Chevron Left
Voltar para Israel State and Society

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Israel State and Society da instituição Universidade Hebraica de Jerusalém

4.7
119 classificações
31 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Israel is a country that draws a lot of public attention around the globe. Nevertheless, both those who support Israel and those who are critical of its geopolitical standing and policies, usually have a very limited knowledge about the Israeli society and its political system. This course presents Israel from multiple perspectives - political, social, economic and cultural - in an attempt to expose the learners to a cutting edge academic research on the country. Each of the 13 sessions is focused on one aspect of the Israeli society. Every session starts with a general introduction of the issue at hand, hosting one expert or more, who share their most recent studies and insights on that specific field. Every 15 minutes, or so, the students are asked to answer an informative quiz of comprised of a single question. Upon the completion of each class, an online chat will be opened. Students studying for credit are expected to participate in it, ask relevant questions and answer questions about the required readings for this class. Students will graduate from this course with a better understanding of the Israeli society, better knowledge of the Israeli history, politics and economy, and better acquaintance with the varying groups of which the Israeli society is comprised....

Melhores avaliações

BD

Jan 19, 2017

Very informative, and engaging, videos. There are however no links to useable reading texts, which is a shame. But the content of the videos are of incredible value.

SS

Sep 23, 2017

Really good over view of the demographics of Israeli society. As a diaspora Jew it's given me a greater understanding of Israeli politics.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Israel State and Society

By Carles B

Apr 20, 2019

Each lecture included some interesting facts about Israel and its society. Maybe I miss the perspective from the Plaestine counterpart, but it's a course from the Hebrew University, and I recognize their efforts to give scientific data and approaches. I would recommend this course.

By Joy S

Mar 02, 2018

really interesting

By Sharon G

Jan 19, 2018

Its fascinating and rich. I feel privilege to listen to and learn from these many great minds.

By Katarina M

Dec 09, 2017

Great, exhaustive course which provides a lot of insight to all those interested in Israel and its culture and society. This course is definitely suitable for the beginners, but also people like me (master in Middle Eastern studies) will greatly benefit from it. Highly recommended!!!

By Mobasher A

Nov 26, 2017

It provide a broad understanding of Israeli-Palestinian/Arab conflict

By (Rob)Wang S

Nov 19, 2017

My very first course taken in coursera. It has been very heavy on content, but the information is meaningful for a thorough understanding of Israel society. I recommend this course to folks who share an interest in getting to know more about Israel, as well as those who wish to travel to Israel. The course did help me to understand where I am heading towards when I travel to Israel.

By Eslam H M A

Mar 14, 2019

ز

By Zac A

Feb 28, 2019

amazing course , It would be more amazing if it could be extended to cover a wider range of different sides of Israeli culture ad its connection to Middle East and future perspectives , and also the linguistic connection with Arabic .

By Bernardo M

Feb 09, 2018

Excellent course!

By Oscar J

Aug 27, 2017

Very Insightful

By vijaybuddhisagar

Jul 31, 2017

very good prsentation

By Tamer E

Jul 20, 2017

Some lectures were extremely good while others were poor in content.

By Victoria M

Jun 29, 2017

Good course for learning about contemporary Israeli society with a variety of lecturers who are leaders on their topics.

By Yuri R d O

Jun 23, 2017

Great course for those who, like me, want to know more about the israeli society in a political and sociological view.

By Michael H

Jun 15, 2017

I was listening to this course to satisfy my personal interests. I think it creates a detailed picture of the Israeli society to a person like me, now I'm a foreigner but in the future I plan to become Israeli. I especially enjoyed the last 3 lectures. Great job, thanks!

By Shagaret

Jun 11, 2017

This has been an interesting course for people who like me are curious about the State of Israel. It has been well structured taking us from the beginning of its formation, then through History and finally to all aspects that make up a State. I have learnt some interesting facts as for example how education is organised which interests me since I am a teacher. The lectures have been enjoyable most of them and the quality of them outstanding.

By Ekaterina

Jun 11, 2017

It was an interesting course, especially week 13. I didn't like the background on video and sometimes the quality of the video. Please, change it, it is so hard to watch this crazy blue wall for an hour and more.

By JOHN Q

Jun 04, 2017

Interesting course. Thanks.

By Scott Y G

May 21, 2017

This is a great course, full of new views and perspectives regarding to the Israel Society. The readings assigned are useful and provide some new insights that are somewhat implicitly stated in the lectures.

I really enjoyed the course, and I wish one day I can visit Jerusalem in person.

By Fernanda d S S M

Apr 27, 2017

O Curso é excelente. Apresenta um panorama geral do Estado de Israel e dos processos que o tornaram o que é hoje. Muito bom poder aprender com importantes professores da Universidade Hebraica de Jerusalém e suas pesquisas recentes em cada área de estudo. Curso muito recomendável.

By Olaf D

Apr 01, 2017

A very, very interesting course. I enjoyed every minute!

By Afaque R A

Mar 28, 2017

Except for the last lecture on Jerusalem, I loved each and every lecture in the course. Also, the quizzes should have been a little longer, i.e. with more questions, at least 3-5 questions for each week.

By Kaiser O

Mar 25, 2017

Well made and really amazed by the effort of objectivity done by the teachers

By SERGIO F B

Jan 28, 2017

Achei o curso muito bom, contêm informações relevantes e qualificadas.

By Jennifer K

Jan 25, 2017

I enjoyed this class to the fullest! It was very organized and user friendly! The lectures were very interesting and well as easy to access actual wording because the transcript was right below the video. As an American I have always been interested by The State of Israel but did not know where to find a concise class that I could afford to take . Thank you for providing this!