Chevron Left
Voltar para First Step Korean

Comentários e feedback de alunos de First Step Korean da instituição Universidade Yonsei

4.9
estrelas
30,424 classificações
8,113 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Melhores avaliações

CS
6 de Jan de 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

AN
17 de Mai de 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 8,053 Avaliações para o First Step Korean

por Julia K

27 de Set de 2020

I did enjoy two first weeks but then the pace was too fast. I don't think it was suited to complete beginners. Also, I think I would change some things we were studying, eg. studying Korean numbers in week 3 and Chinese numbers in week 4 was quite discouraging. It was some kind of an introduction, though.

por Elena H

14 de Mar de 2017

Los subtitulos en español en los ultimos modulos del curso no estaban funcionando.

por Sherin

16 de Jul de 2020

vEERY HARD TO FOLLOW IN THE LIMITED TIME. HOW CAN I UNENROLL??

por KATHERIN R M

15 de Ago de 2020

NO entiendo, porque el video esta en Ingles y yo solo hablo español. por ende no entiendo y desisto de este curso. gracias

por Сундет К

26 de Jul de 2020

Above all, I would like to thank Yonsei University and Professor Kang for the opportunity to get acquainted with the Korean language precisely in the way we did through the course. This course is very useful for absolute beginners as I was. I did not know even a letter in Korean and used to think that Korean alphabet was extremely difficult which, by the way, prevented me from studying it. However, this course helped me to realize that “Devil is not black as he is painted” and it is not that hard providing one will make enough effort. Regarding the course itself, video materials were very informative even though they normally lasted 10-12 minutes. I liked the way professor explained themes during all 5 weeks and of course additional materials attached after each lesson. Learning any foreign language requires A LOT OF practice and all quizzes, short dialogues and vocabulary in this course help me to do so. I keep studying Korean via different social networks and I feel deliriously happy when I encounter there some words, grammar rules that I’ve learnt thanks to this course. I highly recommend it for people who want to start studying this beautiful language from the very beginning and considering any free course available. It is definitely the best option! Good luck everyone!!!

por Deniece T

27 de Fev de 2016

First Step Korean is a really good beginner course to start learning Korean. The lectures are structured in a clear manner that gives the learner ample examples to understand the usage of the language and allows the learner to practice along very naturally with Prof. Kang.

Personally, when I learnt basic Korean through Korean TV shows and classes in a community club, it was hard for me to grasp the grammar as it was pretty confusing. This basic course allowed me to understand the usage of grammar, such as 이, 가, 은, 는 and transforming basic form verbs.

The lectures are delivered in a way that allows you to learn in a gradual manner and frequently review what you have learnt in previous lectures. The subtitles and notes make the lessons really easy to understand and follow.

Through Coursera's online platform, the video lectures allows easy review of the lecture without having to physically sit through a class. I'm glad and grateful that First Step Korean is offered on Coursera and I hope there's a Second Step Korean in the near future for us to carry on with intermediate learning.

por Lauren R

23 de Jun de 2019

I have been self-teaching myself Korean for about 6 months and have found it extremely difficult. This course offered me the ability to listen to a native speaker and to communicate and practice real time. I love it so much, my only complaint is that it did not go into depth on the honorifics. I am advanced enough that I have a good grasp on basic speech and I have a large vocabulary, I just lack the ability to use appropriate honorifics. That being said, I learned something new every lesson and got a good grasp on the concept of time and questions that I have been having trouble on. I would highly recommend this for someone who has just started learning and has begun to familiarize themselves. For someone totally new to the language, it might be a bit overwhelming, but it worked great for me and the basic knowledge I already acquired. Also, Mrs. Seung is an amazing instructor and her voice kept me focused and helped me to learn!

por Rugveda R B

17 de Set de 2020

To be honest, initially i was very aversive of completing this course. I thought that a new language that too with an all new script to which i am unfamiliar. Plus, being deriven from chinsese characters it may have many characters with different sounds. But as i am Indian and Marathi being my mother tongue, learning the pronounciations of the hangeul became pretty simple, which i think may not have been as simple if i would have learned it based on english phonetics. However, talking about the facilitator of the course, Miss. Seung Hae Kang was absolutely amazing. She would pronounce the alphabets very clearly, her speech was very lucid. Plus she would remind from time to time the uses of the particles very clearly. The course design was very feasible. I am very grateful to Yonsei University. This university's certificate has great value. Thank you so much!!!!

por Suzette N

12 de Abr de 2020

It was a very informative course that taught the Korean language in a fun way. I was so immersed in the subject, that I would just keep studying almost all the time. The way the classes were executed was very skilled, where the teacher explained everything so detailed and in a clear way. She also dove into the pronunciations of certain words (since the way you pronounce Korean is very important). Moreover, you can feel the support of the mentors who were there to help and answer any question any of us had in the forum section, this also gave me some sort of confidence and reliability, it encouraged me to continue studying knowing that there is someone out there ready to help and there are also other learners in my position as well.

