Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Computer Programming

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Computer Programming da instituição Universidade de Londres

4.3
estrelas
443 classificações
142 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This MOOC provides you with the foundational skill set required to write computer programs. If you are interested in learning how to write interactive, graphical programs from an introductory level in a real programming language, this is the course for you. You will begin by learning the basics of editing and running programs. Then you will learn how to create 2D graphics using shapes and coordinates. Finally, you will learn how to create interactive graphics that you can control with the mouse. You will even solve a set of interactive puzzles using your coding skills in the Sleuth game which has been created especially for this course. The course uses the Javascript language and the p5.js library....

Melhores avaliações

GT

Jun 09, 2019

The course is built up well, the steps are easy to follow. Even when there is some research required, the intentional gaps are highly manageable. The gamified deliverables were really fun to do! :-)

RC

Sep 23, 2019

An excellent way to introduce newbies to the programming world. I did not know a thing about programming. However, I've acquired the necessary skills to understand the basics of it!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 142 Avaliações para o Introduction to Computer Programming

por Ana C R P P

May 22, 2019

The course overall is really good . For those who never coded before, I would suggest searching some more additional materials in the internet to assist you (at least for me this helped).

A positive thing that made me enjoy the course was the methodology applied throughout the classes. You will have a video lecture, and a quiz or exercise after it. I believe this helps you practice straight way what you just learned instead of having tons and tons of new content and then trying to remember everything in a final test/assignment.

Negative points: I like challenges and enjoyed the Sleuth & Co. assignment however, it did not make any sense to be applied in the week 1. If you complete the task, the course is considered completed. I am still on week three and I have the certificate with a grade I know I could have obtained higher if I had been able to continue. Some of the content were not explained so in case you try it, be aware you will need to search more examples, definitions about variables, queries, etc in order to be able to complete the cases. I would suggest to keep the assignment but move it to week 3.

por Deleted A

Dec 06, 2019

Very poorly designed and devised. No proper instructions. min method sets the max value and max method sets the min value in p5.js . Instructions are not detailed. Was at week 1 and was expected to create functions and use p5.js built in functions; without proper introduction to JS functions or p5.js functions. Course expects you to self study mostly with trial and error. All they do is set deadlines and provide introductions. Sleuth(week 1 assignment/project) submissions that are supposed to reset daily will not reset again and you only get 5 attempts overall. Check the course forums and you will find the issues and how coursera/course creators have never visited them. Deleting my account after this.

por Ona T

Nov 22, 2018

I'm dropping this course because it is not explained well, if you'd never coded, don't even try.

por Stuart G

Mar 16, 2019

Well presented course. Very likeable lecturers. The pacing was excellent. We started slow and simple but it built up and we were soon being left to solve coding problems on our own. Very enjoyable and I learned a lot. Thank you.

por Ashley W

Apr 13, 2019

Next to no support in the discussion boards, annoying Sleuth assignment setup with out of date text. Shows a lot of effort for sure.

por Abdullah K

Jul 11, 2019

the assignments are just not for beginners at all

por Roberto d l R C

Sep 23, 2019

An excellent way to introduce newbies to the programming world. I did not know a thing about programming. However, I've acquired the necessary skills to understand the basics of it!

por Brandon S

Feb 24, 2019

Very challenging (which is good!) But at times.. hard to follow. Definitely establishes the most basic skills that a programmer needs: Patience, Problem-solving, Research, Flexibility, and Flow.

por Eden P

Mar 11, 2019

A good entry level course to give you a flavour of how to program in JS. We ll presented and easy to follow.

por David W

Jan 19, 2019

too difficult to navigate the menus to find necessary materials. This is my fourth Coursera course and have not had this problem previously. The instruction was poor in that it was the typical, do this, there now your an expert without explanation of the purpose of the concepts. For this level of learning by exploring , I don't need to pay you. I will continue with Coursera but not U of London.

por TYRONE " D

Jan 31, 2019

Structured well, challenging lessons, builds a great foundation for beginners. Two thumbs up!

