Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Journalism

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Journalism da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
1,318 classificações
414 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

A

Dec 12, 2018

I was looking for this kind of course and this is a perfect online course which inculde everything from journalism , I have learnt a lot of things from this course and will look for similar courses

JR

Mar 03, 2017

One of the best courses I have finished in the last years. A very well organized and dynamic course. Teachers with a lot of experience and good expertise in the area of teaching. 100% recommended!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o English for Journalism

por KRISHIA M D A

Apr 30, 2019

thanks!

por Anushka c

Dec 12, 2018

I was looking for this kind of course and this is a perfect online course which inculde everything from journalism , I have learnt a lot of things from this course and will look for similar courses

por Alex B

Nov 26, 2016

Excellent course for people for whom English is not their mother tongue! Very well paced.

The course also provides a good insight on what journalism is suppose to be, its principles and values!

por Amit S

Oct 17, 2018

I took this course during my summer vacations. My journey was wonderful, I learnt a lot. The mentors are great. No prior knowledge of journalism is required. The each week is roughly divided into two parts, first part is about journalism practices like interviewing someone, how to begin an article,styles of print media,broadcast journalism etc. Second part is about language focus it helps you in understanding - simple past, reported and quoted speech, present perfect, past progressive, present simple, present progressive etc. In the week 5, you will learn about journalism in digital age. Citizen journalism, intellectual property and ethics of digital journalism are discussed in this week. If you want to explore the field of journalism as a fresher, this course is for you.

por Shreya G

Apr 14, 2019

It is a very nice course and I recommend it to many students

por Van C V

Apr 28, 2019

nice course

por Sergei M

Apr 25, 2019

Awesome course with very rare vocabulary about journalisms. I strongly recommended this course for every journalists who want to study English of work abroad.

por JUAN C F F

Mar 29, 2019

Excellent , it's a great tool to improve the english skills and to learn about journalism

Thank you

por leyla c

Apr 08, 2019

Really enjoyable thank you

por Igwe D O

Feb 24, 2019

The course has helped stay relevant in my career. The knowledge I got from the course not only has helped me a great deal in my work, it has equipped with relevant skills needed for survival in digital age.

por Adrián A M

Feb 13, 2019

Recomiendo el curso ampliamente ya que te ayuda con el lenguaje y el periodismo. Las lecturas y las habilidades que te da el curso son muy buenas.

por Pedro L M

Feb 10, 2019

I learned some journalism stuff and some english in this free online and massive course. Congrats to the organizers.

por Teferi A G

Dec 25, 2017

This course is very essential for both professionals and non professionals. It raises essential points on the subject matter and builds english language ability. I thank the university very much!

por Aditya J

Apr 17, 2019

Its a good course

por Iami G

Mar 31, 2019

The quizzes could be more creative sometimes, they can get a bit boring.

por ilaria s

May 29, 2019

the course was fine, but definitely too slow and repetetive for me.

Is it really necessary to start every single video lesson with a recap of the previous video lesson, and end it with a recap of the current video lesson? We are talking about 5 minutes long videos, what should I need a recap for?

por Meeqat M

Nov 29, 2018

it was fun doing this course for free. It taught me so many things regarding the history of journalism along with the present age. The course instructors did a great job. I had a great time while doing this course and getting to learn new new things. Great experience.

por Mehwish H

Nov 29, 2018

this course is very informative. Teaching methodolgy is excellent.

por Tayyaba

Nov 27, 2018

It was very helpful course. I have learnt many things regrding journalism and English grammer. I have improved enough after finishing the course.

por suman R

Dec 03, 2018

It was a great experience for me

por Richa S

Dec 26, 2018

very much like the courses...

por Игнатова А С

Mar 18, 2019

Полезный курс в теоретическом плане, повторяешь грамматику, узнаёшь много новой информации о журналистике в целом, пополняешь словарный запас. Задания интересные. Советую данный курс!

por Borja S T

Jan 06, 2019

Buen contenido y actividades para realizar durante el curso. Lo único negativo: las clases de gramática de inglés, demasiado sencilla y básica.

por Elene M

Dec 05, 2018

This course was just what I needed! I was writing articles in my mother language for long but never had the courage to write in English. This course helped me overcome my fear and provided interesting and useful knowledge about journalism.

por Coulibaly A D

Nov 23, 2018

So better for a journalist to improve his skills