to use appropriate honorifics. That being said, I learned something new every lesson and got a good grasp on the concept of time and questions that I have been having trouble on. I would highly recommend this for someone who has just started learning and has begun to familiarize themselves. For someone totally new to the language, it might be a bit overwhelming, but it worked great for me and the basic knowledge I already acquired. Also, Mrs. Seung is an amazing instructor and her voice kept me focused and helped me to learn!

por Rugveda R B

Sep 17, 2020

To be honest, initially i was very aversive of completing this course. I thought that a new language that too with an all new script to which i am unfamiliar. Plus, being deriven from chinsese characters it may have many characters with different sounds. But as i am Indian and Marathi being my mother tongue, learning the pronounciations of the hangeul became pretty simple, which i think may not have been as simple if i would have learned it based on english phonetics. However, talking about the facilitator of the course, Miss. Seung Hae Kang was absolutely amazing. She would pronounce the alphabets very clearly, her speech was very lucid. Plus she would remind from time to time the uses of the particles very clearly. The course design was very feasible. I am very grateful to Yonsei University. This university's certificate has great value. Thank you so much!!!!

por Suzette N

Apr 12, 2020

It was a very informative course that taught the Korean language in a fun way. I was so immersed in the subject, that I would just keep studying almost all the time. The way the classes were executed was very skilled, where the teacher explained everything so detailed and in a clear way. She also dove into the pronunciations of certain words (since the way you pronounce Korean is very important). Moreover, you can feel the support of the mentors who were there to help and answer any question any of us had in the forum section, this also gave me some sort of confidence and reliability, it encouraged me to continue studying knowing that there is someone out there ready to help and there are also other learners in my position as well.

Thank you very much for everyone for this beautiful course! Very well recommended! You really won't regret signing up!

por Mo'lanee S

Sep 20, 2017

This is my second time taking this course and I can't begin to thank the organizers, instructors, moderators enough. This course was my first formalized experience with Hangugeo and the way it's structured really helps you get started with basic Korean. I also took the next course 'Learn to speak Korean 1,' and together with this course, I have a better grasp of Korean language than I could have ever accomplished on my own. What really enriched my learning experience was writing everything down, pausing the videos and reinforcing what I hear via speaking and demonstration. I am earnestly waiting for more courses from these guys in Korean; they have an excellent touch that is nonpareil to other Korean language courses I have used.

앞으로도 즐겁게 공부합시다. 쌤, 너무너무 감사합니다.

por Nidhima m

Jun 06, 2020

I must say that all the concepts were systematically explained . The additional vocabulary provided at the end of the lesson is also great .The test and the worksheets after every lesson was helpful for me in testing me what I have learnt. Overall the course experience is great and has increased my skills in learning a new language . Through this course I was able to learn ,write ,speak and read hangul effectively . I would also suggest to add an advance level also for learners so that they can further continue learning and become more fluent in learning korean . Although this was a great experience . I Thank those who have put such an efforts in preparing the content for the learners and for making us learn a new foreign language .

por Lesley P

Aug 13, 2017

I very much enjoyed the clarify and structure of this course. I have been studying Korean in a classroom situation, but I have found that devoting one big block of time once a week - at the of the workday when I am tired - has been difficult. Also the mixed abilities and ages in the class meant that some were pressing to move faster, while others of us would have benefitted from a more moderate place. This way I learn at my own pace, at a time suitable to me, and I have regular contact with the language during the week.

The only disadvantage I can see is not having others to 'talk' to, but I haven't found that concerning at this early stage.

Very well thought out.... just the right mix of techniques

por Kathleen C D

Jul 28, 2020

This online course really help me to understand more the Korean Language and how to form and use those words that often use in our daily life correctly. It also help me to broaden my knowledge and vocabulary in Korean. I took this online course for me to enhance my Korean Skills and also to add on my profile when I am finding a job as I love learning other countries language especially the Korean Language. This online course is really convenient these days for those people who wants to learn Korean Language and cannot go out to study at a University or in an Language Center due to the Virus. So, I suggest this online course to everyone who wants to learn from the basic of Korean Language.

por Juan S S A

Jul 20, 2017

This is an amazing Korean language course. Professor Seung Hae Kang is a wonderful instructor and the course is really well designed. It has a 'situation approach' in which daily life experiences are used cleverly to teach vocabulary, pronunciation tips, particles and common expressions. It also teaches some useful facts about Korean culture and the course's discussion forums are highly active with nice mentors willing to help.

I truly enjoyed the content and I would strongly recommend to take this course to anyone who wants to get started in Korean language. Thank you to Yonsei University, professor Seung Hae Kang and all the staff involved in the development of this course.

고맙습니다!

por TRIPET-COSTET G

May 02, 2016

Excellent cours, bien construit. Bien expliquer qui m'a beaucoup aidé surtout pour les prononciations, la professeure accentue bien chaque lettres donc on arrive a bien les différencier pour l'apprentissage. Le vocabulaire est aussi très précis et bien expliqué. Le cours est excellent mais je trouve les exercices peut-être un peu trop facile voir trop facile mais j'apprend depuis déjà un moment le coréen donc je n'enlève pas d'étoiles ne pouvant pas trop juger sur ça... J'ai participer à ce cours pour m'aider sur certains point notamment la prononciation et pour aussi pouvoir m'aider dans mes projets. Et j'en ressort ravis, je vous le conseil à tous. C'est une bonne expérience.

por Patrick D

Mar 11, 2018

I loved this course! I want to thank Professor Seung Hae Kang, who clearly cares about her students and wants to make sure everyone succeeds. In addition to the great instructor, the lessons were broken into easily digestible segments so that it wasn't discouraging to someone who is just starting out. Also, I found Unit 1 extremely helpful in learning pronunciations of letters, especially to someone unfamiliar with the sounds of Hangeul. This course has inspired me to continue my education in Korean language and culture, and I will be taking Learning to Speak Korean 1 in a few weeks to pursue this goal. Thank you to everyone involved in putting together this course!

por Elysha C

Jan 14, 2018

What a fantastic course! I really learned a lot about Korean basics and feel comfortable progressing to more advance studies after completing this course. I would recommend more opportunities to practice certain sounds and syllables, such as the aspiration/tension sounds and composite vowels, as the provided soundboard only covers the basic consonants and vowels. As an English speaker I had a hard time distinguishing sounds like 시 and 씨. I would also recommend an explanation of more instances of when to use different subject particles, as I would see 은 and 는 in places I did not expect on the quizzes. Thank you so much for the learning opportunity. 고맙습니다!

por Merlin A

Sep 30, 2017

I've completed week 2 (out of 5-week module) and so far I'm learning a lot! Each module is presented clearly and systematically (e.g., starting with basic concept, then as concrete examples on grammar, application in real life, pronunciation, additional vocabulary, quizzes as part of the active learning), as well as in 'bite-sized' chunks. It is not overwhelming at all! It makes learning a new language feasible in my busy life. I've been using my commute time to complete each module. Thank you to instructor(s) and course designer(s)! (I would attempt to use Han-gul to type at least the last sentence but my keyboard is not fitted with the characters yet!)

por ilunga V M

Jul 31, 2016

This has been an exceptional course. I have really enjoyed it as an introductory course to Korean, because it does a good job of teaching the basics without trenching too much in the details. I believe that in beginning stages a learner should not boggle themselves down too much with the details of a language. With time and exposure details are learned. Our instructor was easy to comprehend in her English pronunciation; she was professional, and she seem to enjoy the topic. I feel confident in the foundation that has been set for me and therefore, I am confident to continue what I hope will become a lifetime journey of enjoying and learning Korean.