Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to C# Programming and Unity da instituição Sistema de Universidades do ColoradoUniversidade do Colorado

4.6
estrelas
1,798 classificações
527 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is all about starting to learn how to develop video games using the C# programming language and the Unity game engine on Windows or Mac. Why use C# and Unity instead of some other language and game engine? Well, C# is a really good language for learning how to program and then programming professionally. Also, the Unity game engine is very popular with indie game developers; Unity games were downloaded 16,000,000,000 times in 2016! Finally, C# is one of the programming languages you can use in the Unity environment. This course doesn't assume you have any previous programming experience. Don't worry if you've never written code before; we'll start at the very beginning and work our way up to building small games by the end of the course. Throughout the course you'll learn core programming concepts that apply to lots of programming languages, including C#, and you'll also learn how to apply those concepts when you develop games. Computer programming is really fun in general, and programming games is even better! Caution: Beginning (assuming no prior programming knowledge) is not the same as easy (not hard to do). Learning to program IS hard to do, especially since this course is essentially the first half of a freshman-level college course. Meeting the course challenges while you master the material will be rewarding to you, but doing that will require hard work and maybe even a few expletives along the way. Module 1: Write your first C# console application and Unity script Module 2: Learn how we store data in our programs Module 3: Learn how we use classes and objects to implement our code Module 4: Learn the basics of Unity 2D games and take "Final Exam" “Unity” is a trademark or registered trademark of Unity Technologies or its affiliates in the U.S. and elsewhere. This course is an independent work and is not sponsored by, authorized by, or affiliated with Unity Technologies or its affiliates...

Melhores avaliações

MM
29 de Jul de 2020

The instructor extremely enthusiastic and passion which is really rare to see but amazing. Thank you so much for teaching this course it really helped to kick start my interest in game development :)

JT
17 de Jan de 2020

Very good instructor walks you through every step and then has assignments for you to do on your own to practice your coding skills. Emphasizes using documentation and practicing fundamentals.

Filtrar por:

401 — 425 de 530 Avaliações para o Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

por Suvrangshu B

31 de Mai de 2019

excillent

por luis b

25 de Ago de 2020

excelent

por Jumana A

30 de Mai de 2018

amazing!

por Furkan S

22 de Nov de 2019

perfect

por Twinkal R

16 de Mar de 2019

awesome

por Mahwish R

25 de Dez de 2018

awesome

por etukurudinesh

26 de Out de 2018

A

w

e

o

s

m

e

por Довгий А М

15 de Jul de 2020

Nice!

por 许天鸿

27 de Mai de 2019

henna

por Lixin W

31 de Jan de 2021

通俗易懂

por Kry's D

29 de Jan de 2021

Cool

por Dhiraj N J

21 de Jun de 2020

good

por Mujaffar B

24 de Mai de 2020

good

por aaditya j

6 de Abr de 2019

good

por Jeffrey G

30 de Jan de 2021

This is a very good course for anyone with no programming experience to take. Not only have I learned the terminology and important concepts required in order to program but I have learned basic game design through Unity in the process. In the first two weeks I felt like I was grasping at straws and just plugging in the code without understanding why the code was necessary or what its purpose was, but by the middle of the third week everything made much more sense. I found the description of the course accurate as well, however it was misleading that this is described as a 28 hour course. For individuals who have experience programming this is probably accurate. If you have no experience it will take much longer (I'd estimate it took me about 50 - 70 hours). If I had to offer any recommendations to improve this course I would say that the professor should go over code documentation in greater detail. It would also be beneficial if he would demonstrate how to do certain things on a Mac rather than just using windows the entire time. I have a Mac and although it is very possible to do well in this course with a Mac it does make it more difficult overall. I would also recommend going over the Debugging process in more detail. It is worth noting that the debugging process actually has a bug when using Unity on Mac. Even after setting the breakpoint properly I would receive an error stating "Could not insert breakpoint at [path to script file]: The breakpoint could not be bound." Luckily debugging was not essential in order to pass this course, but it did make it more difficult to find out where my mistakes were. Overall I would recommend this course to anyone.

por Nathaniel M

13 de Nov de 2020

Overall, a pretty a great course. in my opinion. This is the first time I took a course on this website and the second time I ever took a class online. Before I took this course, I already had a little bit of coding experience from learning some Java and JavaScript. I had no prior knowledge of C# or how to use Unity, but I was able to get through this course pretty easily. There were of course some projects that were harder than I thought they were going to be, but I'm glad I was able to finish this course. I feel like I have a decent foundation of C# and Unity and look forward to learning more. The only reason I give this course 4 stars is because I wish there were more diagrams associated with the instructions and lectures. If I didn't have prior programming knowledge, I feel like this course would of been a lot harder to finish because of the pace of the class and lack of diagrams and pictures (There are pictures and diagrams in this course, but in my opinion not enough).

