Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Data Engineering

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Data Engineering da instituição IBM Skills Network

4.7
estrelas
999 classificações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to the core concepts, processes, and tools you need to know in order to get a foundational knowledge of data engineering. You will gain an understanding of the modern data ecosystem and the role Data Engineers, Data Scientists, and Data Analysts play in this ecosystem. The Data Engineering Ecosystem includes several different components. It includes disparate data types, formats, and sources of data. Data Pipelines gather data from multiple sources, transform it into analytics-ready data, and make it available to data consumers for analytics and decision-making. Data repositories, such as relational and non-relational databases, data warehouses, data marts, data lakes, and big data stores process and store this data. Data Integration Platforms combine disparate data into a unified view for the data consumers. You will learn about each of these components in this course. You will also learn about Big Data and the use of some of the Big Data processing tools. A typical Data Engineering lifecycle includes architecting data platforms, designing data stores, and gathering, importing, wrangling, querying, and analyzing data. It also includes performance monitoring and finetuning to ensure systems are performing at optimal levels. In this course, you will learn about the data engineering lifecycle. You will also learn about security, governance, and compliance. Data Engineering is recognized as one of the fastest-growing fields today. The career opportunities available in the field and the different paths you can take to enter this field are discussed in the course. The course also includes hands-on labs that guide you to create your IBM Cloud Lite account, provision a database instance, load data into the database instance, and perform some basic querying operations that help you understand your dataset....

Melhores avaliações

MF

25 de mar de 2022

This course is optimal for the foundations and understanding of Data Engineering. Please take it and absorb all the knowledge and be amazed about your future with the Data Engineer certification.

OL

12 de out de 2021

I am currently studying Chemical Engineering. However, after going for industry training as a data analyst, I decided to venture more in this direction and I really learn a lot from this course.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 228 Avaliações para o Introduction to Data Engineering

por Jose A

2 de jul de 2022

Great overall! The viewpoints from data professionals complements the educational content very well and gives the student a much better idea of what the process is to become a data engineer.

por Saúl L

16 de jun de 2021

Although, It's an introductory curse, the concepts to provides are pretty helpful to know all the data ecosystem, specially the different positions around Data Science. I love the concept to show at the beginning, something like that: "Data Engineer is in charge of the data quality"

Also, involves security, governance and regulatory constrictions. That's why it so demanding about knowledge in tech, methodologies and math.

por Blake G

29 de mar de 2021

I'm transitioning into a tech career and have found this course helpful. Part of me wants to jump ahead to the other courses in the specialization but I have been learning more about the basics which is good. I'm also only on week 2 so I would imagine the knowledge gets more in-depth in the following "weeks"

I finished this class in one week and I am excited to dive into the python courses.

por Albert R

26 de set de 2021

I felt the course was the perfect introduction for someone like me that has been on the sales side of most software. I feel that it wasnt ovewhelming at all, and I mostly enjoyed the labs.

por Ayinoluwa K

10 de abr de 2022

This is a very thorough course, giving you all you need to know about the basics of Data Engineering and what skills you need to equip yourself with to grow in this career. Great Instructors, great content. I enjoyed every bit of the course.

por ONG H L / U

12 de out de 2021

I am currently studying Chemical Engineering. However, after going for industry training as a data analyst, I decided to venture more in this direction and I really learn a lot from this course.

por Dan F

20 de out de 2021

T​his course was well made and informative. I went in knowing little about data engineering and now I have a much better understanding of what data engineering is all about.

por Jeong H K

8 de jan de 2022

Good class for beginners to build up basic knowledges and backgrounds in Data Engineering. Highly recommend for people to be a data engineer, scientist, and analyst.

por Anirudh S

4 de mar de 2021

Very informative and well structured course. I recommend this course for every person who aspires to become a Data Engineer :)

por Raúl A S L

17 de out de 2021

Es un gran curso, muy informativo. Ahora tengo muy claro que es Data Engineering.

por Lanny R J

11 de mar de 2021

This course was very easy to follow and learn. The pace was just right and the material was very helpful.

por Colleen O

17 de out de 2021

This is listed as a "Beginner" course, but I don't think so. They use terminology, and then don't explain what that terminology means in the moment...if at all. (e.g. API, Relational Database, NonRelational Database, Data Warehouse, Data Mart, Data Lake. Their explanation of Delimeter wasn't good). I have at least a dozen things I had to Google, and I marked them as such.

Things that don't need repeating or further explanation get exactly that...it's very odd.

Also, One of the Practice Quizzes contradicts the Graded Quiz re: whether XML format is used by APIs (I have a screenshot.)