Thank you very much for everyone for this beautiful course! Very well recommended! You really won't regret signing up!

por Jacinta H

15 de Jan de 2021

Buen día, dándole mil gracias a esta bella familia de COURSERA.ORG., por haberme permitido aprender con ellos este nuevo idioma. Es así que me hago presente en este momento para decirles mil gracias, y que desde el interior de mi alma, deseo de corazón para ustedes muchos éxitos, progreso y bendiciones venideras. Papito Dios siga guiándolos y permitiendo que así como yo, muchas mas personas se unan a esta bella experiencia de querer aprender algo nuevo, útil y divertido como es la Cultura Coreana.

PD. Mil gracias a esta bella Maestra que imparte las clases, ya que no me canso de decir que usted si es una Maestra de verdad y no una profesora, porque me doy cuenta por mi misma y por los comentarios. Es así que en este corto tiempo considero que he aprendido mucho, ya que yo no sabia del Idioma Coreano. Mil bendiciones. Ecuador.

por Jolie J

18 de Out de 2020

I highly recommend this course for those trying to learn Korean who are just starting out. I already knew hangeul, so that part was slightly repetitive for me; but, it would be very useful to those who don't know hangeul. The units are set up in a logical order and they contain vocabulary, grammar, and example sentences that are useful for basic conversations. The grammar was well-explained and the examples were interesting to me as well. I also liked the videos of example dialogue. The actors were slightly awkward but much less so than others I have seen. My only issue is that she doesn't give much time during the repeat after her parts or during the exercises, but that can be solved by pausing the video. I enjoyed this course and learned a lot. 9.9/10; would recommend to those who want to learn Korean.

por Camila S

1 de Mai de 2021

I think this is a great course for beginners. It may take you a little longer than 5 weeks to complete if you didn't know ANYTHING about Korean before like me, but it's still rewarding and fun. The only thing I'd improve upon are the subtitles. I wish it didn't say [FOREIGN] when Korean subtitles could've been provided to keep up more easily with the teacher.

The quizzes are hard enough but not impossible, you truly exercise what you learned in the unit. The teacher's pace is good to keep you motivated, even though I did see myself going back to check on something more than once because this was my first aproach to the language after all.

Overall, I recommend this course to anyone interested in Korean culture who wants to learn the basics in a fun, rewarding and changelling way

por Mo'lanee S

20 de Set de 2017

This is my second time taking this course and I can't begin to thank the organizers, instructors, moderators enough. This course was my first formalized experience with Hangugeo and the way it's structured really helps you get started with basic Korean. I also took the next course 'Learn to speak Korean 1,' and together with this course, I have a better grasp of Korean language than I could have ever accomplished on my own. What really enriched my learning experience was writing everything down, pausing the videos and reinforcing what I hear via speaking and demonstration. I am earnestly waiting for more courses from these guys in Korean; they have an excellent touch that is nonpareil to other Korean language courses I have used.

앞으로도 즐겁게 공부합시다. 쌤, 너무너무 감사합니다.

por Nidhima m

6 de Jun de 2020

I must say that all the concepts were systematically explained . The additional vocabulary provided at the end of the lesson is also great .The test and the worksheets after every lesson was helpful for me in testing me what I have learnt. Overall the course experience is great and has increased my skills in learning a new language . Through this course I was able to learn ,write ,speak and read hangul effectively . I would also suggest to add an advance level also for learners so that they can further continue learning and become more fluent in learning korean . Although this was a great experience . I Thank those who have put such an efforts in preparing the content for the learners and for making us learn a new foreign language .

por sama e

13 de Dez de 2020

I've been trying to learn Korean for a while now and I felt like regular apps on my phone were not really getting me anywhere and I wasn't making much progress with anything but this course was really good and I really felt like I was a lot more productive in learning more in a shorter amount of time and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who wants to start learning Korean and I would even love to see if Yonsei University releases another course for Korean specifically with professor Sueng Hae Kang i really loved the way she explained things she has a really nice way of simplifing everything so that its not overwhelming to the student and to be honest i think itll be weird continuing learning korean without her

por Lesley P

13 de Ago de 2017

I very much enjoyed the clarify and structure of this course. I have been studying Korean in a classroom situation, but I have found that devoting one big block of time once a week - at the of the workday when I am tired - has been difficult. Also the mixed abilities and ages in the class meant that some were pressing to move faster, while others of us would have benefitted from a more moderate place. This way I learn at my own pace, at a time suitable to me, and I have regular contact with the language during the week.

The only disadvantage I can see is not having others to 'talk' to, but I haven't found that concerning at this early stage.

