Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to GIS Mapping

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to GIS Mapping da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.9
60 classificações
16 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed....

Melhores avaliações

MH

Jul 23, 2019

Very Good course. Helpful to learn the basic fundamentals of GIS and to learn to digitize a map for the first time. I recommend it to any beginner who is trying to start working with GIS.

RA

Aug 20, 2019

I was looking for a course that would give me a solid entry and introduction to the world of GIS, and I found it in this course. I consider my time doing it as well invested

Filtrar por:

1 — 16 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to GIS Mapping

por Nicholas W

May 28, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, the explanations of concepts were clear and straight forward which makes learning a technical subject like this one a lot easier, I look forward to completing the next course in the specialization.

por Jasminka K

May 22, 2019

Very nice explanations, especially about different coordinate system and projections.

por Lara J

Jun 14, 2019

Great class! Good design and wonderful videos!

por reneryu

Jun 13, 2019

Very detailed and beginner friendly!

por Ali W H

Jun 10, 2019

very simplified it is the perfect place to start your GIS journey.

por Gabriel V

Jun 09, 2019

Amazing course.

They are the best strongly recommended.

Thanks for your contribution to my career.

por Ranjeet S

Jun 02, 2019

Really liked the way concepts are given. Enjoyed the entire journey of Introduction to GIS Mapping! Thank you very much :)

por jessica R

Jul 15, 2019

I already have some experience with ArcMap, but I want to complete the 4 course series. I was happily surprised that Course 1 contained so much good information that I was not yet super knowledgeable in, particluarly the parts about coordinate and projection systems. That's always confused me, but this course helped me solidify my understanding of how all that works. Even though I already know how to make a map etc. I definitely did NOT see this course as a waste of my time. Great course!

por David R

Jul 21, 2019

This is by far one of the best laid out and presented courses I have every taken. Don is a master of using graphics and examples to provide a clear understanding of the principles in this often information-dense course. I am enjoying the program immensely and very much appreciate the skill of its instructor! I absolutely would recommend this course to anyone diving into the world of GIS.

por Md. A H

Jul 23, 2019

Very Good course. Helpful to learn the basic fundamentals of GIS and to learn to digitize a map for the first time. I recommend it to any beginner who is trying to start working with GIS.

por Laurent M

Jul 29, 2019

very educative and match my carrer, i love it thanks.

por Xinbo Z

Jul 29, 2019

Great Instructor!

por Faisal S

Aug 02, 2019

Superbly instructed the digital course of its kind

por Francis S

Aug 03, 2019

Great background on what goes into making maps and how to interpret map projections. I learned more from this course than from a very expensive GIS course I took years ago. It gives you time to install and play around with ArcGIS, and it comes with a 1 year student license for the software. Information is well presented, and care clearly went into this course! I'm happy to have done it and I will continue on with the specialization. Thanks Prof. Boyes!

por Sanjeet K

Aug 14, 2019

Very informative and fun, wish to learn more now.

por RASHEED A

Aug 20, 2019

I was looking for a course that would give me a solid entry and introduction to the world of GIS, and I found it in this course. I consider my time doing it as well invested