Chevron Left
Voltar para IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Comentários e feedback de alunos de IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts da instituição Google

4.8
estrelas
12,798 classificações
2,213 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Melhores avaliações

DS
25 de Abr de 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

DG
4 de Dez de 2020

An absolutely engaging and challenging feat that I am so proud to have completed. I hope this opens new door and better job opportunities so that I can better enhance my future. Thank you Google :)

Filtrar por:

1901 — 1925 de 2,213 Avaliações para o IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

por Abhay K P

21 de Mar de 2020

osm

por Romeo W

2 de Ago de 2019

yay

por Roberto

21 de Mar de 2021

ty

por David O

26 de Fev de 2021

A1

por Kamriyadin

9 de Nov de 2020

ok

por Vimal J

4 de Nov de 2020

Ok

por Marouane F

3 de Ago de 2020

ok

por Víctor R

18 de Jul de 2020

ok

por Zaferuddin G

18 de Jul de 2021

5

por GARAH A

10 de Jul de 2021

por Wisam A

11 de Mar de 2021

.

por Brayan M C

6 de Dez de 2020

.

por Mario P

3 de Out de 2020

T

por FAUSTINE F K

15 de Jun de 2020

.

por STANLEY M W

20 de Ago de 2018

T

por S A A

3 de Jul de 2018

G

por M. D

28 de Jun de 2020

Some of the questions were not as well written as they could have been. The criteria I use in this is the following: If I get a question wrong, am I able to learn something from the feedback? That is, as a student that has actually watched all the videos and reviewed all the written material, does any mistake that I make and the feedback provided help me clarify my understanding of the material? In some cases, it was just a matter of learning "the test believes the answer is A and C". It is completely fair to ask me to go back to this or that video or section, but in the cases where I did so, the questions often were not any clearer. Many of the questions were excellent, but I hope that there is analysis of the questions that students miss that is analyzed in terms of final score to better identify which questions created a struggle. In some cases, they are well worded and the struggle is the concepts or breadth of material, in some, a later reading might make it obvious that the question is poorly phrased. This will be even more pronounced in terms of impact for translated questions or second language learners.

por Tony L

2 de Jul de 2019

Great for beginners. This course will help you start learning new things. Remember that are so many things the program can teach you. This helped me a crash start and this motivated me to learn more things outside this course. It can be overwhelming sometimes. I didn't give this a 5 star because there are some assignments that aren't helpful because there are so much that the program can teach you that it's rushed or not explained very well when you start doing assignments.

The nicest thing about this program is that you can start and finish it whenever it's convenient. There are deadlines but you can reset them. Although it's great that you can reset deadlines, you can get lazy and put it off. Believe me, it's hard. It has happened to me. The community and administrators in the forums are also helpful if you have problems or need help.

Hopefully, this certificate helps me land a job and every that finish this course.

por Sterling H

1 de Ago de 2019

Pros: There is a lot of helpful information about security practices, malware, authentication and various security concepts. I learned about the types of tasks IT security professionals accomplish and some challenges they face with technology. The discussion prompts are fun and watching the career tip videos are helpful.

Cons: Many of the supplemental readings are links to complex and often confusing Wikipedia articles. I would prefer if google wrote their own content for the supplemental readings. Focusing more about troubleshooting IT security. The instructor wore a T shirt instead of professional clothing. Wearing a T shirt to teach a course reminds me of the unprofessional toxic bro culture that the tech industry is struggling with. Also I'm not fan of the peer graded assignments.

Overall: I recommend the course because one will gain exposure to the world IT security.

por Christopher B C

13 de Mar de 2019

I wish that the final project's grading point rubric included the external website security as part of the grading rubric's requirement instead of being omitted despite the project itself saying that our documentation should include as such. Now that I have finished the final project, I had actually wished that the final project was harder by raising the number of points needed to complete the project. Reviewing the final project and seeing if a new version could be applied to this would benefit this course a lot better. Otherwise, I would recommend students to take this course, especially if they wanted to take the 5-course specialization that includes this and the other 4 courses as well.

por Stacy G

18 de Jun de 2019

A nice introduction to security in IT technology! The course covers everything from software and user security problems, to network hardening from a pretty high level (generally pretty abstracted) overview. Just deep enough to understand how and why certain principles should apply to security, and not too much more - a nice course overall.

It would have been nice to have more labs, exploring different tools. There's one where you use tcpdump in Linux to do some traffic monitoring which is quite cool to check out, but the remaining majority of assignments are short quizzes and a detailed, peer-reviewed assignment you write at the end of the course. Nice presentation as always from Google.

por Dave C

26 de Set de 2019

This is intensive course. Much to learn. It is like learning the whole new language as trying to live in the foreign land. Not knowing exactly where things are and having to keep review and refer back to what I have just heard / learned. The practicing implementation is not as clear to me as it was guided step by step in many cases. But it helped a lot in the sense that helped me gain knowledge about the Integrated Technologies, and how it really is necessary tools that everyone should be equipped with no matter what field you are in. And thank goodness for those instructors, who seemed to have spent countless hours to make the learning more seamless.

por William B D

29 de Mar de 2018

This is a great class, and I learned a lot.

However, the final assignment is not very fair. We are asked to provide recommendations and cover certain topics, but the rubric for grading ask for much more than what the assignment wants. This means there is a good change that after you have had the assignment graded by three peers, you will have to re-do the whole assignment and find three more people to review it.

Whoever wrote the assignment should have also been the one to write the grading rubric as well. The disconnect between the two is terrible.

por Jonathan M

28 de Out de 2018

Other than Networking section, this was one of the toughest courses, but very informational. The final peer review test was not straightforward enough on what to produce as a "report" result. It did not provide enough of what was expected (details). They should have hinted that details (password length, times, characters, 802.11x, SIDS, SIPS, etc.) was too specific on what was asked in the peer review and nothing about the concepts of security (layers or security, AD, Radius or other).

por Eduardo M

20 de Jun de 2018

i wish there was a way to get all the dialogue printed as a pdf file. it takes a lot of time and effort to find the material you need by clicking over one hudred links to see the transcript. im one of those people that likes a textbook for class. overall i think the most difficult course to understand the critical points of security. glad its over on to the next ! probably take the comptia A+ test after reviewing for free online or if coursera has a cheap class on it .