Very well thought out.... just the right mix of techniques

por Kathleen C D

27 de Jul de 2020

This online course really help me to understand more the Korean Language and how to form and use those words that often use in our daily life correctly. It also help me to broaden my knowledge and vocabulary in Korean. I took this online course for me to enhance my Korean Skills and also to add on my profile when I am finding a job as I love learning other countries language especially the Korean Language. This online course is really convenient these days for those people who wants to learn Korean Language and cannot go out to study at a University or in an Language Center due to the Virus. So, I suggest this online course to everyone who wants to learn from the basic of Korean Language.

por Marco R

12 de Dez de 2020

Extremely useful for novices like me. I had spent a couple weeks trying to learn the basics after the alphabet but I felt like I hit a wall, but this course showed me the steps to learn in a way that worked for me.

I like the teacher Seung Hae Kang, she has an imposing authority of respect and discipline that helps me focus, and she explains fairly well all the little details that help you understand where each particle comes from and why it's used in certain cases.

The tests are tough but fair, if you fail on the first try you'll know that it's your fault for not learning the vocabulary (which is not that difficult) that you've been given, or the grammar rules that you've been taught.

por Wayland C

2 de Fev de 2021

I'm very pleased with the contents, the level is just right. I still have to re-visit some of the lectures to consolidate my understanding. The course is a wonderful journey and I wish that I had taken the course a few years ago as I had to work with Koreans over a few years. Korean is a beautiful language and the Koreans are extremely friendly and very hospitable, not to mention that Korea is a beautiful country too! I will practise what I learn with this and will visit the Korea and see my friends again. Meanwhile, I will continue to enrich my understanding of Korean, and most importantly, the culture. I will look out for other Korean courses :) Thank you once again Prof Kang!

por Juan S S A

20 de Jul de 2017

This is an amazing Korean language course. Professor Seung Hae Kang is a wonderful instructor and the course is really well designed. It has a 'situation approach' in which daily life experiences are used cleverly to teach vocabulary, pronunciation tips, particles and common expressions. It also teaches some useful facts about Korean culture and the course's discussion forums are highly active with nice mentors willing to help.

I truly enjoyed the content and I would strongly recommend to take this course to anyone who wants to get started in Korean language. Thank you to Yonsei University, professor Seung Hae Kang and all the staff involved in the development of this course.

고맙습니다!

por TRIPET-COSTET G

2 de Mai de 2016

Excellent cours, bien construit. Bien expliquer qui m'a beaucoup aidé surtout pour les prononciations, la professeure accentue bien chaque lettres donc on arrive a bien les différencier pour l'apprentissage. Le vocabulaire est aussi très précis et bien expliqué. Le cours est excellent mais je trouve les exercices peut-être un peu trop facile voir trop facile mais j'apprend depuis déjà un moment le coréen donc je n'enlève pas d'étoiles ne pouvant pas trop juger sur ça... J'ai participer à ce cours pour m'aider sur certains point notamment la prononciation et pour aussi pouvoir m'aider dans mes projets. Et j'en ressort ravis, je vous le conseil à tous. C'est une bonne expérience.

por Patrick D

10 de Mar de 2018

I loved this course! I want to thank Professor Seung Hae Kang, who clearly cares about her students and wants to make sure everyone succeeds. In addition to the great instructor, the lessons were broken into easily digestible segments so that it wasn't discouraging to someone who is just starting out. Also, I found Unit 1 extremely helpful in learning pronunciations of letters, especially to someone unfamiliar with the sounds of Hangeul. This course has inspired me to continue my education in Korean language and culture, and I will be taking Learning to Speak Korean 1 in a few weeks to pursue this goal. Thank you to everyone involved in putting together this course!

por Elysha C

14 de Jan de 2018

What a fantastic course! I really learned a lot about Korean basics and feel comfortable progressing to more advance studies after completing this course. I would recommend more opportunities to practice certain sounds and syllables, such as the aspiration/tension sounds and composite vowels, as the provided soundboard only covers the basic consonants and vowels. As an English speaker I had a hard time distinguishing sounds like 시 and 씨. I would also recommend an explanation of more instances of when to use different subject particles, as I would see 은 and 는 in places I did not expect on the quizzes. Thank you so much for the learning opportunity. 고맙습니다!

por Merlin A

30 de Set de 2017

I've completed week 2 (out of 5-week module) and so far I'm learning a lot! Each module is presented clearly and systematically (e.g., starting with basic concept, then as concrete examples on grammar, application in real life, pronunciation, additional vocabulary, quizzes as part of the active learning), as well as in 'bite-sized' chunks. It is not overwhelming at all! It makes learning a new language feasible in my busy life. I've been using my commute time to complete each module. Thank you to instructor(s) and course designer(s)! (I would attempt to use Han-gul to type at least the last sentence but my keyboard is not fitted with the characters yet!)