Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to GIS Mapping

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to GIS Mapping da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.9
estrelas
1,734 classificações
566 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Melhores avaliações

AF

16 de abr de 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

KS

1 de ago de 2021

This course is all about the introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Don Boyes made this course very easy and so entertaining. Thank you so much.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 567 Avaliações para o Introduction to GIS Mapping

por Rizki D

24 de jul de 2021

Prof. Don Boyes, as a Lecturer of this Course, was such an understandable person for non-native learners like me

por Lyannie Y G V

10 de mar de 2021

Loved the course, I learned a lot and i want to continue the other courses, the teacher is great very inspiring

por Karim E M D

18 de jun de 2021

t​his is is very great and a big thanks to mr Boyes who is a great teacher, i hope work with him in the future

por Diego J S L

17 de nov de 2020

Very good course, the explanations are clear and very detailed. There are practical classes with the software.

por Ricardo D

10 de jul de 2020

Great introductory course! Lots of theory, of course, but very well explained. Don Boyes is a great professor.

por Daniel F F C

25 de jan de 2020

Excelente. Los topicos son cubiertos con suficiente información para ser aplicados y la enseñanza es efectiva.

por Daniel L

21 de out de 2019

I love this course . I learned a lot of basic principles which I did not know . Also I love Don Noyes's joke .

por Franklin M

25 de mai de 2022

A educative and interesting course to take. It creates a wonderful foundation to develope your career in GIS

por Donny B

16 de mar de 2020

Professor speaks with clarity and promotes the comprehension of important concepts. Good lectures for sure.

por Shristy R

20 de set de 2020

very helpful course but there is too much video starting from week 3 which makes it boring after some time.

por Nastaran S

18 de mai de 2021

Thank you so much Professor Boyes! Great job! I really enjoyed the course. You are an amazing instructor!

por Ahmed T

5 de jan de 2021

The instructor did a phenomenal job, loved the lectures. But not too crazy about the peer review system.

por Annie D

16 de nov de 2020

This course provided a good foundation for understanding map scale, projections, and the basics of GIS.

por Anatole K

17 de ago de 2020

Very informative and complete with some added humour. Include a set timeline for tasks to be completed.

por Tanvir K

24 de ago de 2020

By going through this course I understood that how much to know about GIS. This is really interesting.

por Ravi V

29 de set de 2021

Excellent. Good introduction to GIS. Also final activity gives a hands on experience of GIS software.

por Melissa F

16 de ago de 2020

Excellent course! Love the instructor he is extremely thorough and Canadian, so how can you go wrong!

por MD. M I

14 de ago de 2020

a great teacher. so much structured syllabus and material. in one word an amazing course to enroll.

por Junaid A

15 de mar de 2022

GREAT EFFORT BY PROFESSOR I LOVE THIS COURSE AND LEARNT ALOT AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO THE OTHERS.

por Ariva M F

13 de abr de 2021

Wow, very in accordance with my study of science during college. thank you very much mr. Don boyes

por Christopher M

28 de jun de 2020

Learning is a continuous process.

With coursera, I have acquired more knowledge while in lock-down

por Masroor K

21 de mai de 2020

Course started from very basics of GIS theory and software. Recommended for beginners. 5 stars...

por Melissa C M

26 de jul de 2020

The content of this course was really helpful for someone with not that much experience on GIS.

por Tommy M

4 de jun de 2020

Really thorough induction into GIS, with a great balance between theory and practical elements.

por ANAS H

28 de jan de 2021

I am very thankful for giving me this chance to learn and take this lesson with Financial aid.