Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à Tecnologia Genômica

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à Tecnologia Genômica da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.6
estrelas
3,630 classificações
571 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Melhores avaliações

SS
27 de Mai de 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK
20 de Nov de 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

Filtrar por:

401 — 425 de 569 Avaliações para o Introdução à Tecnologia Genômica

por Michael T

12 de Fev de 2018

This was a great overview of the computing, statistics, and biology required to understand bioinformatics. The only negative was, that I found the final exam to be somewhat unrelated to the course.I am also hoping that there will be more references later on if we want or need to go deeper into these three areas, especially in the area of molecular biology.

por Alan A

20 de Jan de 2017

I'm fascinated by bioinformatics and genomics, which is why I took this course. I gave the course four stars instead of 5 because I think the flow of the lectures could have been better. When watching lectures, I often found myself jumping around in my notebook to write something down. Other than that, the course was an excellent introduction.

por Veronica

24 de Mai de 2018

The course was interesting if you want to start learning Genomics and Data Science. Some of the videos are very basic if you're a biologist but if you don't know any basic NGS and statistics, it is worth taking this course. Overall I enjoyed the course and it encouraged me to continue taking the other courses of this specialization.

por Michael R

6 de Jun de 2021

A good brief overview of the topic. Not sure that it fills a full four week course. More in-depth coverage of topics such as the process and tools for sequencing and some explanation of the raw data produced would have been appreciated, as would have references for additional resources on topics covered.

por Kristine M

27 de Mai de 2020

For the most part I really liked this course. The teacher for the first 3 weeks was great. Things really go off the rails with Week 4. The instructor assumed a much greater understanding of Statistics than an introductory/beginner level. I didn't think the lectures from Week 4 prepared me for the Quiz.

por Neal S

27 de Ago de 2020

Decent. There are some strange trivial errors in some of the questions. One that comes to mind is that RNA is not a "copy of DNA with U instead of T" - it's RNA! I think you also would do better not to sledgehammer Vivian Cheung twice....plenty of people made mistakes...spread your fire a bit.

por Douglas C

17 de Nov de 2019

It would have been much better if we could have found out why our quiz answers were wrong and what the correct answer is supposed to be.

Quizzes sometimes seemed unrelated to the material.

A "deeper learning" option, were we could read amterial that went beyond the video would have been great.

por PRABHJEET K

30 de Abr de 2020

This was my first course on coursera and this course is very well structured . i did the molecular biology and measurement technology very easily but found little difficulty in data science part as that part was new for me. I feel good that i got to know more by joining this course.

por MATHEUS D L C

13 de Jun de 2016

The last module and the final paper was a little confuse for whom is not from Biology (I'm from computer science). But the course is very well made and gave me the notion I'd like to have. The professores are very well qualified and inspired me about the subject.

por Jason T

2 de Ago de 2016

Very good intro course. Information is presented clearly and concisely, and it was pretty easy to comprehend even with no background. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the quizzes were a bit too easy and I don't think touch on all the important details.

por D T

26 de Ago de 2017

Excellent short introduction to Genomic Technologies and a good starter course for the specialization. It provides a very good overview of what is to be expected in the other courses while at the same time establishing a good foundation for what is to come.

por Guillermo A B

16 de Mar de 2021

This course touches very basic points and its good for refreshment if you already know these topics, not so good if you are new in the field. The two instructors are clear, concise and they show they are very experienced in the subject.

por sidney R

28 de Dez de 2017

Hard to comment without having done subsequent courses. Was surprised by what was assumed to be known by participants. Review of DNA structure and chemistry and the chemistry of contemporary sequencing would have been useful.

por Nicholas Y

13 de Dez de 2018

It is a good introduction course for people how are getting into genomics or bioinformatics, would recommend for those who are starting in this field, or want to update their information on new technological advancements.

por K H

27 de Jul de 2020

Nice course containing main important technologies and statistical analysis but I felt there can be more videos about types of PCR, NGS, etc . but overall good content. It was helpful for me to recall my knowledge

por Dan C

9 de Jun de 2016

Good overview of the knowledge domain. Perhaps it could be extended with some advanced, optional reference material for those keeners who would like to explore in more detail some of the topics presented upon....

por Makragić A

3 de Nov de 2016

The course is a good introduction into genomic data science, I disliked last week because teacher gave too many unnecessary information. But overall it is great course for Computer Scientists especially.

por Saurabh M

8 de Set de 2019

This course is very well suitable for beginners. I am eagerly waiting to start the next course of the specialization for deeper understanding. Although, this course was very informative.

por Khoo L T

17 de Nov de 2019

This course had gave me the overview of the statistical analyses for genomic data analysis. This is useful for me as I can employ those statistical Analyses knowledge in the near future

por Thodoris S

12 de Nov de 2017

Nice introductory course for those who are new to the interdisciplinary field of bioinformatics. However, experienced users could also skip this course and go straight to the next ones.

por Alicia F

21 de Jan de 2021

Complex topics summarized to key points, which is great. One criticism is that some questions on the quizzes required prior knowledge (fact recall) that wasn't covered in the course

por Ben S

1 de Set de 2016

The final project was way more work than any of the other weeks (10 hours!), but it was definitely worth stumbling my way around Galaxy and foreign genomic terms for that long.

por Jaslyn L

10 de Jul de 2020

A very nice course, but can be difficult for someone with totally no background in this and other tech/statistic stuff. Really enjoyed the course work though, was interesting.

por Athul

28 de Jul de 2020

Good for someone who want to learn about genomic technologies. Those who wanna be expert in this field has to go a lot beyond this course. But this one will be a good start

por Halyna K

6 de Mai de 2017

Good introductory course, highly interdisciplinary. You will need some basic knowledge in molecular biology and statistics in order to better understand video lectures