Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Calculus

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Calculus da instituição Universidade de Sydney

4.8
estrelas
2,867 classificações
874 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Melhores avaliações

CN

13 de nov de 2021

thanks coursera and Professor David Easdown for suitable instruction and friendly methodology after calculus which course to carry in advancement\n\nmy will is to undergoes with chemistry engineering

AF

8 de abr de 2022

An excellent course, especially if like me you had done some calculus in the past and wanted a refresher. David is an excellent, clear, and attentive tutor. I can't recommend him enough. Many thanks.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 886 Avaliações para o Introduction to Calculus

por aborucu

4 de abr de 2021

This is a pre-calc course and Instructor is highly motivating students to develop understanding of topics which were confusing for me. He does this by breaking subjects into small bite sizes. So I had the chance to both refresh and/or grasp missing concepts that hindered my understading of calculus. Of course it's not a full fledged course but it made me confidently pursue calculus topics of interest afterwards.

por Manaranjan p

28 de mai de 2021

One of the best courses I have take so far. I was looking for a course which starts with some basics of precalculus and the course was exact fit. I have been working on ML for last 3/4 years and was looking to do a calculus course for a very long time. Very happy to find this course. The pace, content, explanation, practical tips, quizzes are perfect. Thanks Prof.David Easdown. You are amazing!

por Sarah P

2 de fev de 2022

I​ncredible, Prof. Easdown is easily one of the best mathematics lecturers I have come across. Calm, crystal clear explanations which expose the student to the wonder of calculus without overwhelming them. I have tried many calculus courses, and this was the first that actually helped me feel like I was getting anywhere. Thank you so much! Highly recommended for anyone

por Tsai-Yun L

18 de mar de 2021

Best instructor ever - passionate, elegant, and smart! The teacher explained concepts and theories of calculus not only very clearly, but also elegantly. I really enjoyed this course. It is a very well planned and well paced introduction to calculus course. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to start learning calculus! And a big thank you to Prof. Easdown!

por erdem h

23 de mar de 2021

Good teaching methods applied in this course. The lecturer seems enthusiastic throughout and is well informed about the subjects he teaches. I liked in particular that harder questions were actually solved in the study materials and in the quizes were relatively a bit simpler ones. This way supposedely students are also likely to complete the course. Thank you.

por Gabriel R

13 de fev de 2021

The course is excellent. The videos convey the concepts clearly, and concisely. The instructor conveys knowledge and passion about the subject. The notes are well laid out, and contain relevant examples. I really appreciate the extra module at the end of week 5 tying it together to physics, as it's exactly what I want to apply this knowledge base to. Thank you!

por Partha P

11 de abr de 2021

I took this course to refresh my university Calculus to learn Machine Learning and I can confidently say that this course on Calculus is the best I have taken so far. Very clearly explained. The exercises comprise of well selected questionnaires, which reinforce the learning further. Thank you Coursera, The University of Sydney and Professor David Easdown.

por CH Y

1 de dez de 2021

The course is even better than the courses I had taken when I was a college student.

I sincerely appreciate the professor's kind, careful, and easy explanations, which were enormously helpful for me to understand and remind the calculous.

I strongly recommend this course to every people who want to grab the core concept of calculous from the basic level.

por Andrew H

12 de dez de 2021

Very challenging, and I needed to reset deadlines multiple times, but excellent videos that slowly build up concepts with the hardest problems on practice quizzes. This was my first try at formal math in 21 years and I was able to pass. Much better experience than Calculus as a high schooler, when I dreaded it. Now I have confidence to pursue more.

por Manuel U C A

5 de abr de 2020

Un excelente curso donde no solo aprenderás Cálculo, sino desarrollaras otras habilidades matemáticas a medida que se avanza en el curso y por lo menos desde mi opinión aprender a ver el cálculo desde otra perspectiva y sus aplicaciones de la mente de unas de las instituciones más importantes del mundo. La verdad me voy muy satisfecho de este Curso.

por Eren K

18 de ago de 2020

I really loved this course, with my bare Calculus knowledge from highschool. Thanks to the venerable lecturer, I have remembered all my knowledge from the scratch, and I think that I have done this by apprehending all the topics. Thanks Sydney University and Mr. Easdown, I am pleased for attending this priceless course! Greetings from Turkey.

