Chevron Left
Voltar para Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.7
estrelas
137 classificações
37 avaliações

Sobre o curso

A challenging but fascinating topic on the way to achieving self-knowledge is the unconscious. For well over a century, psychologists, philosophers, and many others have posited a level of mentality that is not immediately open to introspection; some would even say that certain unconscious elements cannot be known through introspection. This course will examine some of the most influential ideas about the unconscious starting with the work of Sigmund Freud, and follow the development of theories of the unconscious all the way to present research in experimental psychology. But be warned: some of the things you may learn about your unconscious mind may be surprising, and possibly even disturbing! --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

Melhores avaliações

IM

May 19, 2019

Amazing experience of blended learning. I think this course is a must do for anyone with a penchant for Neuroscience, Behavioral medicine and Phiolosophy. What are we; but rational beings.

BS

May 04, 2020

Know Thyself is suitable for beginner. Well explained in the lecture and good in depth if you have extra time in reading materials. The information is practical and useful for daily life.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

por Eldon T

Feb 17, 2019

I would give this course a five star review but for the subtle mind manipulation technique employed when conflating Trump's immigration policy with mass genocide. There is a difference between locking your doors at night, fencing your property, and intentionally attacking and brutalizing fellow human beings. America is a country of laws and there are many opportunities that arise as a result of justice for all. As a country of laws, America has a right and even a duty to both welcome those in need and those who wish to improve their lives while at the same time insisting they do so legally. America welcomes immigrants that come through the door. If you think this is wrong, then open up your home to anyone and everyone who wishes to share whatever you have including your spouse. If you have an opinion, express it as an opinion--don't just sneak it into a collection of photos and quotes that are repugnant as though it is equally and factually immoral!

por Rachel M C

Jun 07, 2019

I found this course to be helpful personally and the information a valuable tool for assisting others. The presentation was engaging and packed with fascinating facts. Dr Green is easy to listen to -being knowledgable, humble and humorous- and the video editing highlighted his points as effective visual learning tools. I hope to take the other two courses in the near future.

por David J H

Apr 08, 2019

Excellent course! Dr. Mitchell Green's discussion of how somatic markers can be used as a practical and rational guide to decision making is highly informative. According to Green, somatically marked objects or events elicit physical-emotional responses that may reveal deep seated needs and desires. Such self knowledge is sometimes difficult to access through direct introspection. Combining individualized responses from somatic markers within the framework of subjective expected utility theory provides a novel approach to gaining self knowledge and potentially improving personal decision making. Highly recommended.

por Kathleen R

Feb 10, 2019

Professor Green has once again put together a well-structured, well-delivered, and highly interesting and relevant course that I enthusiastically recommend to all learners and not just those with a fascination with philosophy. By offering this course in three depth levels, Professor Green appeals to divergent learner interests and styles and he infuses fresh life into topics that for non-philosophers can easily become tedious.

por Eva R

Apr 20, 2020

very very interesting, and very clear, I had a great pleasure studying with you, thank you ! Maybe I would just have liked a bit more link between the Freudian concept of unconscious (week 1-2) and the more recent one developped (by Damasio, Wilson...) according to neurology (week 3-4)

por Viktoriia

May 07, 2020

I am very grateful for Mitchell Green and for all who gave life to this course. It was a great adventure, I enjoyed! I was surprised by meditation moments, it is a really good idea!

I've learned a lot and I will not dwell on it ;)

por Imjad H M

May 19, 2019

Amazing experience of blended learning. I think this course is a must do for anyone with a penchant for Neuroscience, Behavioral medicine and Phiolosophy. What are we; but rational beings.

por Bronte W S

May 04, 2020

Know Thyself is suitable for beginner. Well explained in the lecture and good in depth if you have extra time in reading materials. The information is practical and useful for daily life.

por Sobhia K

Apr 13, 2020

Excellent course, I learned a lot. However I wish the quizzes were a little tougher to ensure more effective learning.

por Emma T

Apr 26, 2020

Really interesting. Hope to do the third course in the series once it becomes available on Coursera.

por Nicholas P

Apr 19, 2019

Very interesting, well put together course.

por Ritesh K

May 01, 2019

All I say... "a BIG THANKS...!"

por ROSA L C S

Apr 21, 2020

i enjoy this course, i just understand more the way our subconsciuos works, and can try to change the things i don't like of myself.

por Amitabha S

May 24, 2020

Really outstanding. The course lectures were extremely good. The supplementary material were of very high quality. Learnt a lot.

por Пархоменко Е В

May 24, 2020

Достойный и качественный курс, позволяющий более компетентно проводить саморефлексию и применять эти данные в исследованиях.

por Akanksha J

May 14, 2020

It was a wonderful experience to learn this course. the instructor had been really thorough with his knowledge.

por Melissa A

Apr 27, 2020

My favourite class so far. Very insightful, great professor, truly enjoyed the readings and the material.

por Abdrazakova A K

Apr 16, 2020

Thank you so much! I really enjoyed this course. I discovered lots of new things for my self.

por Полина А

May 03, 2020

Thant you! This course was useful for me to learn more about my unconcsious)

por PATIL A U

May 19, 2020

thank you so much i have liked this course and have gained much knowledge.

por Jeanette A A

May 01, 2020

A well constructed course which was immensely informative and interesting.

por Ibadurrahman B A

Jul 27, 2019

Useful course to identify self personality in relation with other people.

por Shyenne B

Apr 28, 2020

I learned so much in this class. I enjoy how everything is set up!

por Omar A M R

Jan 22, 2020

I really liked this course. Above all, the meditating moments!!!

por Konstantin

Apr 24, 2020

Amazing course, very concise and up to the point.