Chevron Left
Voltar para Programação em Java: solução de problemas com software

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Programação em Java: solução de problemas com software da instituição Universidade Duke

4.6
2,662 classificações
527 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Melhores avaliações

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

CC

Mar 29, 2018

Great course, it does help to have some background knowledge in another language but it is doable without any. goes through some fun projects but also some work usable items such as CSV parsing.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Programação em Java: solução de problemas com software

por Rathna S

May 16, 2017

I have just started the course, but it is way over my head. This should clearly be marked as intermediate, advanced or marked as for people already in IT industry.

por David N

Aug 08, 2016

You need a little more experience in coding that just the first course, or try not to leave everything by the end of the week(as I did) to find what you need for the assignments. Great course !

por German

May 12, 2019

I'm so glad I've found this amazing course! Thank you!

por shelby p

Feb 11, 2019

Really poor course structure and material explanations. Canceling subscription.

por Hasan Ç

Feb 11, 2018

It was very instructive course. I recomend every people who want to take this course. I thank all the instructors who gave this lesson.

por Yuming C

Jun 03, 2019

A good experience! The programming exercise is interesting!

por Hanna B

Jun 02, 2019

Thanks a lot for improving my skills! This course is really great to succed in Java as a beginner:) A lot of interesting practical tasks!

por Sergey S

May 21, 2019

Second week was a bit difficult to work with.

por Umar K

Apr 19, 2019

The assignment questions were very repetitive. A lot of times the assignment questions weren't clear. As opposed to spending a lot of time learning and debugging my code, it felt like I was doing rote work. The worst part about the course experience was the BlueJay IDE. It requires you to manually compile your code, then create a new instance of your class, then run the test method, after EVERY change.

por Saunak S

Mar 26, 2019

Good practical use cases of Java have been given. The challenging quotient on some of the questions can be increased. For instance, the use of arrays to process CSV files, etc. But it was refreshing to do a Java course that didn't focus on the usual syntax and semantics but looked at real life examples.

por Lucas N

Mar 22, 2019

To say this course is for beginners is a misnomer.

I think if one has some familiarity with another programming language then yes - this could be a beginner course. I came into this course with zero formal programming knowledge and was completely overwhelmed by the pace and material. This course does not give the students any/enough "small wins" to build muscle memory and gain confidence.

I was drawn in by assumed time for completion. 4-8 hours/week sounded pretty good for the schedule of a working adult, however the 10-minute "assignments" consistently took me 6+ hours (most of the time spent calling/screen-sharing with my developer friend for help). Again, I think if one already has some programming knowledge (and therefore not *really* a 'beginner') then yes, this would probably take them that amount of time.

I folded almost at the end of week 2. To echo another review here, it seems the instructors forgot what it is like to be a beginner. The instructors assume too much about what their students know. Really kicking myself for spending the money trying to limp through this course.

If you are like me and starting without any experience, there are plenty of alternative free material actually geared towards 'beginners' that will give you the context and practice needed to actually comprehend the course material.

por Arjun B

Jan 25, 2019

Very difficult beginner course but possible with all the discussion forums and such but will require hours and hours of practice and time. Overall good course but time consuming and difficult for a beginner who is just starting out with programming. Not so bad for people with a few months or years of experience though which is why I'm giving 4/5 stars but would have given 2/5 stars from a beginner's perspective.

por Theresa S

Feb 18, 2018

There are other OOP courses out there that are easier to follow & execute on assignments. The java editor used in this class is clunky and ridiculous and the assignment instructions seem out of date and disorganized - this class was infuriating. It takes simple assignments and obfuscates instructions.

por Shavonn D

Jul 18, 2019

A good course overall, however, there is little training given on how to debug and identify coding errors. Every mistake needs to be closely looked at, with a lot of trial and error approaches, which were greatly tedious. The time estimations on the last two weeks of assignments, were fairly off from the actual time taken (Given as 10 mins, took 2 hours easily!!).

The course is good, but is not supplemented with the best Java platform to debug and understand, and the quizzes can be very irritating since a small roadblock in coding, can lead to stalling for hours. Without being able to pass the quiz, there is no way to proceed or even fix the code.

por Ivan L

Jul 18, 2019

Very good course for beginners with java, every recommendation!!!

por Piyush P

Jul 18, 2019

Awesome

por Savin K

Jul 15, 2019

I am very pleased that you have gave us such exercises. Loved and enjoyed the course.

por Aiswarya V

Jul 11, 2019

I have started with basics of java programming but now i have gained more skills and get used to work with csv files , image files and learned using resource classes.. I strongly recommend this course to people who are willing to learn applications of java programming.

por Asmaa S S M

Jul 09, 2019

Thanks

por Rahul R

Jul 09, 2019

This was an great experience !

por Vaibhav S

Jul 05, 2019

This course helped me in gaining some really valuable and essential programming skills that are very essential for an industry ready software engineer. I'm deeply thankful to Coursera and Duke University Professors, who have devoted significant time and resources in creating this awesome content.

por Borsós A B

Jul 01, 2019

Bad organized, too many typos, errors, uncleared and illogic things in the Assignments. I am almost at the end, but now I really quitting this stuff. I liked the Programming C from the Duke, but this one is a total mess. There are no Instructors and Teaching Staff to talk to in the Forums, just some Mentors, but that is not a big help, this Course is total left alone from the Authors. Andy Hilton is a good guy, should read the discussions and correct the errors!

por Lavanya T

Jun 27, 2019

A really interesting course. Well structured course curriculum and well framed quizzes and assignments. A bit higher than the beginner level but the discussion forums helped me get through. I would really recommend this to all the beginners as it has an offers an amazing opportunity to get aware of the scope and usage of programming.

por Vladyslav B

Jun 27, 2019

Very good

por SHIKHAR G

Jun 27, 2019

awsome