Chevron Left
Voltar para Kotlin for Java Developers

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Kotlin for Java Developers da instituição JetBrains

4.7
622 classificações
149 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Melhores avaliações

MA

Jun 29, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

YY

Feb 11, 2019

This course is a very comprehensive and detailed introduction to Kotlin. However, it would be even better if it could include the generics part which is the most difficult but quite frequently used.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Kotlin for Java Developers

por Ciro

May 13, 2019

This course is good to learn Kotlin basics, well structured and the exercises are not trivial. But the speaker in the videos has a terrible accent, it's quite hard to get everything she says, I had to use subtitles which is annoying especially because they partially cover the text in the slides.

por Chuck D

Mar 05, 2019

Excellent coverage of core Kotlin concepts with plenty of good exercises. I look forward to the advanced Kotlin courses mentioned in the conclusion, covering DSLs, generics, coroutines, and more.

por Karel v D

Jun 07, 2019

I like Kotlin as a language.

I very much dislike the tests given in this course.

The tests are more about reverse engineering games and doing maths than about learning a new language.

I spend a lot of time just trying to understand the assignments.

Overall a disappointment.

por Jesus G S

Nov 27, 2018

Very interesting course where you will learn a lot about Kotlin.

por Jeni R

Jan 04, 2019

I believe that when we learn a new language, we should try to isolate the learning objectives and teach those. This course offers many complications along with attempting to explain syntax differences; and the other complicating factors are making it really tough to figure out what the learning objectives are. The content is not clear. The accent of the instructor and speech impediments make it challenging to follow and decipher. Once we do decipher the content, the exercise are obfuscating algorithm learnings with syntax. This is not a good course and I will choose another way to learn this language.

por Juan M R

Jun 20, 2019

The course was very well organized. Instructor clearly explained not only the language features, but also how they works under the hood. This allows the student to take full advantage of Kotlin.

por Fredrik R

Nov 20, 2018

Nice course. I liked the level. I really missed discussions on the assignments. It would have been really nice to see a solution with comments and compare it with my own to learn from my mistakes.

por walid w

Dec 11, 2018

great

por Hanson C

Nov 26, 2018

Very useful material. Can't wait for the sequel!

por Jan V

Nov 26, 2018

Nice course, you get the basics. Appropriate level of assignments.

por Aakarshit U

Nov 24, 2018

Really good course even for those who know the basics of Kotlin and need a refresher. Svetlana, the instructor, is amazing with great examples for everything. The programming assignments are also great in really cementing the things learned. Looking forward to the next course!!

por Gianluca A

Nov 27, 2018

Great course with great challenging assignments!

por Mika S

Dec 15, 2018

Clearly explained, easy to understand and nice programming tasks. I could complain something of documenting what to do in programming task, and also more smaller tasks would be useful

por Achim B

Dec 02, 2018

I definitely like the course. Many thanks to Svetlana and Andrey and JetBrains. Looking forward to new Kotlin courses!

por David M

Dec 02, 2018

Good course to move your mindset from Java to Kotlin.

por Gyorgy A

Dec 03, 2018

Excellent course, thanks! Clean explanations, right to the point, good for java developers looking for a modern approach. Thanks for both teachers!

por Nebojsa V

Dec 28, 2018

This course is a great way for learning Kotlin. Although I've been using the language for almost 2 years now, still there were some new things that I've learned/re-learned from this course.

por Martin R

Mar 02, 2019

Loved your exercises.

por James P

Jan 29, 2019

Wonderful introduction to Kotlin for people who know something of Java.

por Herman P

Jan 28, 2019

I learned a lot of things!!! despite I have been using kotlin in my work. The materials and explanations are really good. One of the best courses I've taken in Coursera definitely!!!

por Ilya B

Feb 08, 2019

Wonderful migration course from java to kotlin.

por Mihai L

Jan 27, 2019

This course was interesting and way more approachable than functional programming in Scala course for instance. However it seems like Kotlin is still advancing very fast so there are some small issues in assigments (buildSequence is deprecated and replaced with sequence). What I noticed is that trying to implement things in a functional way was not always easy so sometimes I went with imperative approach

por Andy L

Feb 10, 2019

Good comprehensible videos with lots of interesting exercises to keep watchers engaged. The weekly assignments are appropriately challenging. Would definitely recommend for Java veterans who are interested in a new language.

por Gustavo T V

Feb 09, 2019

Awesome course! Clear and straightforward introduction to Kotlin, covering a wide range of features the language can provide. Challenging and fun assignments, very practical, perhaps a bit underestimated in terms of the effort required (they definitely took me more time than what had been estimated). Great course, JetBrains! I'm looking forward to the next chapters.