Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à Tecnologia Genômica

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à Tecnologia Genômica da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,823 classificações
287 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Melhores avaliações

KK

Nov 21, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

GH

Oct 06, 2019

This course provides a gentle introduction to the concepts and terminology associated with genomics. As someone who never took a biology course in high school or university, this course is perfect.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introdução à Tecnologia Genômica

por Heather R

Apr 18, 2019

Wish it was a bit more challenging for those of us in scientific research, but I understand the need to be broadly applicable. Enjoyed it and learned a lot.

por Andrea W

Jul 19, 2019

Informative. Provide a good overview of genomic technologies, data science and statistics.

por Ankit N

Aug 19, 2019

Excellent start to the bigger concept.

por Hans W

Sep 08, 2019

Liked the introduction, gives a nice overview, well understandable also for the non-biologist.

por Saurabh M

Sep 08, 2019

This course is very well suitable for beginners. I am eagerly waiting to start the next course of the specialization for deeper understanding. Although, this course was very informative.

por Monika C

Sep 21, 2019

Introductory course for the subsequent genomic data science courses. The lecturers are smart and their teaching approach is very encouraging.

por Theodoulakis C

Aug 31, 2019

Good introductory course

por Khoo L T

Nov 17, 2019

This course had gave me the overview of the statistical analyses for genomic data analysis. This is useful for me as I can employ those statistical Analyses knowledge in the near future

por Donghui H

Oct 14, 2018

too simple

por Nikita T

Jul 13, 2017

Mostly, it is an interesting course, although it is very short - if a person knows something about molecular biology, then it is feasible to finish it a couple of hours. Nevertheless, probably it provides us with a good introduction to the rest of the series.

por 양은제

Oct 18, 2017

so fundamental

por Maria T

Oct 13, 2017

Good overview, but not very detailed - very quick to go through and not for anyone who already knows something about the area of study.

por John M

May 14, 2017

The course is very concentrated and short. I suggest to add more time and explain things in more detail.

por Saaket V

Jan 02, 2018

A good introduction to Genomic Technologies. Positives: Concise, to the point quizzes, at times funny alternatives answers. The instructor was world class. Could have included few examples of technologies and software being used for sequencing. Trends and what to expect in next five years. Linking to the applications like Precision medicine, Companion Diagnostics, and Personalized medicine would have further improved the delivery of the course.

por Suki S

Mar 21, 2016

This was a little light, despite the fact that this is not my area of expertise. It was a goo start overall, tho.

por Wesley W

Jun 22, 2016

I am a PhD student in genetics, so the background material there was review from undergrad courses. Obviously some people who are not biologists will need this background. I do wish, however, that the statistics intro was more applied and covered a better intro and application to the why!

por Jean-philippe M

Oct 25, 2016

Good introduction to the field

Good presenters

Poor illustrations during course

Thank's

por Dylan B

Oct 11, 2017

Basic introduction. I have a biology background so for me this was easy. But for a non-biologist I imagine this may difficult to understand. From a non-biologist point of view I imagine the lecturers can spend more time explaining the biology of the cell and genome replication in a lot more detail. This can be handy understanding why we get certain mutations and why some mutations are more interesting than others (e.g. why are most variants (SNPs) found outside coding regions?).

por Abhinaya S

Oct 25, 2017

Average course. The initial part was taught by someone who doesn't do Molecular Biology and still tried to push off a course material. It sounded like it was dumbed down to below basic levels in some cases and while I understand the course is meant for general population, the material was presented in a very un-scientific way.

por Jessica R

May 20, 2016

This is an extremely basic course. In my opinion, it isn't worth $49 and is thrown in just to add to the total price of the specialization. It is a useful refresher, but doesn't really contain much information. Just a couple of topics are covered at a very basic level. You could also get this info from watching Youtube videos.

por ELISA W

Apr 11, 2018

This course included a lot of background information which most I already had. The lecturers were engaging, however, spoke quickly. Luckily I could rewind. Some concepts were inadequately glossed over, but then tested on. Since, as I said, I already had background I could still successfully answer the quiz questions. But I could see how someone who is taking this without prior knowledge would have more difficulty.

por Jessica G

Apr 05, 2018

While I wasn't expecting heavy material for an intro course, this course did not reach even a 101 level in my opinion. Take this course if you have never heard of biology or computer science or statistics but avoid if you know even a little about these subjects. Sometimes the quiz questions asked about details not covered in videos/papers, which was pointless and frustrating.

por Giuliano B

Apr 08, 2018

Very basic and introductive to the following courses of the specialization path. Very clear explanation, waiting for the rest of the course.

por Angela P M

Jan 17, 2017

Good as introduction, but pretty basic for me.

por Mario L

May 09, 2016

Explanations of concepts are too complex for non-biologist who want to approach the Genomic field