Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Git and GitHub

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Git and GitHub da instituição Google

4.8
estrelas
2,671 classificações
650 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, you’ll learn how to keep track of the different versions of your code and configuration files using a popular version control system (VCS) called Git. We'll also go through how to setup an account with a service called GitHub so that you can create your very own remote repositories to store your code and configuration. Throughout this course, you'll learn about Git's core functionality so you can understand how and why it’s used in organizations. We’ll look into both basic and more advanced features, like branches and merging. We'll demonstrate how having a working knowledge of a VCS like Git can be a lifesaver in emergency situations or when debugging. And then we'll explore how to use a VCS to work with others through remote repositories, like the ones provided by GitHub. By the end of this course, you'll be able to store your code's history in Git and collaborate with others in GitHub, where you’ll also start creating your own portfolio! In order to follow along and complete the assessments, you’ll need a computer where you can install Git or ask your administrator to install it for you....

Melhores avaliações

BK

May 18, 2020

Awesome !!! I tried to learn git many times but things always slips over my head but I was fortunate enough to stumble upon this course and voila, I have learned so much in this course. Thanks a lot.

JC

Jul 19, 2020

This course is full of priceless information, but at the same time to the point. I reckon I will come back to the videos as I encounter new challenges particularly when collaborating with a team.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 649 Avaliações para o Introduction to Git and GitHub

por Nitish P

May 31, 2020

Week 1 & Week 2 were awesome! and Labs were fun!!. BUT!!!! Week 3 could have been more descriptive with little more illustrations and animations. I found that alongside speaking, if animations could have been included more, then it would have been really great. In week 3, commands were shown and typed without any animations. it was difficult to apprehend what was commands doing to the state of repositories and remotes. It could have been better if, for REMOTES & LOCAL REPOs, states were illustrated alongside.

por Andrei C G

Jul 31, 2020

The course was structured really well, with short and to-the-point videos. One single thing to improve would be to include some more exercises, since the ones in the lab were really easy to solve

por Shiang-ping H

Jan 24, 2020

Great Intro. course to the concept and tool - Git. Just wish it comes with more practice exercises.

por Itsido C A

Mar 23, 2020

This course guide the student in an enterprise set up scenario so he can be able to collaborate on projects. The instructor break down complex Git concepts to enable efficient contribution to large code base. This is an essential skill for IT professional. I learned a lot. Thanks to the instructor, Coursera and Google.

por Gustavo C

Aug 08, 2020

Excelent course. It gives us a very good overview of VCS using Git as example. I've learned lots of commands and how to interact with github. I hadn't been in touch with theses concepts until this course, so I started from scratch and could achieve good results. I'm very satisfied.

por Saurav j

May 24, 2020

This should be the first course in Specialisation, would help students like me The complete Novice in IT may gain very high boost towards their career. The best of Best Course I completed.Thank you, for Making + step forward in Right Direction.

por Brij R K

May 18, 2020

Awesome !!! I tried to learn git many times but things always slips over my head but I was fortunate enough to stumble upon this course and voila, I have learned so much in this course. Thanks a lot.

por Jesús S Z

Feb 06, 2020

Even though it's an introductory course and everyone must get deeper into those topics, this course is very complete and provides you all the necessary to work with git in a real IT enviroment.

por Gabriel S d S

Mar 10, 2020

Amazing course! It teaches you a lot of really important stuff that you'll most definitely use in the I.T. world. Thanks, Google for sharing so much knowledge with us!

por Veronika G

Mar 16, 2020

Good course, interesting topics, good instructor. Appreciated that lots of related links prepared for the students to read (eg. CI/CD, best practices, articles etc.).

por Tan P S

May 09, 2020

It's a good intro to github, but for more experienced users, it's a massive pain to keep having to generate personal tokens due to 2FA & for users who don't like to add new repos to their existing accounts, it does get on your nerves

por Thiago F N

Feb 17, 2020

The course is pretty good, but you should be able to skip it if you already have experience with Git and GitHub.

por Antony J

Aug 04, 2020

Another great course in the professional certificate.

I followed along in the videos using a Linux laptop and eventually a freshly opened github account (which you'll use in the later labs).