por Maria B

26 de Dez de 2018

This course is not for absolute newbies, as they say in intro. It requires a good knowledge of C# (essentials or better) and expects you to handle the concepts of object-oriented programming with ease. My level was sufficient to understand all lectures and get highest notes for assignments, but still, I had to read some extra litterature to clarify some moments that professor simply does not explain. So, if you are new to programming, my strong advice will be to get some basics of C# first. Do not be misled by firsts 2 weeks: the content seems to be easy, but starting from there, you will feel the lack of information, and Dr. T's book is not enough to close the gap. As for me, I am satisfied with the course because my objective was to learn Unity, not C#. And I think, it's a good beginning for game programmers.

por Chris P

18 de Mai de 2020

I thought this course was an excellent start to Unity and and C# for Game Development. For the most part the lectures and exercises were good. The order could do with being reviewed as there were exercises that were attempting to do things that hadn't been taught yet.

One downside is the marking system. I know Tim is reaching out via the forums for ways to improve it. In theory, having 3 people mark your work is a great idea. However there are no checks or balances. I've submitted a few assignments which meet the requirements and 2 of 3 people gave 4 or 5 marks out of 5 but the last person gives an inexplicable 0 or 1 mark with no feedback as to why they did that. I can ony guess they didn't download the work and feel vindicative.

All in all it's good and I'm looking forward to moving onto the second course.

por Pavel A

4 de Mar de 2021

Pros:+) Smooth introduction into Unity engine+) Few tips and insights from experienced game programmer+) Free book with valuable info on Unity and advanced C#, that are not covered completely in the course itselfCons:-) Workload is overestimated-) Too much basic programming concepts-) No active discussions on forum, no peer-evaluation projects-) Some unnecessary topics are detailed, while important things are covered poorlyOverall, I would recommend the course if you can get it for free or discounted, but in my opinion it does not worth full-price. If you are motivated enough, the course can also be completed during the trial of 7 days. However, if you consider to go on with the specialisation, then paying for all 4 courses pays off.

por Eldon V

19 de Jun de 2019

Great course, and instructor has a lecture style that makes things fun. Only criticism is that this course would be extremely difficult for someone with no programming experience at all.

Took away a star because I'm really not a fan of the grading system. I completed my week 4 assignment nearly a week early, and I'm still waiting for my grade. Also, forums don't look very active. I have a feeling there aren't many people taking the course, much less activity on the forums since week 1 so there's a chance the students that were there early on either dropped out or lost interest. Of course this means not enough students to peer review your assignment, which can have you waiting around for your grade.

por Dylan F

10 de Nov de 2021

I​n the beginning this course was somwhat boring to me, but as the class progressed my interest did too. By the end I really enjoyed this course and I would reccomend it to anyone starting with Unity. It gives information little by little just enough to build a functionally different project each lesson but not enough to go over your head. Also I was probably bored in the beginning because I already was familiar with the C# programming language and it was basically just him repeating what I already know. Take that for what you will :).

por Ryan R

12 de Mai de 2021

Overall a very solid course. Some inconveniences in finding the essential materials because in one instance they were not labelled in the ZIP file. The lecturer is great though and he does make it easy to understand. I wish there was a little more explanation for some topics, however, to reinforce the learnings from previous weeks. The exercises are good practice and is a step up from another course I did. Overall, 4/5 :) Good job Dr. T!

por Mertcan K

23 de Ago de 2020

The Teacher is Great and he teaches really well. but the peer review homeworks were made only as optional because of coursera peer review system issues. So, because they're optional, doing them feels not so much of an achievement but extra work. And the Assignments at the end of every week were replaced with too easy tests. That's my only issue with this course, everything else from exercises to videos, it was awesome.

por Cody S

17 de Set de 2020

I felt the instructor was fairly clear, very personable, and enjoyable to listen to. I learned a lot in the course, particularly in how to approach programming on a fundamental level. One main difficulty with the course; however, is that often my newest version of Unity would not be compatible with the exercise material, which made it impossible for me to complete a number of exercises.

por Erin O

27 de Out de 2019

Many others seemed to find it easy to follow, but I found the teacher's pace difficult to keep up with and his Lesson-Instructions a bit hard to follow, especially when interspersed with personal stories that got me off track, attention-wise. This might just be because I'm on the Autism Spectrum, though. Will Be switching programming languages//teachers to see if it was just me.