Chevron Left
Voltar para Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management da instituição Universidade da Cidade do Cabo

4.7
58 classificações
19 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Focusing on the Large Marine Ecosystems (LMEs) of the world, this course will introduce the concept and practice of ecosystem-based management. LMEs occupy areas of coastal ocean at least 200 000 km² or greater in size. These coastal waters produce 12.6 trillion USD in ecosystem goods and services annually and are vitally important for billions of people around the globe. Because LMEs are bounded by ocean features and are globally linked, management of human activities needs to occur in an integrated fashion across political boundaries and economic sectors (e.g. fishing, shipping, energy, tourism, and mining.) This represents a new type of management approached - shifting from single sector-based to multi-sector assessment and management within the spatial domain of the world's 66 Large Marine Ecosystems. There is global high-level support for this new approach and in this course, we will introduce the concepts and tools for assessing and managing LMEs. Together, leaders and experts in a global movement to recover and sustain the goods and services of LMEs will introduce you to the mechanisms used for assessment (Transboundary Diagnostic Analysis), planning and implementation (Strategic Action Programme). Based on recent activities in implementation and practice of the LME approach in 22 projects around the globe, we will showcase examples of effective management at this scale, and highlight the challenges and issues. By the end of the online course, we hope you will be able to actively use this knowledge to advance sustainable development of the world’s oceans. The course was created with the support and input of: the Global Environment Facility (GEF), the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), UNESCO-IOC and IW:LEARN....

Melhores avaliações

TC

Jan 17, 2019

This course deepened my understanding of large marine ecosystems, how they should be assessed and the best practices/strategies that should be implemented in order to successfully manage them.

DL

Sep 26, 2018

Great course but the volume levels of the videos need to be adjusted. Difficult to hear even at maximum volume.

Filtrar por:

1 — 19 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management

por Sabine

May 30, 2018

I have enjoyed the course very much. It is well structures and offer a good overview of the various steps towards EBM of LMEs. It is also a great source of information and references about current TDA-SAP efforts in various LMEs. The graded activities are interesting and provide the opportunity to work more specifically on one or 2 examples of TDA-SAP. The grading process it self is a bit difficult as each question is sort of a good or bad options only , there is no room to provide a more refined assessment such as yes main elements were provided but failed to fully answer the question and deserve a 3/4 grade but choice is only 0/4 or 4/4. The feedback we get from the graded activities is therefore limited.

por Hernán O

Dec 27, 2018

Excelent!

por Ekemini O

Feb 01, 2019

I have enjoyed every bit of this course. It's very interesting and engaging. I've learnt a lot. Thank you.

por Tanya C

Jan 17, 2019

This course deepened my understanding of large marine ecosystems, how they should be assessed and the best practices/strategies that should be implemented in order to successfully manage them.

por WINSTON R

Feb 13, 2019

The best so far!

por AGYEMAN N A

Oct 18, 2018

A VERY INFORMATIVE COURSE. I RECOMMEND EVERYONE INTERESTED IN ECOSYSTEM MANAGEMENT TO TAKE IT

por Dane L

Sep 26, 2018

Great course but the volume levels of the videos need to be adjusted. Difficult to hear even at maximum volume.

por Katherine H

Sep 25, 2018

I thought this course was excellent! It is the first online course I have completed, and I found it interactive, engaging and informative. The information was conveyed through a good mix of media, and the assignments and quizzes at an appropriate level to retain one's attention and make one think !

por Loyiso V

Jun 28, 2018

This programme is quite impressive. As a student, I often finished my work during last minutes. But the way it i structured and created, I find my self learning many concepts and enjoying it too. It is a well developed and amazing way of learning and teaching. I hope that some else tries it, as my first online course, it definitely won't be my last. Thank you to all the members of the LME.

por Karla G

Jun 26, 2018

This course is amazing and so needed nowadays. Fully recommended!

por Arturo M

Jun 25, 2018

Very recommendable course, with high quality teaching classes and a wide knowledge offer from ecosystem characteristics to effective marine management. Very easy to follow, starting from the basics in the first weeks and going deeper and more difficult in the study while advancing in time. Tasks and activities very challenging and interesting, the best ones those qualified by the other students of the course. A really good learning experience!

por Mihaela L N

Apr 13, 2019

I enjoyed every lesson in this course!

por Masoud J A

May 31, 2019

how can I get my certificate ?

por Virginie w

Jun 27, 2019

Very informative and well designed course, I learned a lot!

por Alora D M

Jul 17, 2019

The volume is quite low on most of the videos.

por Lauren F

Mar 12, 2019

I really enjoyed going more into depth on large marine ecosystems, after seeing the term mentioned in a paper I read for my Honours thesis. I feel that the holistic approach to managing shared marine resources is a winning strategy, and I'm glad that I now have foundational knowledge of a topic which is at the cutting edge of marine resource management.

por Afaf A A H

Sep 06, 2019

I found the course very informative. Objectives were clearly stated from the start. I gained a greater knowledge of marine ecosystems. However, the sounds of some recorded videos were slightly poor and I hardly could understand. Thank you so much for this interesting course.

por Joy S

Aug 18, 2018

not that impressed. Maybe it's for professionals or something

por Francine

Sep 25, 2018

No reaction whatsoever from the staff - a pity.