Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to GIS Mapping

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to GIS Mapping da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.9
estrelas
1,655 classificações
541 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Melhores avaliações

AF
16 de Abr de 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

KS
1 de Ago de 2021

This course is all about the introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Don Boyes made this course very easy and so entertaining. Thank you so much.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 538 Avaliações para o Introduction to GIS Mapping

por Daniel F F C

25 de Jan de 2020

Excelente. Los topicos son cubiertos con suficiente información para ser aplicados y la enseñanza es efectiva.

por Daniel L

21 de Out de 2019

I love this course . I learned a lot of basic principles which I did not know . Also I love Don Noyes's joke .

por Donny B

16 de Mar de 2020

Professor speaks with clarity and promotes the comprehension of important concepts. Good lectures for sure.

por Shristy R

20 de Set de 2020

very helpful course but there is too much video starting from week 3 which makes it boring after some time.

por Nastaran S

18 de Mai de 2021

Thank you so much Professor Boyes! Great job! I really enjoyed the course. You are an amazing instructor!

por Ahmed T

5 de Jan de 2021

The instructor did a phenomenal job, loved the lectures. But not too crazy about the peer review system.

por Annie D

16 de Nov de 2020

This course provided a good foundation for understanding map scale, projections, and the basics of GIS.

por Anatole K

17 de Ago de 2020

Very informative and complete with some added humour. Include a set timeline for tasks to be completed.

por Tanvir K

24 de Ago de 2020

By going through this course I understood that how much to know about GIS. This is really interesting.

por Ravi V

29 de Set de 2021

Excellent. Good introduction to GIS. Also final activity gives a hands on experience of GIS software.

por Melissa F

16 de Ago de 2020

Excellent course! Love the instructor he is extremely thorough and Canadian, so how can you go wrong!

por MD. M I

14 de Ago de 2020

a great teacher. so much structured syllabus and material. in one word an amazing course to enroll.

por Ariva M F

13 de Abr de 2021

Wow, very in accordance with my study of science during college. thank you very much mr. Don boyes

por Christopher M

28 de Jun de 2020

Learning is a continuous process.

With coursera, I have acquired more knowledge while in lock-down

por Masroor K

21 de Mai de 2020

Course started from very basics of GIS theory and software. Recommended for beginners. 5 stars...

por Melissa C M

26 de Jul de 2020

The content of this course was really helpful for someone with not that much experience on GIS.

por Tommy M

4 de Jun de 2020

Really thorough induction into GIS, with a great balance between theory and practical elements.

por ANAS H

28 de Jan de 2021

I am very thankful for giving me this chance to learn and take this lesson with Financial aid.

por Sadiqur R

16 de Jun de 2020

Amazing course. The instructor is so vivid. I love his way of teaching. A great course indeed.

por gatie k

2 de Nov de 2020

It is a very good Introductory Gis course and professor Don Boyes is excellent 👌👏

Thank you!

por Parviz A

1 de Ago de 2020

The explanation of projections and coordinate reference systems were very easy to understand.

por Juan C O R

29 de Jun de 2020

Es excelente y muy intuitivo, antes de abordar el uso de ArcGIS se dan los parámetros básicos

por Carlos M J E

20 de Dez de 2021

It´s a great course, the teacher is fantastic and the topics are very relevant, many thanks.

por Danna G S P

24 de Set de 2021

El profesor es excelente y sin duda aprendí mucho gracias a su destreza para dictar clases.

por Arnab S

7 de Jan de 2022

Wonderful introduction to the world of maps! I will never look at maps the same way again.