I can't recommend strongly enough following along in an 'active-learning' fashion. For example, there is one video in which a period is missing from a python command in a script which isn't tested before committing. I struggled for a few hours on this, making my own amendments to the script and going through the git workflow. Later on in the videos, the typo is identified!

Another great instructor and another great series of videos and exercises.

por Don S

Jun 29, 2020

A great course delivered by a great instructor! I only audited this course (am just about to start a new job and so don't have so much free time) and so only watched the lectures and completed the quizes, but I now have a good understanding of what Git and GitHub can do. The explanations and demonstrations given by the instructor are very clear and are accompanied with helpful animations, while the in-lecture and end of module quizes help you test your comprehension of the conceps and tools as you go along.

por We Y T

Mar 15, 2020

This is a great refresher on how git works. I enjoy learning about workflows especially. This course has provided clear instructions on workflows which is, in my opinion, essential to collaborative work. If anything, promulgating these workflows as professional standards will be a major achievement to the path to industrialization, ensuring common practices and a common understanding among everyone involved in the industry. And this is exactly what achieving certification is about.

por Akshay C

Aug 05, 2020

VCS is a must-known concept for every developer. This is a well designed and well explained course from google team, that teaches VCS, Git, Github and continues all the way to introduction of CI/CD technologies. Also, the practice labs are well explained, even the bare beginners can get there hands on git and github very quickly and can start collaborating on open source projects. Thanks to google and the good instructor for giving an incredible learning experience.

por Yugesh K

May 25, 2020

This course is really helpful for non-IT/ Computer science students who wish to understand the whole "GitHub" Phenomenon. As an Engineering student majoring in Electronics I had no idea about where to start learning about Git. There were a lot of resources out there but they just added more confusion than solving the problem. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who has heard a lot about GitHub and Git but never understood it. Thanks, Google and Coursera.

por Nikhil D R

Jul 13, 2020

Don't think twice before enrolling in this course!!

If you really want to learn Git and GitHub (yes!! they are two different things and I didn't know this before enrolling in this course) I would strongly suggest this course. The course has really good practice labs that make us understand the real hands-on implementation and workflow of Git. By the end of this course, you'll be able to start your next project totally integrated with Git and Github.

por Sovan M

Jul 12, 2020

Perfect and solid concepts.As we know that git is too much vast, without practicing them its impossible for one to master. Hence if we do practice along with this high quality course i;ll that will be the best.

one suggestion: In the course where the concepts of merging and conflicts were discussed, according to me there need at least one ore example, because you know its not very easy concepts of manually conflicts solving.

thank you.

por Zan X

Aug 23, 2020

It is an awesome course offering virtual machines to get practice with the concepts. Beginner-friendly, generally going through the idea of Git and practicing on the basic workflow of virtual collaboration. It was great for someone who is looking for the intro-knowledge of Git, and I would recommend going to the next level of this course if you have known the basic command of Git or looking for more hands-on practices

por Mijael M

Feb 12, 2020

The content was great. Some of the lectures on branches, merging and conflict resolution would benefit a lot by additional visual representations (and perhaps some animations) about how the changes will look like. For the most part, these were done just by talking about them and showing git log --graph, but they just popped up and disappear quickly from the screen.

por ABHIJITH M B

Jun 27, 2020

A very interesting course explaining a very handy tool to use while coding.Every coder can use this tool to work on their projects.The instructor definitely needs a special appreciation ,he is very informative,engaging and a very good teacher.He taught a lot of difficult topics very easily.I'm very grateful to COURSERA for providing this course

por Ismoiljonov B

Aug 08, 2020

Outstanding course. Recommend each and every IT specialist who wants to know his/her about history of their code and what they have done so far. Quite to be honest, in the past I used the Github but I have no clue about what I am doing. In this course I learn both fundamentals and some expert-level of using Git and Github. Thank you!

por Nabin B

Apr 29, 2020

I have learned so much about git and github from this course. Although, introduced as an introduction course this course covers almost every aspects of git and github which will be enough for many learners out there to include Git and Github as their skills in their resume.

Thank you Kenny, and everyone for your support.

por Shehu B

Mar 24, 2020

I took some courses and watch some tutorials on Git and GitHub to understand better. However, they only got me confused the more. Opposite is the case with this course because it has helped me got the concepts clear.

The tutor's method of teaching and communication skill are really inspiring and motivating.