Chevron Left
Voltar para Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management da instituição Universidade da Cidade do Cabo

4.8
estrelas
245 classificações
79 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Focusing on the Large Marine Ecosystems (LMEs) of the world, this course will introduce the concept and practice of ecosystem-based management. LMEs occupy areas of coastal ocean at least 200 000 km² or greater in size. These coastal waters produce 12.6 trillion USD in ecosystem goods and services annually and are vitally important for billions of people around the globe. Because LMEs are bounded by ocean features and are globally linked, management of human activities needs to occur in an integrated fashion across political boundaries and economic sectors (e.g. fishing, shipping, energy, tourism, and mining.) This represents a new type of management approached - shifting from single sector-based to multi-sector assessment and management within the spatial domain of the world's 66 Large Marine Ecosystems. There is global high-level support for this new approach and in this course, we will introduce the concepts and tools for assessing and managing LMEs. Together, leaders and experts in a global movement to recover and sustain the goods and services of LMEs will introduce you to the mechanisms used for assessment (Transboundary Diagnostic Analysis), planning and implementation (Strategic Action Programme). Based on recent activities in implementation and practice of the LME approach in 22 projects around the globe, we will showcase examples of effective management at this scale, and highlight the challenges and issues. By the end of the online course, we hope you will be able to actively use this knowledge to advance sustainable development of the world’s oceans. The course was created with the support and input of: the Global Environment Facility (GEF), the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), UNESCO-IOC and IW:LEARN....

Melhores avaliações

SM
20 de Jun de 2020

Not only was this an incredibly informative course but it gives me hope about the future of our oceans. It's exciting to hear about all of the collaborative work going on within and between nations.

TC
16 de Jan de 2019

This course deepened my understanding of large marine ecosystems, how they should be assessed and the best practices/strategies that should be implemented in order to successfully manage them.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 79 Avaliações para o Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management

por Ajay S

29 de Jun de 2020

Professor Moloney & Dr. Sherman made a truly eye-opening course. Short enough to fit into most schedules, I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Highly recommend.

por Marie R M

2 de Fev de 2021

a very good tool in helping developing countries like the Philippines create a sustainable law on Marine Protected Areas and its implementation

por Md. M U R

4 de Jul de 2020

This is an interactive course. Those are highly recommended to whom are related to the management of marine ecosystem.

por Ishel B

28 de Ago de 2020

Extremely interesting, and useful in mapping a better future for the planet. Only problem is the peer review process.

por Dino P

10 de Fev de 2021

Excellent course. Well structured and laid out. Learned alot and gained a new respect for those trying to run LME's

por Dane L

26 de Set de 2018

Great course but the volume levels of the videos need to be adjusted. Difficult to hear even at maximum volume.

por Letícia M B

2 de Set de 2020

It really helped me to know the overview of LME and the main references, documents and literature about that.

por paulina t z g

22 de Mai de 2020

Extremely useful course for people interested in sustainable management of the oceans. Hightly recommend it.

por Ekemini O

1 de Fev de 2019

I have enjoyed every bit of this course. It's very interesting and engaging. I've learnt a lot. Thank you.

por Firas A

20 de Nov de 2021

Thank you for everyone works to make this course which gives many information in marine environment

por Leticia M

6 de Fev de 2020

Very interesting, great information. 100% recommend it for anyone interested in marine ecosystems.

por Raziel A

29 de Jan de 2021

It helped me to learn new things and further the knowledge of my current work. Thank you so much!

por sibi s

30 de Nov de 2020

Large marine ecosystem is a very informative and interesting coarse for all the ocean lovers..!

por Samroz M B

29 de Nov de 2020

This course was very beneficial for me i learn many new knowledge about large marine ecosystmes

por narkie a a

18 de Out de 2018

A VERY INFORMATIVE COURSE. I RECOMMEND EVERYONE INTERESTED IN ECOSYSTEM MANAGEMENT TO TAKE IT

por Birgilio R C

11 de Jan de 2021

Excelent course to understand LME, TDA/SAP actions and to have access to the research tools.

por Nicola C

28 de Jan de 2021

Really interesting course. I really enjoy participating at this course highly recommended.

por Sofía I A C

26 de Jul de 2020

Great course!! so happy I did it...and excited to apply what I have learned on my LME.

por Md. A A

4 de Mai de 2020

Very interesting and enjoyable course. I have learnt many things from here.Thank you

por HARISH R

1 de Set de 2021

This course helped me to know more about Marine Ecosystem and its management.

por Juliet D

19 de Mai de 2020

It was excellent. I would love to do another one like this in the future.

por Karla G

26 de Jun de 2018

This course is amazing and so needed nowadays. Fully recommended!

por Virginie w

27 de Jun de 2019

Very informative and well designed course, I learned a lot!

por Tim B

5 de Jan de 2022

Informative for future of our planet and species.

por Daniel B

30 de Mai de 2021

Great work! Excelent teachers and good contents