Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à Tecnologia Genômica

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à Tecnologia Genômica da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.6
estrelas
2,737 classificações
437 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Melhores avaliações

KK

Nov 21, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

GH

Oct 06, 2019

This course provides a gentle introduction to the concepts and terminology associated with genomics. As someone who never took a biology course in high school or university, this course is perfect.

Filtrar por:

276 — 300 de 434 Avaliações para o Introdução à Tecnologia Genômica

por Fangzhou C

Mar 12, 2017

great

por Mona A A

Aug 06, 2020

good

por 18B202 A

Jul 09, 2020

Good

por Apurbo M D

Jun 05, 2020

Good

por NIRMAL P

May 13, 2020

good

por Nandamuri C j s

Apr 16, 2020

good

por Laban B O

Nov 21, 2018

nice

por MUTHURAM

Nov 10, 2018

GOOD

por PHILIP O

Aug 13, 2018

good

por Asad Z

Jun 27, 2020

a1

por Tatiana E Z

Jun 04, 2018

-

por Meghana

Feb 17, 2016

A

por Michael J M

May 11, 2016

A good introduction to the topics and concepts in the field of genomic data science in general as well as the other courses in this specialisation.

I did this course close to the last (6th) being a professional in the Bioscience field for some time and so the first three 'weeks' I pretty much did in a couple of hours with close to full marks (not a boast but a statement: this course will give you the overview I accumulated in the real world; there is nothing esoteric or missing from this course).

The final assessment I found a little quirky compared to the other courses I'd done being a comprehension style 'read a research paper + answer questions' rather than a 'enter the number of X given conditions Y applied to dataset Z' as many of the other course use. Still, celebrate diversity and all that...also I can't think of a better assessment for this entry level / background course.

por Ana F

Nov 16, 2017

The first three weeks were too easy, then Jeff Leek introduced a bunch of Statistical Concepts at once. I think I would rather have spent more time taking an overview of the field and what the certificate has to offer in application to my job as a biologist/learning bioinformatics.

The project at the end reminded me of evaluating scientific papers in college. Very useful, but out of context I thought. I think I would like to have more of a refresher in certain concepts in advanced genetics prior to being quizzed on them through a project.

Overall, it was a good course, but someone without a background in biology will certainly struggle with it

por Sabrina S

Nov 27, 2016

The entire course took me about 8 hours to complete. The videos are on average around 10 minutes long. The first two weeks of the course were very introductory and had they stayed that way I would have been disappointed (however they were focused on my specialization). Week 3 and 4 made it worth it for me and were very helpful (computing technology and statistics). I thought the course project could have been better. I didn't feel it was a strong overview of what I learned about the course. Either way, I'm glad I went through the entire thing.

por Natasa J

Aug 22, 2016

This course is great for people like me, who know almost nothing about the topic, lectures are good, points are clear, understandable and not too long. Only thing I actually didn't like is amount of lectures. The course is planned to be completed in 4 weeks and for me it was over in few days. I would like to add that I've listened the lectures from work and spent 1-2 hours a day on it. All in all, I'm glad that I've started from here and plan to continue with the rest of the specialization.

por Jen M

Jul 10, 2017

Overall a good intro course. Molecular biology basics were covered so quickly and with terms and concepts pulled almost out of thin air, anyone without a pretty substantial background would probably be lost fairly quickly. And those of us with a genetics background fairly bored until we got to the later weeks. Still as a course designed to get everyone on the same page for the rest of the Specialization, I feel ready for the next course.

por Rhondene J W

Nov 28, 2016

I appreciated how the instructors presented the content in a fluid and limpid manner, with relevant examples and auxillary knowledge that you couldn't find in a textbook. The assignments provided the opportunity to apply the learned content to analyse and parse statistical data from actual journals.

The new and up-to-date knowledge I gained by taking this course made me more confident to apply to graduate school.

Thank You

por Nils W

Mar 30, 2020

The four modules of the course are well suited for an introduction. For graduates in biology the questions might be a bit too easy (especially considering you can take the test again after reviewing the lectures).

The last part with the genomics paper might be too hard because it includes some genetics concepts that have never been talked about in the lectures.

por Brandon W

Jun 26, 2018

I think this is a great introductory course to genomic data analysis. however, the primer of molecular biology and techniques could be more detailed. It also helps to have some prior knowledge in this area to really understand the details and complexities. Looking forward to the other classes though. It was refreshing to jog my memory on many of these things!

por Michael T

Feb 13, 2018

This was a great overview of the computing, statistics, and biology required to understand bioinformatics. The only negative was, that I found the final exam to be somewhat unrelated to the course.I am also hoping that there will be more references later on if we want or need to go deeper into these three areas, especially in the area of molecular biology.

por Alan A

Jan 21, 2017

I'm fascinated by bioinformatics and genomics, which is why I took this course. I gave the course four stars instead of 5 because I think the flow of the lectures could have been better. When watching lectures, I often found myself jumping around in my notebook to write something down. Other than that, the course was an excellent introduction.

por Veronica

May 24, 2018

The course was interesting if you want to start learning Genomics and Data Science. Some of the videos are very basic if you're a biologist but if you don't know any basic NGS and statistics, it is worth taking this course. Overall I enjoyed the course and it encouraged me to continue taking the other courses of this specialization.

por Kristine M

May 27, 2020

For the most part I really liked this course. The teacher for the first 3 weeks was great. Things really go off the rails with Week 4. The instructor assumed a much greater understanding of Statistics than an introductory/beginner level. I didn't think the lectures from Week 4 prepared me for the Quiz.

por Douglas C

Nov 18, 2019

It would have been much better if we could have found out why our quiz answers were wrong and what the correct answer is supposed to be.

Quizzes sometimes seemed unrelated to the material.

A "deeper learning" option, were we could read amterial that went beyond the video would have been great.