por Alan J

Apr 08, 2020

Sleuth Game was very frustrating, asked you to complete it in week 1 when in actual fact you need all 3 weeks theory to complete it. Otherwise a good course. This needs fixing though

por Lucio S G

Jul 08, 2019

It was really interesting the way this course was made. I can't be grateful enough for making an interactive approach to programming. I enjoyed it quite much and learned even more. I'm willing to learn more with the courses that follow this one. Great experience!

por Gyorgyi T

Jun 09, 2019

The course is built up well, the steps are easy to follow. Even when there is some research required, the intentional gaps are highly manageable. The gamified deliverables were really fun to do! :-)

por Mahmoud H

Jun 21, 2019

Very Simple and clear illustration and explanation

por Clyde M

Jun 04, 2019

Very results-oriented introduction to programming, focusing on drawing shapes and manipulating them using code, rather than a graphic-interface. Gives a new learner the sense of accomplishment needed to overcome the hitches encountered when learning syntax for programming languages, as well as a very well-presented philosophy for coding and developing 'the coding mind'.

por Greg L

Oct 11, 2018

A battle to achieve the goals in the single long-winded assignment, which had no programming challenge just diagram coordinate determination. They claim 3 hours, but from sheer stubborness, to achieve 99% and then giving up in disgust, required 80 odd attempts and took 60+ hours! Now many of the beta problems will have been resolved. But overall the demands and knowledge passed on are very low level.

por H

Feb 07, 2020

This is the worst course I have ever taken from Coursera. I needed help installing their recommended software, and no on got back to me. I ended up, after much frustration just quitting this class and finding one that uses better software, and hopeful a human. If your computer does not support their platforms, try another class.

por James M

Dec 13, 2019

Great course! This was my first time trying coding of any sort and I really enjoyed it. While I feel like what I learned is probably very basic I also feel like I've learned a great deal and am eager to learn more.

I do feel like the teacher support could have been a little better but they do give you the tools to find out all the answers you need by yourself. It's just when you're truly stuck you can feel a little helpless. It also says that you should complete the Sleuth assignment in week 1 however you don't learn the things necessary to complete it until weeks 2 and 3.

If you are thinking of taking this course definitely make a https://stackoverflow.com/ account and post your questions there as well. Also there is a Youtube channel called " the coding train" https://www.youtube.com/user/shiffman. He does a great job of explaining things in a slightly different way. His p5.js playlist was so informative

por Preda

Oct 28, 2018

It was an excellent way for students to learn the introductions of computer programming.

I thought that Sleuth was a very fun way of introducing coding exercises and practice with variables and use of P5js. There were some minor bugs in Sleuth such as the rejection of my submissions even though they were correct. When I resubmitted after the timeout lapsed, it was accepted.

I thought it would have been good to introduce more content and exercises on loops as this is very fundamental in computer programming. Perhaps a fourth week could have been dedicated to loops.

por Zac B

Oct 23, 2018

Great course! Dr Anstead & Dr Katan are fantastic lecturers and the Sleuth & Co. game is a fun and engaging way to learn. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone looking to get their feet wet with programming. It's beginner level, for sure, but even if you have some experience, it can introduce you to some new concepts. I got some practice with the p5.js library which I had never heard of before, and is a powerful and easy to use library for artists and designers wanting leverage programming for their projects. Great job University of London!

por Fabio T

Mar 08, 2019

At first, i was upset because i received my certificate after week one. But after that i continued the mooc for fun and i learned a lot. This library is one of the simpliest in JS i have ever used. I'm satisfied and felicitate University of London for this great Course!!! Highly Recommend it.

por Luís P G

Jan 29, 2019

A grande criatividade por parte da equipe deixou a experiência de estudo desse curso muito proveitosa e divertida, a ponto de não ser enjoativa, isso me fez continuar na trilha e concluir com muita rapidez.

por Roman O P (

Mar 15, 2019

All is fine. But i dont understand, why the vital section of information - "Reading Teach it to yourself" of 3 week, opens only after _optional_ submisson "Hack it: Sunrise. What did you learn"

por Ryan M S

Dec 03, 2019

I really enjoyed this course's structure and learning material. The methods and tools used to teach the information was also very appropriate and efficient.