Advice to the Creators:

It's October 2021. Nobody has the bandwidth, spoons, or patience anymore. Hell, we only have the Bones a few days a week, at most. (Pending confirmation from Noodle, of course). TL;DR as much as possible, and CLEARLY EXPLAIN the rest IN THE MOMENT, TO PEOPLE WHO ARE BEGINNERS TO TECH.

Thank you.

por William W

5 de ago de 2021

I​ thought this course was a pretty insightful introduction, but the process of provisioning a DB2 instance on IBM cloud was terrible. The instructions given were simple and straightforward, but my DB2 provisioning process kept failing, and when I went on Coursera's forums, I saw that many others were having this same problem. Eventually I followed some of their advice (that they had acquired through trial and error), and I did successfully provision a database. But when I went to the db's "manage" tab, there was no option to "Open Console."

T​his is a shame because it made it impossible to do some of the later labs, and honestly it did give me a bit of a negative impression of IBM's cloud services.

por Der H

9 de set de 2021

T​he videos are very nice and give a good introduction into Data Engineering. Unfortunately, literally none of the hands-on exercises worked. In every single one the IBM cloud returned errors and I couldn't proceed. The tutors in the forum suggested to delete the DB and create it from scratch. I learned the basics of data engineering in this course and I learned that the IBM cloud is probably not an reasonable tool to use for it.

por pushkar d

8 de mai de 2022

I took this course as part of the "IBM Data Engineering Professional Certificate". As mentioned in the title, it is an introductory course and hence was quite theoretical and conceptual.

Even though it is theory, concepts are explained clearly and with examples. The "perspectives" videos from industry professionals make each topic come alive as it feels like you were the one to directly ask the people questions and are listening to their response. It also makes the section less dry.

Overall, I feel confident in my understanding of Data Engineering now. The only nitpick is that there is quite a bit of information to digest and it's better if you take running notes (helps revise for assignments as well)

por Muhammad F R

9 de jan de 2022

Feeling lucky and blessed to have the opportunity to take this course. This course gave me an overview about Data Engineering. Before taking this course I was wondering what is the difference between DBA, Data Engineer and Data Scientist. Respected Sir Rav Ahuja, Sir Ramesh Sannareddy, and other mentors explained everything beautifully. Now I have a clear overview and a road map for this exciting journey towards becoming a Professional Data Engineer. Thank you :)

por Zaid S

19 de jun de 2022

Well Defined Structure in the course defining the essential knowledge one needs to have to start off a career in Data Engineering. Gives information about the tasks that a Data Engineering has to perform as a routine and different specialization that may suite to one's interest as well. Recommended to start with this course to know whta you are getting into if you are planning to become a successful Data Engineer.

por Govardhan V

17 de abr de 2021

Course is awesome to understand who are already working or who wish to jumpstart their career path in Data Engineering domain to make their decision about 1) which data repository should they used, 2) what kind of data store should be , 3) how to select the their production databased based on their need. Systematic, clean, neat and step by step approach make us easy to learn and remember key artifacts too.

por NURHANINA J

13 de mar de 2022

The course content is a very well-structured, especially for me as a beginner. The viewpoints from the people who working as data engineer was five stars. The text transcript are very helpful too. The instruction for lab session easy to understand, except that some of the image a little blurry (but readable still), so it was okay.

por Ikechukwu K

1 de abr de 2022

This course is awesome. It introduces the concept of data engineering so well while comparing it to other data-related fields such as data analysis, and data science.

I really liked the expert viewpoints on different subject matters - they helped give real-world perspectives too.

A big thank you to IBM for this course.

por Katrina S

18 de fev de 2022

The content was a good overview of things to learn in future courses in the specialization. It was to the point and the advice from those who've worked in the field were informative. The diversity of experience among the course staff is very nice in order to get a broader view of working in the field.

por Jide

19 de set de 2021

Without mincing words, this course was supported with a simple but detailed, easy-to-understand explanation of concepts and laid the proper introduction to Data Engineering. The real-life examples/scenarios from the instructors were good! The journey is worth it, no turning back! Thank you.

por Jerson E L A

11 de jan de 2022

T​he content for this introduction to data data engineering is very complete. It aims to get important notions about the data engineering field at the same time that allows to unterstand the difference and relationship between "data engineering", "data science" and "business intelligence".

por Thanh-Long N

18 de out de 2021

I​t's a very good introduction course about data engineering as it covers well all basic aspects and perspectives of the domain. The presentations are good though not very rich materials. It would be much better if there were more hands-on exercises (the existing ones are too basic)

por Daniel M

24 de mar de 2022

Este curso es perfecto para la persona que quiere dar inicio a este tema. Honestamente es muy completo en cuanto a contenido se refiere y toma en cuenta la explicacion de multiples tecnologias, no solo las de IBM. Estoy super motivado de seguir con esta serie de cursos.