Chevron Left
Voltar para IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Comentários e feedback de alunos de IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts da instituição Google

4.8
3,260 classificações
518 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. Finally, we’ll go through a case study, where we examine the security model of Chrome OS. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Melhores avaliações

DS

Apr 26, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

DS

Aug 17, 2018

This course was insane, all the possibilities, the potential for growth, and the different ways to help protect against cyber attacks. It was truly an eye-opening lesson in security. Thank you.

Filtrar por:

451 — 475 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

por Robert S L

Oct 01, 2018

Interesting course as an Intro for various technical concepts.

por Valerio D R

Sep 07, 2018

Very good course. Maybe some more practical examples would be nice, like placement and setup of hardware components in the network

por Clarence E A

Sep 07, 2018

I would like more questions during the course. During the videos so that I can learn better. Atleast one per topic or definition.

por Kevin T

Jun 10, 2018

hit all the points, some more labs with security tools can be useful.

por Omar M

Apr 12, 2018

Easy and good!

por Kiera L C

Feb 21, 2018

Great course!! Easy to understand. Already knew most of it, just filled in some gaps. Instructor was funny and spoke clearly

por Brad S

Mar 22, 2018

Description for the final assignment was too vague. Passed it on the second try but the target was not very clear.

por Eddie M

Jun 20, 2018

i wish there was a way to get all the dialogue printed as a pdf file. it takes a lot of time and effort to find the material you need by clicking over one hudred links to see the transcript. im one of those people that likes a textbook for class. overall i think the most difficult course to understand the critical points of security. glad its over on to the next ! probably take the comptia A+ test after reviewing for free online or if coursera has a cheap class on it .

por Brent K

Jun 11, 2018

I feel like this went way more in depth than I think most people just getting into it can handle. I think either this needs to be dumbed down or drawn out a bit more, but a lot of great info.

por Aruna M

Jun 06, 2018

excellent

por Ronnie L P S

May 22, 2018

Great opportunity to learn IT Support!

por William B D

Mar 29, 2018

This is a great class, and I learned a lot.

However, the final assignment is not very fair. We are asked to provide recommendations and cover certain topics, but the rubric for grading ask for much more than what the assignment wants. This means there is a good change that after you have had the assignment graded by three peers, you will have to re-do the whole assignment and find three more people to review it.

Whoever wrote the assignment should have also been the one to write the grading rubric as well. The disconnect between the two is terrible.

por David N

May 09, 2018

Who knew computers were so vulnerable. Excellent course to learn how to secure your IT infrastructure.

por Christopher M

Jun 18, 2018

Challenging but enjoyed learning in depth about network security.

por Benjamin M

Mar 28, 2018

A few announced interesting Supplemental readings where actually not included

por Mark W

Feb 12, 2018

Decent introduction to IT security. Goes over a lot of terminology and practices to secure systems.

por Edward R

Mar 29, 2018

Good content though the transcripts need editing - I suspect it was passed through a speech recognition engine. The final assignment had two glaring errors in the marking rubric, so overall good content but the text needs attention to detail.

por Mark H

May 04, 2018

Good coverage of material. Important things to understand.

I still found some topics to be confusing, even after re-watching them.

por Ruth

May 25, 2018

This is a good course and well presented.

por Andrew O

Jul 26, 2018

What was with that final assignment? This is a 50-person company making widgets, not something serving as a contractor to the DOD. So many of the things being looked for are complete overkill for that sort of environment.

por Aaron C C

Apr 18, 2019

I would have liked more hands on activities in this course. Other than that, there is a ton of information. Good course.

por Martin D

May 05, 2019

Pro: Lots of good information. Has definitely motivated me to learn more about this important subject. I really liked having the transcript available.

Con: Hands on labs are good, but they seemed a bit superficial. Would have been nice to have multiple presenters, perhaps teach various concepts through interviews with expert practitioners.

por Tuang T

May 08, 2019

Lots of concepts, need more graphics and or graphics to stay on longer while instructor explains the topic.

por Himanshu C

May 27, 2019

great 4.5/5

por Preston M

May 19, 2019

Some of the labs earlier on were kinda confusing but I learned a lot to make up for it. Definitely recommend to anyone with basic knowledge or no knowledge of IT.