por Pauline P

30 de jun de 2020

This was an excellent introduction to calculus. It was well presented, well set out and logically explained. I really enjoyed following each step, I found the quizzes and assessments a challenge, but with careful attention to the videos and notes not impossible. Thank you Professor Easdown, you have inspired me to dig deeper into calculus.

por D S A A

26 de out de 2019

Thank you for this introductory course on calculus! I was not in touch with mathematics for a while now. It really helped me to recapture my memories of calculus from the school. I am thinking of getting back to studies again with a master's course, hopefully on computational science. I believe this course would prove to be really helpful.

por Deb R

12 de mar de 2022

W​hat an amazing course. The pace was fast but presented and taught in a way that was easy to keep up. The natural progression from one concept to the next was well thought out. Access to hints and input from Professor Dave at any point in time made it easy to make sure concepts were clearly understood before moving on to the next step.

por Umesh S

18 de ago de 2020

Must say , one of best courses I have gone so far. Mr. David ( instructor) has such a passion while explaning concepts that you simply fall in love with his teaching methods. Thanks a lot Sir !!!

His eyes , facial expression and breathing makes you feel that its not maths you are listening but a wonderful story like Lord of the rings !!!

por John R

15 de nov de 2020

Thank you for a very enjoyable course. I had studied calculus many years ago but with this course, I finally understood it. I enjoyed the references to the parts played by the many mathematicians who constructed the 'house of calculus'. I was sorry to come to the end of the course. Maybe the rumour was true - you can enjoy calculus.

por Mrunmoy S

27 de jan de 2020

I was looking for a refresher course on Calculus and found this one. This course is just what I was looking for and it not only gave me a refresher but also gave me good ideas to solve tricky problems. So so thankful to David for this course. If you're looking to start calculus or need a refresher, this is a superb one to start with.

por Sean T

12 de jun de 2021

This was an amazing course! It was the best course I have done on Coursera and I am sad that Professor Easdown has not done any other courses on here. The videos are clear and concise. The notes and exercises are on point and help you learn the concepts easily. There are even hints in the forum for when you get stuck. Just amazing.

por Jessica S P

30 de mai de 2020

The course was more than I expected. All the instructions, videos and lectures were carefully designed, using the different representations of each mathematical concept, allowing me to interpret them geometrically. Also, each quiz evaluated the contents of each task in a very similar way to the way they were taught. Thanks for all!

por Byron T

26 de dez de 2021

This course is a perfect guide and intensive insertion of knowledge to students who want to strengthen their skills. It helps to recognize how high is the level of education and that it is possible to learn far beyond what we expect. Thank you for the amazing resources and I will be taking the next in the sequence immediately.

por Jiateng X

8 de mar de 2020

Well, as a Chinese student who suffered so many hell-like math tests, I would say this course is extremely easy for me... But it really arouses my interest in math again! Can you believe once I was concerned that me myself was not good at science? Anyway, I am sure calculus can be helpful in my future study. Thanks professor!

por Ivan Z

12 de fev de 2021

Exceptional course and an amazing professor who explains the material with great certainty. Even though I hold a Bachelor degree in Math, the basic material of the course gave me even more thorough understanding. I have never seen such a great math teaching course. Absolutely recommended to anyone! Best of luck to David!

por Cyrus D P

25 de jun de 2020

The explanations of the instructor are very comprehensive it has filled in all the gaps the I lacked regarding the complicated concepts I still have not understood back in high school. I have gained a good foundation in calculus through this course. Thank you so much, the University of Sydney, and to professor David Easdown.

por Elliot S

25 de out de 2020

Challenging subject matter. The professor is engaging, methodical, and has brilliantly laid out the material to progress from complex algebra through to the fundamentals of calculus. By far the best course I have taken through Coursera, and in the top of classes I have ever taken in my life. If I could give 6-stars I would.

por Ben F

25 de mai de 2020

The course was quite thorough and rigorous for an introduction to calculus. The instructor very effectively presented the material in a manner that was very easy to follow. The supplemental notes provided helpful insight into the lessons including providing very helpful derivations and example problems. Very good course.