Chevron Left
Voltar para Securing Investment Returns in the Long Run

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Securing Investment Returns in the Long Run da instituição Universidade de GenebraUniversidade de Genebra

4.8
estrelas
1,085 classificações
132 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, you will learn about the famous dichotomy between active and passive investing, how to appropriately measure and analyze investment performance and what the future trends in the investment management industry are. You will first learn about absolute and relative performance, risk-adjusted returns and how to decompose investment performance. The focus will then shift to the two main categories of investment vehicles, active and passive funds, and what they entail in terms of expected performance. Finally, you will explore the worlds of sustainable finance, neurofinance and fintech, three areas of research that will shape the future of the investment management industry. You will also benefit from the insights of experts from UBS, our corporate partner, on the practical implementation of the various concepts we will develop in this course....

Melhores avaliações

FK
1 de Mai de 2020

As with the earlier courses, the content was comprehensive and presented in a very engaging style. Each and every faculty member stands out in her/his own way and Prof. Michel Girardin is THE BEST!

KS
13 de Set de 2016

Wonderful! This course help me a lot in learning how to evaluate the performance of investment vehicle such as mutual fund, also enlarge my perspectives towards future financial trends.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 134 Avaliações para o Securing Investment Returns in the Long Run

por Tom S

20 de Nov de 2016

Very little of use in this course. A lot of academic mumbo jumbo that is totally useless when confronted with the infinite investment opportunities. The student is presented with a number of time consuming/wasting formulas to apply to the decision process.

If one ACTUALLY used those formulas, one would still be waiting to buy the first stock.

A question from the Week 4 test will demonstrate just how useless this course is:

The Situation: "You invested to maximize your wealth over a one year period. You are eagerly anticipating the returns after the first month."

The Question: "What part of your brain is being activated?"

What's Wrong with this?

First of all, who invests in order to make it big in one year. You are trading if that is your goal.

Second: who gives a flying fig about what part of the brain is engaged? What am I supposed to do with the answer? How does this, in the least, help me make better investment decisions.

I'm done. I was going to take all the courses in this specialization. No more. Waste of time and money.

por VIKRAM K

21 de Jan de 2018

W

o

n

d

e

r

f

u

l

C

o

u

r

s

e

por Philipp T K

30 de Set de 2016

This course deals mainly with the topic of evaluating the performance of investments and uses the outcomes to discuss the benefits of active and passive funds. Measures are introduced to evaluate the risk adjusted returns of investments. In addition, evaluation tools for the performance of active managers are presented. The videos are of great quality. The quizzes could be more challenging.

por Firdaus K

1 de Mai de 2020

As with the earlier courses, the content was comprehensive and presented in a very engaging style. Each and every faculty member stands out in her/his own way and Prof. Michel Girardin is THE BEST!

por Kasidis S

13 de Set de 2016

Wonderful! This course help me a lot in learning how to evaluate the performance of investment vehicle such as mutual fund, also enlarge my perspectives towards future financial trends.

por Matteo E

19 de Jun de 2017

Necessary to have completed previous courses from the University of Geneva to make the most of this course (or at least have some previous exposure to finance). Out of all the courses in the Specialisation in Financial Markets, maybe the least valid course. Still excellent material, but more in the sense of introducing the hottest trends rather than exploring them in any depth.

por ALEXANDRE J D S

6 de Jun de 2021

I thought the Course was very good. Teachers demonstrated great knowledge. The difference was the ability to critically view each video-class, it impressed me that in addition to the incredible didactics in relation to the methods to analyze the themes, they also demonstrated great scientific knowledge, which helped me a lot to enrich my knowledge in financial investments. I am very grateful for the opportunity to have studied this Course as part of the Investment Management Specialization.

por Vinayak I

20 de Abr de 2020

A really good final course to cap it off. The discussion with David from UBS was especially interesting. However some topics could've been explained in more detail - like in performance analysis risk factor analysis and style analysis was just named and not explored further. A comparison of structured products v/s options contract. All in all, I thank Prof Michel for his guidance and teaching.

