Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health da instituição Imperial College London

4.7
stars
256 classificações
56 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health! This course will teach you the core building blocks of statistical analysis - types of variables, common distributions, hypothesis testing - but, more than that, it will enable you to take a data set you've never seen before, describe its keys features, get to know its strengths and quirks, run some vital basic analyses and then formulate and test hypotheses based on means and proportions. You'll then have a solid grounding to move on to more sophisticated analysis and take the other courses in the series. You'll learn the popular, flexible and completely free software R, used by statistics and machine learning practitioners everywhere. It's hands-on, so you'll first learn about how to phrase a testable hypothesis via examples of medical research as reported by the media. Then you'll work through a data set on fruit and vegetable eating habits: data that are realistically messy, because that's what public health data sets are like in reality. There will be mini-quizzes with feedback along the way to check your understanding. The course will sharpen your ability to think critically and not take things for granted: in this age of uncontrolled algorithms and fake news, these skills are more important than ever. Prerequisites Some formulae are given to aid understanding, but this is not one of those courses where you need a mathematics degree to follow it. You will need only basic numeracy (for example, we will not use calculus) and familiarity with graphical and tabular ways of presenting results. No knowledge of R or programming is assumed....

Melhores avaliações

LA

May 26, 2019

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

SK

Oct 12, 2019

This is the best course among all I've taken..\n\nThe instructor has presented the content precisely.\n\nI highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

por Indhu R

May 16, 2019

Learned a lot! The structure of the course was very logical and manageable. Will be continuing with the rest of the courses in the Specialization.

por Georgy M

Jun 08, 2019

The course gives an introduction to basic statistics commonly used in medicine/public health. The key concepts are explained clearly and provide a good foundation. However, there are few lectures (mostly reading material) and many tests are "check yourself" ones. The course would benefit if current reading material was given in lectures (as it is mostly words) and the more advanced reading material was included with more formal/mathematical description of the concepts.

por Liva A

May 26, 2019

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

por Sandeep K

Oct 12, 2019

This is the best course among all I've taken..

The instructor has presented the content precisely.

I highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

por Shubham J S

Jun 26, 2019

I found this data very interesting and useful learnt very new sets of skills and will carry on in this topic.

por Dean P

Jul 08, 2019

This was a great introduction. to statistics in public health. Thanks!

por Usman A

Apr 07, 2019

Superb course. I will recommend to all Public Health Practitioners.

por Lindsy R

Dec 11, 2019

I expected much more work on R plus barely any of the syntax worked on my Mac.

por Han C

Dec 06, 2019

I like this professor. His interesting teaching style is like Professor Attenborough you see on BBC Earth. He will bring up an issue and give you just enough information so that I can go about researching this on Google, Youtube, and other lectures on Coursera. He is good for professionals not liking a rigid educational format.

por Luis A M G

Sep 01, 2019

This course has a great content. R programming is a excellent tool for analyze data in public health. Each one of the videos is excellent to understand the conceptual framework and eventually apply those knowledges in R language.

por Rashidul H

May 05, 2019

I will definitely recommend anyone to undergo the materials provided from Imperial faculty to hone statistical reasoning skill and enhance problem solving capacity. Indeed a organized and effective course after a bit long time.

por Ikenna M

Dec 29, 2019

This course is amazing for candidates looking to gain a fundamental understanding of Public Health Research. The videos are very educative and the assignments are crucial to having a firm grasp of the topics that are taught.

por Neelam I

Sep 29, 2019

Fantastic resource for novices and people with bit more statistical experience (like myself). Really enjoyable and moves at a really good pace. I learnt a lot and was able to refine my statistical skills

por Mayur N

Apr 08, 2019

Wonderful explanation and introduction to R programing. With minimal additional self learning you can easily master all of the content of the course.

por Sergio P

Sep 14, 2019

The teacher is great, the classes are clear and the readings are understandable. A MUST HAVE if you want to learn Public Health.

por Vũ M L

Dec 30, 2019

This is an excellent course, it helps me play a solid foundation about Biostatistics in particular and Public Health in General

por Todd D

Oct 01, 2019

Excellent introduction to the topic. Well-paced and prepares the learner for future courses. Very well done.

por Jeba M

Jul 19, 2019

Really explanatory.. assignments, discussion prompts made me think and clarified important concepts.

por Seungyeon J

Oct 07, 2019

Very easy to understand the basic statistics and know how to use R.

Value for money.

Many Thanks!!!

por Katerina K

Jun 08, 2019

An absolutely fantastic course. Compared with my course back at Uni, this is 100 times clearer.

por Tommys J G G

Jul 06, 2019

Excellent course if you want to start using R for public health projects! 100% recommended!

por Jose L V V

Aug 30, 2019

the course is very good both in theory and practice with programming in R to public health

por Nimmi P

Jul 22, 2019

a very good class

something i was looking for a long time

thanku Mr. bottle

por harshal D

May 30, 2019

I learned a lot about statistical analysis through this course

por Damian B

Sep 21, 2019

Great course, high production quality, good presentation