Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à Tecnologia Genômica

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à Tecnologia Genômica da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.6
estrelas
2,597 classificações
411 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Melhores avaliações

SS

May 28, 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK

Nov 21, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

Filtrar por:

351 — 375 de 408 Avaliações para o Introdução à Tecnologia Genômica

por Dmitry S

Apr 11, 2016

nice! Stats review particularly

por Kwon S H

Jul 03, 2020

Concise and easy to understand

por Luis O C L

Oct 04, 2017

Basic but really necessary

por 王宪赓

Dec 11, 2016

Great introductory course!

por Theodoulakis C

Aug 31, 2019

Good introductory course

por Nur H B G

Jun 24, 2020

Perfect for beginners!

por Sathya P

Oct 19, 2017

Very nice basic course

por Hendy Z

Dec 11, 2016

a great way to start.

por Andrea S

May 16, 2018

a great introduction

por Ricardo J P M R

Aug 12, 2016

Good Introduction!!!

por Paddy M

Mar 10, 2018

Great Introduction.

por Rana M A

Jan 23, 2017

Good for debutants

por Rupal K

Jul 01, 2020

very effective

por Weidong X

Jul 30, 2016

good course.

por hzl

Jan 13, 2017

good course

por Nikhil Y

Apr 26, 2020

amazing!!

por Piotr G

Jun 08, 2020

The initial lectures on introduction to genomics are very engaging and good starting point for everyone who slightly touched that topic before and is interested in both history and recent developments in the area.

The week focusing on software engineering doesn't seem to be a good fit for such training. Most of the content is dedicated to extremely trivial computer science topics hardly related with bioinformatics. Only last several minutes give examples of bioIT software and systems.

The week with statistics is good only if you posses solid knowledge on statistics. Then it serves as a good recap. Otherwise you might be completely lost 5 min into the content, e.g. there are much better explanations of p-value and family-wise error out there in internet than the one provided in the course.

The idea of a project to go through a research paper and answer the questions about it was fantastic! Very good way to cement what you learned.

Overall: 3 stars. I would give 4 if not for trivial and rather useless computer science intro. At few points, the pace should be adjusted (e.g. statistics).

por Alejandro M

Apr 28, 2020

There are two lecturers on this course, Steven and Jeff. The lectures by Steven are amazing. They are extremely interesting, clear, structured, concise and pedagogical. Seriously, great, I learned a lot and I would give Steven 5 stars. Unfortunately, the lectures by Jeff are unclear, filled with jargon (undefined and unexplained terms) and statements which are imprecise at best and incorrect at worse. Verdecit: 1 star for this second lecturer who didn't consider that the audience he was addressing was broad, and probably didn't take enough time to prepare his lectures. Average result: 3 stars.

por Dylan B

Oct 11, 2017

Basic introduction. I have a biology background so for me this was easy. But for a non-biologist I imagine this may difficult to understand. From a non-biologist point of view I imagine the lecturers can spend more time explaining the biology of the cell and genome replication in a lot more detail. This can be handy understanding why we get certain mutations and why some mutations are more interesting than others (e.g. why are most variants (SNPs) found outside coding regions?).

por Saaket V

Jan 02, 2018

A good introduction to Genomic Technologies. Positives: Concise, to the point quizzes, at times funny alternatives answers. The instructor was world class. Could have included few examples of technologies and software being used for sequencing. Trends and what to expect in next five years. Linking to the applications like Precision medicine, Companion Diagnostics, and Personalized medicine would have further improved the delivery of the course.

por ELISA W

Apr 11, 2018

This course included a lot of background information which most I already had. The lecturers were engaging, however, spoke quickly. Luckily I could rewind. Some concepts were inadequately glossed over, but then tested on. Since, as I said, I already had background I could still successfully answer the quiz questions. But I could see how someone who is taking this without prior knowledge would have more difficulty.

por Jessica G

Apr 05, 2018

While I wasn't expecting heavy material for an intro course, this course did not reach even a 101 level in my opinion. Take this course if you have never heard of biology or computer science or statistics but avoid if you know even a little about these subjects. Sometimes the quiz questions asked about details not covered in videos/papers, which was pointless and frustrating.

por Jessica R

May 20, 2016

This is an extremely basic course. In my opinion, it isn't worth $49 and is thrown in just to add to the total price of the specialization. It is a useful refresher, but doesn't really contain much information. Just a couple of topics are covered at a very basic level. You could also get this info from watching Youtube videos.

por Abhinaya S

Oct 25, 2017

Average course. The initial part was taught by someone who doesn't do Molecular Biology and still tried to push off a course material. It sounded like it was dumbed down to below basic levels in some cases and while I understand the course is meant for general population, the material was presented in a very un-scientific way.

por Wesley W

Jun 22, 2016

I am a PhD student in genetics, so the background material there was review from undergrad courses. Obviously some people who are not biologists will need this background. I do wish, however, that the statistics intro was more applied and covered a better intro and application to the why!