por Deokumar G

18 de Nov de 2019

In Course 4, "Securing Investment Returns In The Long Run", I am so far being introduced to the many diverse concepts of a high yield, or rather high return, on all investments made. Whether it be to actively or passively manage or base your investment allocations on one or more comparative benchmarks, Course 4 of this Investment Management Specialization is captivating. - deokumar gandharry

por Rohini B

26 de Jun de 2020

Thank you all I have learnt a lot and hope to continue to learn and implement what I have learnt in my financial choices . A special thank you to DR Michel Girardin, you are a great teacher and I can see you love this subject as your eyes sparkle when you teach and you light up with joy. I love to see this in a teacher as it is that spark that kindles learning in many. Thank you all .

por ARVIND K S

22 de Mar de 2019

I found the course as well as the specialization highly educative. It affords new insights into active vs passive management, performance measurement indices , ascertaining alphas, information ratios and getting an insight into the future areas of finance. Immense efforts put to bring the best profs and practitioners under one roof. Enjoyed the specialization as much as they did.

por T. V

26 de Jul de 2020

Great way to close a great specialization! I really enjoyed the debate between the professor and UBS on the merit of active management vs passive management. Also really enjoyed the lessons on future trends - sustainable finance, fintech and neurofinance. All in all a great specialization, really recommend it to anyone interested in getting a good fundamental knowledge of finance.

por Juan F E M

6 de Jan de 2021

A very insightful investment course that for sure would help you to make better investment decisions reducing risks and maximizing returns. All of this combined with the prestige of the University of Geneva and Dr. Michel Girardin who is one of the greatest instructors right here will make your experience with this course a very pleasant one.

por Valeriy K

15 de Out de 2018

Another fantastic course by the University of Geneva! I was really happy to dive deeper in the topic of sustainable investment. I really think that purpose-guided investment is a future of finance. Thank you to all the staff at University of Geneva and UBS. My special thanks to Michel Girardin! I wish I had such lecturers when I took my MBA.

por Hmei D

16 de Jun de 2020

Thank you Dr. Michel for wonderful instructions and all other professors' guide. It provides a comprehensive finance course on strategic investment management. I really enjoyed the course and learned a solid theoretical and practical methodology. I will recommend it to others. Best Regards and Have a great day.

por Ramon V S

15 de Abr de 2021

Loved this specialization, it has broaden my knowledge about all financial markets. I was not a newbie when I started but most of my education was empirical from my own experience, these concepts and information will help me make better rational decisions for my investments

por Messias U

14 de Mai de 2019

The course kicks off with the debate of advantages and disadvantages of passive versus active fund management. It moves to sustainable investing and closes with more advanced topics on neuro-finance and roboadvisory topics. These were sweet and deep waters for me!

por Melanie A

7 de Out de 2016

Great course - learned a lot. Videos are short and easy to understand/view and the quiz and questions help to integrate and test the concepts taught. The entire series is the best online learning course I've ever taken! Definitely recommend.,

por Brijesh95

28 de Jan de 2018

To describe the entire experience in one word: Amazing!

Great and knowledgeable peers and coordinators who make the course interesting and the additional information provided by UBS guest speakers are the icing on the cake.

por Mircea N S

20 de Jul de 2016

Another well thought module by the same great professors of University of Geneva. Cannot tell you how much we enjoy your course so far and how useful all these knowledge is for us, students. Much appreciated!

por Felipe C

16 de Jan de 2020

I have really enjoyed this specialization courses, the lecturers with huge capacity and broad knowledge in finance area, the way of explaining all the material. I recommend it completely.

por Javier I v C

28 de Nov de 2020

Excellent, I liked the topic of sustainable investment and how companies with ESG can cause great changes in the community and at the same time be stable over time.

por Andrew G

13 de Fev de 2017

Highly in depth and qualified lecturers who do brilliantly to break concepts down, especially Michel Girardin. Congratulations and thanks to all the staff involved

por ahmed b

17 de Set de 2016

I recommend this course for every one interested to understand the dynamics of financial markets and the future trends of financial markets and portfolio management

por Aaron K

2 de Out de 2017

An excellent insight offered from the teaching team on the real world of portfolio management and how best to sustain investment returns over a long time horizon