Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
2,381 classificações
720 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Melhores avaliações

DA

27 de mai de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

24 de mar de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

526 — 550 de 720 Avaliações para o Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Natchathira S A P

9 de abr de 2022

Excellent

por Mara

6 de jul de 2020

Loved it!

por Carmen

18 de abr de 2020

Loved it!

por Muhammad F A

17 de abr de 2020

great job

por NIKHIL R

27 de out de 2019

Excellent

por Antonio N L

3 de fev de 2018

Excellent

por Antonio G

31 de dez de 2017

very good

por jorge c

6 de jul de 2020

NOTA DEZ

por Jovan S

7 de out de 2019

Great!!!

por 秦铭蔚

4 de ago de 2019

great!!!

por Matias P

21 de jun de 2019

Nice! :)

por kohn

19 de nov de 2016

Great

por Akshaya

13 de jun de 2020

Nice

por Hyejin P

5 de dez de 2018

good

por 王佑誠

6 de jan de 2018

good

por ANASTASIA V

6 de mai de 2022

G

por elaine c

7 de fev de 2017

G

por Ben H

19 de jul de 2021

Overall the course was really great, flexible and an easy way to learn about Egyptian History. We are living in a time where a lot of the current idea's are being challenged in regards to Ancient Egypt, in the most part I thought David did a great job of just sticking to the facts, but also pointing out where things are current beliefs or assumptions based on the evidence at hand. Example he states the Pyramids were 'most likely built the the Egyptians' in the first Dynasty under its 2nd King - Khufu. I like this approach, I think we need to be open minded and flexible so we can go where the evidence takes us, not try and manipulate which evidence is put forward and mock other ideas that might seem somewhat far fetched. So the ancient astronaut theory is extreme and somewhat far fetched, but not impossible. I don't believe that the Pyramids were built by Ancient Astronauts but the current evidence to support them being built by Khufu is in no way air tight and convincing. Therefore the AA theory has space to breed and grow, so I guess my point is perhaps David should just say he doesn't believe that theory and there is no solid evidence to support it.

por Mischa R

23 de mai de 2021

This course was a lot of fun. Professor Silverman visibly enjoys talking about this subject and he is very knowledgable. The course is a good overview of Ancient Egyptian culture, detailing the most important aspects. It is clearly an introduction to Ancient Egypt, not an all-encompassing course.

The book Ancient Egypt by professor Silverman et al was extremely useful throughout the course, and I highly recommend finding a copy or consulting an online resource. Each week corresponds to 1 or 2 chapters from this book, so it's the ideal companion guide.

My only points of criticism are the tests. Each test contains at least 1 question that I did not find the answer to in the videos or accompanying book, and it's a bit unclear to me where we would've found the answer to these questions. Nevertheless, this is fairly limited and the tests are perfectly doable if you've followed along.

por Susan E B

22 de out de 2017

As I was going through the course, it struck me that I was hearing almost the same thing I studied in my courses in the early 1970's in which the material for the sphinx and Giza pyramids was based on determinations by "scholars" from the 1880's and early 1900's. I was also surprised that no consideration was given for more recent re-interpretations of the timeframe for the sphinx, in view of studies done on the possible water erosion, possible reshaping of the head and so on. To me, these theories are worth mentioning as possibilities; thus, I felt some disappointment.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed the course overall and enjoyed seeing so many different artifacts that helped define different eras in the history of Egypt. I also enjoyed learning about the dig in which the university is involved. Thanks!

por Val R

31 de mai de 2020

Very good material, very well presented and paced. The opportunity to see the artifacts in the Penn museum is well worth your time. The instructor is engaging and knowledgable without being tiresome, and many of the same concepts or reinforced from lesson to lesson so you get a better idea of how all this information fits together.

I took off one star for the quizzes (note that they cover both the videos and supplemental readings, which of course if fair, but it doesn't tell you that). You cannot see what answer you gave when you check your score, so you're left guessing. A layout showing your answer vs. the correct one woud be a helpful learning reinforcement.

Also question #9 on the Week 6 quiz has two possible correct answers, according to the video.

por Richard F

29 de dez de 2021

A​ very clear introduction with a highly knowledgeable guide. He is not the most enthusiastic guy and could seem quite boring, but he is highly informative. The quiz questions don't work all that well. The spacing is odd at times. The balance of questions is very hard to predict. Also I wasn't able to check up on my mistakes, so as to find the correct answers, but this might be my incompetence. Somehow I wasn't able to access the discussion until I had posted my own contribution, which meant that what I had to say did not take account of what others had already said. However, these problems apart it was a good introduction to the subject.

por Diana V

13 de out de 2020

Enjoyable introduction to Ancient Egyptian History. Interesting subject matter although the topics that were of primary interest to me were not covered in the Introduction, I did however, gain a lot of broad stroke knowledge across a variety of topics. The supporting images added to the overall enjoyment of the course. It is a wonderful privilege indeed, to have access to Penn University - Dr Silverman and have his vast knowledge made so freely available to anyone wishing to participate. The quiz at the end of each course were not difficult and provided a focus to the learning. Thank you Penn University and in particular Dr Silverman.

por Kate G

6 de jan de 2017

The course is a good general knowledge introduction to Egypt, there is lots of information stuffed into each week. The lecturer's style is super dry, but the lectures are ultimately very useful. This course style is sometimes a bit disconnected, in that the information you are given is often handled purely as information, and not quite as often contextualized. This tends to make the quizzes, and discussion prompts feel disjointed, and challenging in the way that it's difficult to use your newfound knowledge in application. That being said, I really enjoyed the class as a very direct knowledge-gathering experience.

por Toni M

15 de out de 2017

Good information, organized in an interesting and unique way. The graphics and labeling are beautiful.

The course is flawed, however, by the way the professor is obviously reading a script from a teleprompter. His delivery is uncomfortably slow. and. Awkward. withunatural. pauses. In. hisspeech. I wish he would just talk! He seems knowledgeable but his passion for the the subject is ruined by the stilted speech. My favorite video was the last one, where he and a lab technician are in a restoration lab, and the two of them are just talking. If the entire course had been that way, it would be a 5-star winner.