Chevron Left
Voltar para Kotlin for Java Developers

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Kotlin for Java Developers da instituição JetBrains

4.7
estrelas
1,576 classificações
392 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Melhores avaliações

MA
28 de Jun de 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

AC
15 de Mar de 2020

Thanks JetBrains team, the course is as great as all the things that you do!\n\nNow I am going to visit Kotlin island (Kronstadt) to see lighthouse on your logo (I leave nearby in Saint-Petersburg).

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 393 Avaliações para o Kotlin for Java Developers

por Ritvij S

8 de Jun de 2021

Amazing faculty! I appreciate the little nuisances given for the Kotlin Language development as well. Things like what happens in Java and it's equivalent in Kotlin, if it differs then why does the implementation differ in Kotlin when compared to Java. Such insights made me intruiguied througout the course. Great course every Java Developer must have.

por Islam M

5 de Out de 2020

The best course in Kotlin, everything was well explained, the assignments were very good implemented to this course and allow you to practice what you learned, but you need to have a prior knowledge in Java or similar languages to gain the full of this course.. I really recommend it for anyone who wants to learn Kotlin the fast and the right way.

por Joachim H

17 de Abr de 2019

It was a real pleasure to complete this course. You can clearly tell that the people at Jetbrains put a lot of effort into it (thanks!). Improvements suggested on the discussion forums were taken very seriously and the class was improved accordingly. Very much appreciated! Looking forward to using Kotlin for my next projects...

por Zhehui Z

31 de Ago de 2020

A clear and comprehensive introduction to Kotlin. Lots of (way more than anticipated) concepts and features are covered in this course. Assignments are well designed as well, with emphasis on the mixed programming paradigm (OO & FP). I hope the promised Advanced Kotlin & Kotlin Coroutine courses are to be released soon!

por Daniel G

5 de Set de 2020

Nice introduction to Kotlin. You learn the programming language and some pragmatic usage patterns. It has the perfect pace for experienced developers. Although beginners will have a hard time. The assignments are challenging. You definitively have to dig into the Kotlin reference manuals for complete understanding.

por Kaushik S

22 de Jun de 2019

Best course for Kotlin from the very best Jetbrains. Suitable for those who have worked with Java before (as the title states). The last exercise was pretty hard, almost died in the end. All in all, it is really helpful. I wish Jetbrains would come up with an advanced course promised in the conclusion video.

por Roman T

9 de Set de 2020

Course is very practical and easy to understand. It really helps a lot to acquire new language much faster when you learn based on your existing knowledge of another language. Definitely recommend this course and looking forward to complete more advanced Kotlin courses from JetBrains when they are launched

por Sushanto H

23 de Mai de 2019

Great course. Very detailed oriented on why features are implemented and what are the use cases of the same. Common Operations on Collection and Auxiliary functions could be explained in more detailed since these two are important for coding. So better to have a very clear concept on these two.

por Gennaro M

3 de Fev de 2021

I started a kotlin project led by colleagues, but some things were not without, so I started this course. Incredible, it made me understand that what they were doing was not kotlin but something else and in addition it gave me the basis to better understand the language and correct that fact.

por Morten O

26 de Set de 2019

Very informative and interesting course. Requires a solid background in programming, and even though some assignments could be explained a bit better as not all of us has a background in maths (hint: permutations), the videos are excellent, both in quality of production and content.

Thumbs up!

por Mitchel N

7 de Jul de 2020

It was great to have the original creators of a language explain the ins and outs of it and the reasons why the Kotlin language is the way it is. This deeper understanding helps in grasping all the concepts and best practices.

The programming assignments are great and challenging.

por Aakarshit U

24 de Nov de 2018

Really good course even for those who know the basics of Kotlin and need a refresher. Svetlana, the instructor, is amazing with great examples for everything. The programming assignments are also great in really cementing the things learned. Looking forward to the next course!!

por Mykola D

4 de Fev de 2019

This is an excellent introduction to Kotlin. I really like the way it was presented. It has a nice balance of theory and practice. The coding part was a lot of fun, especially implementing games in week 5 coding assignment. I highly recommend it to all my friends.

por Yingduo T

11 de Jun de 2020

If you are a many years Java Developer like me, and just started to explore Kotlin. I am sure you will have some WOW moments during this course about things that Kotlin does much better. Highly recommend for Java Developers to quickly get you hands on Kotlin.

por Wilfried P

2 de Jan de 2021

I enjoyed the course very much. Only critique I have is that the "grader" doesn't understand Kotlin 1.4, while the tasks are set up automatically in IntelliJ to work with that version of the language. Caused me some confusion at first, but not a big deal. :)

por Manikant R

22 de Jan de 2021

The course was amazing, one should definitely take it if they like android programming. A very surprising thing is that there is no graded quiz and practical, which was totally new. We do assignments in android studio and then it is sent to Coursera.

por HEBERTH J V G

23 de Mai de 2020

It's a nice course. The exercises are very interesting and make you think on how to solve them. The material is very good, even though some concepts were very general and sometimes weren't clear. In general, It is an excellent course. I recommend it.

por Reda B

18 de Fev de 2021

This was a comprehensive course focusing on the basics of the Kotlin language. The assignements were on point and helped me understand Kotlin's concepts better. I enjoyed this course, and i feel comfortable working with Kotlin after finishing it.

por Емельяненко Д А

21 de Abr de 2020

This is a very good course. Thanks a lot to the teachers. Good theoretical and practical material. I especially liked that for a number of tasks there is a solution from the authors. I really look forward to the release of the Corrutin course.

por Juan M T

29 de Ago de 2020

This course provides a look into the language and what is doing "under the hood" which is great to understand Kotlin and how to use it better. This is highly recommended for any pro developer that needs or wants to learn more bout Kotlin.

por Андрощук Е В

4 de Abr de 2020

Tasks for programming was very interesting! Especially last task game2048 and fifteen. Last 2 tasks forced me to remember Math. I liked that after task was done, a saw more concise ways to do that in Kotlin.

Thanks a lot for this course!

por Абызов М М

8 de Ago de 2020

Thank you very much for the good introduction to a new language. Assignments are fascinating and thought out to the smallest details. I'm really looking forward to continuing the course with more advanced topics, like coroutines.

por Jihed A

30 de Dez de 2019

Awesome course packed with content and very well designed exercises! It was a pleasure to complete it! Thanks a lot to Svetlana and Andrey for this perfect intro to Kotlin for Java developers. Can't wait for the followup courses!

por Andy L

9 de Fev de 2019

Good comprehensible videos with lots of interesting exercises to keep watchers engaged. The weekly assignments are appropriately challenging. Would definitely recommend for Java veterans who are interested in a new language.

por Sanjit K S

19 de Jul de 2021

This is a very informative course which provides very elaborated understanding of Kotlin language as well as the exercises test the algorithm/logical understanding. Thank you for providing the good contents at one place.