Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Journalism

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Journalism da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
2,438 classificações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

CS

12 de jul de 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

MA

18 de fev de 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 786 Avaliações para o English for Journalism

por Giulia Z

17 de out de 2017

I think this is a really good course for those who want to be introduced to the world of journalism! It helps you to improve your english language skills and to develope your journalistic skills and knowledge. You can really learn a lot. The two instructor are really competent and they teach you this world in a way that is very understandable. I really enjoy this course and I recommend it very much!

por Ilona G

20 de abr de 2017

I really liked this course! It's perfect for the beginning journalists or people wishing to gain new qualifications. Although 15-years education, my English got improved by a new (mainly journalistic) vocabulary I hadn't known before. The biggest advantage is the fact, this course doesn't include only lectures and quizzes, but also practical exercises of creative writing.

por Timothy D

2 de abr de 2020

The Coursera and University of Pennsylvania's English for Journalism was a great structured course that covered the principles of journalism, how to interview, broadcasting, while also improving overall writing skills. I used this course as a knowledge top-up, and found it extremely beneficial and would recommend to anyone looking to improve their journalism skills.

por Ashot B

17 de set de 2019

This is my first on-line course and the first acquaintance with the American educational system. I am quite impressed. I like all the stuff that I met - content, teachers speech manner, logic, structure, approach, the combination of lectures, texts to read and tests. I am really grateful to the Coursera team and Penn University as well. You do a great job!

por Claudia M d C

27 de mar de 2017

Very interesting course!!!! Thank you so much really!!! i have learn many interesting thinks, like principles of journalism, create a pitch, digital media, citizen journalism, traditional media , review grammar and form verbs that i didnt remember !! really thank you so much for this great oportunity !! Very recomended course !! Hugs everybody !!

por sophia k g

2 de jun de 2020

For me, this course really taught me a lot of things such as writing a pitch, making an article and knowing the principles. It really is something since I didnt know a single thing about journalism and after taking this course, I've gained more knowledge than i ever had! 10/10 recommended for those people who really finds interest in journalism.

por omoare d

6 de jan de 2021

English for Journalism has broadened my intellectual capacity about Journalism. The course has sharpened my writing skill, how to write effectively by constructing sound English and how to write professionally by employing the principles of Journalism.

This is a course that must be recommended to all Communicators, in the field of Journalism.

por Anoushka S

13 de jul de 2020

Amazing teachers! The teaching and the video animation made the grasping the concepts really easy. The projects were designed really well and were a major contributor to the entire learning experience. The multiple choice questions at after every video lecture helped with registering what I learnt into my memory and testing my understanding!

por Jinto M

3 de set de 2019

The course gives the learner a good introduction to the field of journalism. It gives the history and principles of journalism and the art of writing for media. Moreover, the course is useful for a beginner as it provides one with the information regarding the use of tenses and different words in a media writing. It improves language skills.

por Sarah K

30 de jun de 2020

I learned so much from this course. I love writing, but have never explored journalism before. It helped me greatly with my writing skills. The structure of the course is also great because the videos aren't long, but are still packed with information. I highly suggest taking this course if you enjoy journalism or simply writing in general.

por Anil K P

28 de set de 2020

Very good course. Trainers do this course so easy and understandable. I completed this course, but I'm not able to take certificate due course fee. I take this course for revision and language is English.

Excellent course for professional. I'm Master in Journalism from University of Lucknow, India, but I gain from this course.

Thanks a lot.

por Abdulrazak W

15 de mai de 2020

I have learned immensely about the basics of journalism. It's not all black and white when it comes to selling stories to the public. They are a lot of areas as well. You have to make sure you have the right information and facts from people themselves to make it believable. It has greatly helped with my grammar and writing skills as well.

por Gifty B

20 de mar de 2021

I have been dutifully schooled on the principles and applications of Journalism. I currently appreciate the work of Journalists much more and hope to find an opportunity to practice soon. I couldn't have offered a better course than this. I express my gratitude to all my instructors, Pennsylvania university and to Coursera. God bless you

por My I p

8 de mar de 2021

the English for journalism class was very instructive. As journalist , i took the advantage to learn a lot of things . Big thanks to the teachers . There is no doubt , i have enjoyed it . Once again , thank you and i will be very grateful to you .

on the other hands , i would like to know , how long i will get my certificate

por victor_julio555@hotmail.com

20 de mar de 2017

Thank you so much for the knowledge and for the time. The university of Pennsylvania and Coursera have provided the right space to share intercultural learning. I also want to thank everyone else whom make this dream possible. For this reason I wish to thank all of our teachers and staff for your commitment and determination.

por Marcelo Q

9 de nov de 2021

I feel that having done this course on workshops, I acquired very valuable knowledge and strengthened the ones that I applied in my job. His hosts were very kind. Thay made me feel very well with their teachings. I recommend it to anyone who wants to take a course that really helps both with the language and with daily work.

por Geethu T

3 de ago de 2020

It was my pleasure learning from the University of Pennsylvania.The staffs were too cool and also helped me to develop and correct my mistakes.Also my vocabulary has been developed and has given me the courage to talk boldly and in the proper manner.Thank you very much to my staffs and friends and will keep learning more.

por Mohammed E R

14 de mai de 2020

I really very thrilled to have such course, I love learning English language as I am not native English, and also like very much the work of journalism. this course helped me and provided me with many English terminologies and enhanced my vocabulary , as well as gave me a push to pursue my journalism studies.

Thank you!

por Chris N

24 de jul de 2021

I​ already speak english, but still found this to be an extremely enjoyable course. Videos were informative and relevant to the topics at hand, and it really felt like I was learning something. If you’re even mildly interested in journalism or just looking to perfect your English, this course is worth a shot.

por KAYE A A D G

22 de abr de 2022

My journey with MOOC Camp had been great. It is a great and wonderful opportunity for us to enhance our journalistic skills. It is an avenue for us to be more critical thinkers by being skeptical and curious about the information around us. These taught me to fact check and verify sources if it is reliable.

por Nadya A

7 de set de 2020

I've gained many new information and knowledge through this course. The videos are certainly understandable, which makes it easier and more fun to do the quizzes and assignments. Would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in journalism, writing, English grammar, articles, reporting the news.

por Martyna d L Á

9 de jul de 2020

This was my first course at Coursera, I think I couldn't do better, it was an amazing course, the course structure is very well organized, in the way that you can understand all topics easily. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their English skills and get into journalism.

por Neri P

21 de jan de 2021

When I enrolled to do the course I checked if it was available for free and it was. However now that I've completed it I'm being asked to purchase the certificate. Is there a word for feeling both happy and disappointed at the same time? Nonetheless, it was a good experience learning something new.

por Jacqueline d C P A

7 de out de 2016

El curso English for Journalism, es de alta calidad, ha sido bien diseñado en cuanto a su pedadogía, sus recursos didácticos son los más apropiados para este tipo de curso. El staff de profesores demuestra profesionalismo y paciencia y mucha equidad con los participantes. Es altamente recomendable.

por Bernard K H L

20 de abr de 2020

The course is structured in an easy to learn. The test and the assignments are all geared for learners to be a stepping stone to become citizen journalists. I enjoy the learning processed here and I strongly recommends to those who aspire to become journalist, take this course. You'll love it.